Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waiting for an end
Just caught up with this on the SyFy channel and I am hooked.

I would buy this if it was guaranteed that it would lead to season three! Is there no chance one would be commissioned because I would happily pay for it just to see how this would end!
Published 9 months ago by JoeDelaney1980

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor show
The discs are fine and good quality, but after watching it I can totally understand why it was cancelled. I found the stories fairly pointless as after watching a few episodes it became clear that the resistance is pretty pathetic and nearly never succeed on doing anything to slow never mind stop the visitors’ plans.
Published 6 months ago by K. Cruickshank


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waiting for an end, 7 Dec 2013
This review is from: V - Season 1-2 [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Just caught up with this on the SyFy channel and I am hooked.

I would buy this if it was guaranteed that it would lead to season three! Is there no chance one would be commissioned because I would happily pay for it just to see how this would end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super series shame about the ending (or lack of), 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: V - Season 1-2 [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is a fantastic series the best I've ever seen. It literally kept us hooked from start to finish. Unfortunately it seems to be more popular in the Uk. The viewing figures in America were low and so they cancelled series 3. Series 2 ends on a huge cliffhanger and we'll never be satisfied with an ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just brilliant., 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: V - Season 1-2 [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Still watching do not want it to end very good.5 stars 😂. SO buy you
will not be disappointed, cheers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but flawed, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: V - Season 1-2 [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The script is not an example of brilliant writing but if you stay with it through the first few episodes it does develop into a genuine thriller. There are some good performances by the actors and the pace is good. Well worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Popcorn Telly., 20 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: V - Season 1-2 [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
There are a number of complaints I could make about this production. It's not a perfect show. Some of the actors are awful.
The script is cheesy and the effects - I've seen more convincing monsters on old episodes of Red Dwarf and Doctor Who. But
despite all this, V is good, trashy fun.

The premise is simple. A ship full of aliens descends over America claiming to be "of peace" and wanting to connect
with mankind. Cue your typical American TV elements - FBI agents, terrorist cells, bomb plots, betrayals and turncoats. It's nothing
you haven't seen before but somehow it still manages to be good thanks to the delicious Morena Baccarin, who plays the sinister lizard
queen determined to rule us, operate on us, and generally do nasty alien stuff to us. She is a fine actress and plays the villain
perfectly. I found myself rooting not for the humans but for the aliens, as Baccarin is by far the best actress in this and I wanted to
see her evil plots succeed. Similarly her assistant, the chilling and emotionless Marcus, and her daughter, "tempted" by human emotion,
are compelling characters and enjoyable to watch.

The CGI effects for the aliens - teeth, tails and tentacles - are laughable. Often you'll find yourself desperate for another glimpse of
the Visitors' true reptillian forms, however it's clear that a lot of the good stuff is hidden off-screen due to budget issues. Where the
CGI does shine is in the gorgeous shots of the spaceship exteriors - they look real. On Blu-Ray the effects are stunning and the crisp,
clear wide and exterior shots are remarkable.

On one level the betrayals, double-crossings and endless schemes do get a little tiresome, but I set aside my cynicism and was pleasantly
surprised by every episode. There are plenty of twists and turns and if you don't go expecting too much from the series, you'll probably
enjoy it too.

The final thing that needs to be said is about the cancellation of V. It only ran for 2 series. That's 22 episodes in total.
Most plot threads are resolved but a new cliffhanger is introduced as well. If you're the kind of viewer who lays awake at night
wondering what might have been, you may come away feeling annoyed, but it didn't detract from my enjoyment of the series at all.

Despite all of the flaws of this set, I still had fun watching it. It's pretty shallow, glossy TV. If you're expecting a high-calibre
hard-science-fiction drama then you may be better off with something else. But for what it's worth, it's pretty good. Was I sad it got
cancelled? Yes, although I can see why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor show, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: V - Season 1-2 [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The discs are fine and good quality, but after watching it I can totally understand why it was cancelled. I found the stories fairly pointless as after watching a few episodes it became clear that the resistance is pretty pathetic and nearly never succeed on doing anything to slow never mind stop the visitors’ plans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad at all, 30 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: V - Season 1-2 [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I wasn't expecting much of this remake, especially since the original was an eighties icon.

But this actually is rather good.

I am not going to waiste space by making comparisons between the two shows, since that wouldn't make much sence, primarely because of the differences in technology and culture.

All i have to say is that this show is a must-have on bluray.
Especially because this is a show that includes a lot of CGI, which comes out best on a hd-format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good series, shame about the ending though, 26 July 2014
By 
zx50 (Next to Consett, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: V - Season 1-2 [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is a good series but in my opinion, the only thing that spoils it is the 'ending'. You're left wondering why the makers of this didn't finish it properly, or make things clearer. I came away from this very disappointed because the 'ending' felt only half finished. It's worth watching, definitely, especially if you've seen the original, but the ending is a disappointment. I think the makers haven't made it fully clear who wins. In my opinion, really good series.....both of them. It's just a shame that they left the ending looking like it's half finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping stuff for all you V fans, 30 Jan 2012
This review is from: V - Season 1-2 [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I got the double box set for Xmas and was so excited. This was the best price we found for the two. Once I started watching I couldn't turn it off! I saw the original in the '90's and loved it then but the special effects were fab in this and its a surprise to see some old (cosmetically enhanced!) faces in the new series. Gutted to find they had pulled the plug on another series. You won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars French & Spanish audio included !, 7 Dec 2011
This review is from: V - Season 1-2 [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Great serie at a very nice price !
Even if the sound is much better in English (DD5.1 for the 1st season & DTS-HD for the 2nd), there is also the stereo audio in French & Castilian Spanish + subtitles in both langages of course...
No reason to wait any more !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

V - Season 1-2 [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free]
V - Season 1-2 [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free] by Elizabeth Mitchell (Blu-ray - 2011)
£14.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews