Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful item - Usual good Amazon service.
Arrived within estimated time. Well packed. Looks a tiny bit daunting when you first look at it (unless you're a 15 year old, in which case you'll wonder what I'm on about).... but in practice it's easy to use and you might not even use most of the features it has. Picks up speakers in a hall when they use a microphone to talk, not sure yet how well it would pick up...
Published on 12 July 2012 by K

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubish recorder
I purchased a Sony ICD-PX312M Digital voice recorder,what a waste of money. I purchased this recorder to record instructions my hospital Doctors give me, it records ok, but when it comes to play back unless you use your computer for play back, forget it.
The recorders own play back is rubbish. I have an old Radio Shack tape recorder 20+ years old which is so much...
Published 18 months ago by Karl Slater


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful item - Usual good Amazon service., 12 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony ICD-PX312M - Digital voice recorder - flash 2 GB - MP3 (Office Product)
Arrived within estimated time. Well packed. Looks a tiny bit daunting when you first look at it (unless you're a 15 year old, in which case you'll wonder what I'm on about).... but in practice it's easy to use and you might not even use most of the features it has. Picks up speakers in a hall when they use a microphone to talk, not sure yet how well it would pick up without one. Certainly OK for personal notes or close by recording. Replay using the built in speaker is OK but not as good as using headphones or the computer speakers, which are excellent. Easy to download the computer software and to use the programme that it employs. Instructions are easy to use on the computer...the brief paper notes are OK but quite basic. Haven't found out how good the battery life is, but there are two (AAA), where the Olympus recorders only have one, so is probably better.

Might be worth considering the FM radio model as, for little extra cost, you get a radio and could record stuff off the radio when you're away from home... (no need to miss any Archers episodes). This one has the clip on microphone which might be handy and is only a few pounds more than the model without it so you can put the recorder in your pocket and still record conversations.

Recommended.

EDIT 16th September 2012 Just to note that I've used it in a large room and it records very well indeed. Even quiet or distant speakers can be heard. The transfer on to a computer and then on to email (if desired) is very straightforward and easy to do. I bought the cheap telephone pickup on Amazon and it works perfectly...records a call very clearly. This is it here... http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B000L1OZG8/ref=oh_details_o02_s00_i00

Remains recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sound quality, 25 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony ICD-PX312M - Digital voice recorder - flash 2 GB - MP3 (Office Product)
I was surprised by the quality of the recording and the sensitivity of the mic. It was much better than I'd anticipated. Great product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's fine -- but , ohhhh that low playback volume ...., 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony ICD-PX312M - Digital voice recorder - flash 2 GB - MP3 (Office Product)
I like this because it is a turn-on-and-go device. I use to voice record audio for videos with an external lavalier mic or a headset mic - it has 'plug-in power' on the external mic socket of 2.5V for those types of electret mics, oor you can use it handheld into the internal mic. Both work well.

It is AGC ( automatic gain control ) so you don't need to fiddle about with mic levels This is why I like it - just turn it on, plug in external mic and record. No hassle.

The downside is that playback volume is truly useless via the so-called internal speaker. It has a volume limiter which keeps the playback volume low - even with headphones connected it's pretty low.

To be realistic, you need to download the mp3 files from the recorder and play it back in an external device and/or edit them as necessary in external software. This is no problem for me because I do this anyway for the purpose I use this recorder for.

If you are looking for a device to play back your audio well, as well as record it, this is DEFINATELY not the recorder to buy as the playback volume is truly awfully low.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 29 May 2012
By 
A. Roberton "Alan Roberton" (Hinckley, Leicestershire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony ICD-PX312M - Digital voice recorder - flash 2 GB - MP3 (Office Product)
What a brilliant little piece of kit. I bought it for recording the talks I give and was so impressed with the results. Best of all, the separate microphone was able to pick up every word I said without distortion and without that rustling sound as you move about and your shirt rubs on the mic. It also managed to pick up questions from the gathering, giving a complete recording as opposed to a one sided one.

I am so pleased I took the plunge and bought this little beauty - easy to operate, once you have read the instructions, batteries last for ages and it is small enough to fit snugly into a pocket where you can forget all about it until it needs switching off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sony PX312M Voice Recorder, 13 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony ICD-PX312M - Digital voice recorder - flash 2 GB - MP3 (Office Product)
I wanted a voice recorder that was easy to use and one that had a USB connection, without it being expensive. This one fits the bill and it is such a reasonable price being that it is a Sony model.It is very small and discreet and it actually does loads of things I had not thought I would get at that price. Delivery was prompt and efficient. Really very good buy and excellent service throughout.

Managed to download the full manual from the Sony site along with the quick one,(one was supplied with the product, which was enough to get you started)and now will be able to record lots of different things in different environments.

I bought the product through Amazon,really excellent service,very pleased,no complaints at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sony ICD-PX312M, 25 July 2011
This review is from: Sony ICD-PX312M - Digital voice recorder - flash 2 GB - MP3 (Office Product)
Having used the BX800, this does the same job with the added bonus of USB connection and editing software, at a respectable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sony mini recorder px312m, 13 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony ICD-PX312M - Digital voice recorder - flash 2 GB - MP3 (Office Product)
Good quality of sound with this very compact recorder but look carefully at the supplied options. If you need stereo recording buy the remote mike package. You might also want dragon naturally speaking this is included in some packages and is RIDICULOUSLY EXPENSIVE! to buy separately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money, 10 May 2013
By 
Pauline Dee (Preston, Lancashire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony ICD-PX312M - Digital voice recorder - flash 2 GB - MP3 (Office Product)
Being in a choir I found that recording rehearsals helps me go to over anything of which I am musically unsure. This little recorders has plenty of hours memory - easy to use - good value compared with other digital recorders and is very neat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubish recorder, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony ICD-PX312M - Digital voice recorder - flash 2 GB - MP3 (Office Product)
I purchased a Sony ICD-PX312M Digital voice recorder,what a waste of money. I purchased this recorder to record instructions my hospital Doctors give me, it records ok, but when it comes to play back unless you use your computer for play back, forget it.
The recorders own play back is rubbish. I have an old Radio Shack tape recorder 20+ years old which is so much better than the Sony so as not to be compared.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sony ICD-PX312M - Digital voice recorder - flash 2 GB - MP3, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony ICD-PX312M - Digital voice recorder - flash 2 GB - MP3 (Office Product)
After doing extensive research I have chosen Sony ICD-PX312M recorder. From day one is was real pleasure to use it. Great little device. recordings are clear and without background noise. buttons layout is fantastic, very easy to navigate. Function wise - you don`t need anything more than this recorder. Speaker is powerful enough to make notes from your recordings. Have tested it when I was recording few meetings in a medium size room and could hear clearly all participants. Would definitely recommend this device to anyone who either needs to take notes during your classes/meeting or just record few things to remember.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews