Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spell binding!, 10 Jun 2008
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a truely enchanting book, that is sure to make every reader on an emotional rollercoaster ride.
The main character in this book, Clemency, has an eventful life from the outset, She lives with her mother who is a prostitute and a drunk, and her brother, Jack, who is crippled from a childhood illness.
It is down to Clemency to make a life for herself and her family, and to try and protect them from various villians along the way. As well as trying to persue a career as a singer. She meets some colourful characters along the way, which really make this book a pleasure to read.
This book is deep and meaningfull, and spell binding. You can't help but be drawn into the spirit of Clemency, and the trials that she faces seemingly on a day to day basis.
A definate must read!
It was so good I read all 500+ pages in 2 days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked from the first page to the last!, 9 May 2009
By 
A Moore "Scarlett" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As with all Dilly Court's books, The Cockney Sparrow draws you into Victorian London with such vivid descriptions and with such skill that you feel like you are living there with the characters.

Clemency has had a hard childhood with her mother who is a prostiture and a drunk, and looking after her crippled brother Jack. However she dreams of a better life and finds work at a theatre which is a million miles away from the life she is used to. Life looks like it is all set until a mysterious, good looking man threatens to change it all...

With colourful characters from her operatic world, you cannot help but route for Clemency hoping that she will make a success of her life. A thrilling read from start to finish, with cliff hangers which make it hard to put down! Love, laughter, tears and tribulation - The Cockney Sparrow has it all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cockney Sparrow, 19 Sep 2010
By 
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very easy book that you can picture in your mind and really enjoy what is going on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars books by dilly court, 11 Jun 2013
By 
Mrs. L. D. Harding "lyndecia" (somerset.uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good read,that's why I ordered a tablet to be able to read on the tablet but it has taken such a long time to come I'm still waiting and that was ordered in end of may it has been paid for then I can contuie to order and read my books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Again!!!, 17 Jan 2014
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cockney Sparrow (Kindle Edition)
Ran out of books by favourite author so tried new one. Books are brilliant. Going to read them all. Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 5 Jan 2014
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cockney Sparrow (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book every chance I got I would pick the book up the story was brilliant from start to finish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Cockburn sparrow, 5 Jan 2014
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cockney Sparrow (Kindle Edition)
Excellent couldn't put it down believable characters one of the best dilly court books so far you won't be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bought for mother in law., 14 Mar 2013
By 
Mrs. A. J. Allport (Staffordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cockney Sparrow (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book for my mother in law who I have just introduced to Kindl reading, she was very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, 5 Mar 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cockney Sparrow (Kindle Edition)
Really good read.would recommend.package arrived within a few days of ordering.good value .will read more from this popular female author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2feb570)

This product

The Cockney Sparrow
The Cockney Sparrow by Dilly Court
3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews