Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent
just finished this straight to video movie that I thought was going to suck until I read the reviews ( proves sometimes they are worth while). its an absolute gem, think goodfellas meets riverdance ( not really). one irishman and his friends take on the mob ( trust em to use explosives). its revenge movie, meets mob movie, a little humour and some great acting by all,...
Published on 12 Aug 2011 by Mr. Pj Williams

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Irish Hitter
The biopic is a strange beast that often comes under one of two umbrellas; flaunts the Oscars, or tells the tale of a gangster. `Kill the Irishman' is the second type of biopic and surrounds American-Irish criminal Danny Greene as he attempted to take over the Italian Mafia stronghold of Cleveland. With Ray Stevenson as the main star, `Irishman' was never going to be...
Published on 28 Jun 2012 by Sam Tyler


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars gritty crime story, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill The Irishman [DVD] (DVD)
based on true events. captured the era it set in perfect. action,though could be shorter. well told story,lot worse out there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good watch, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill The Irishman [DVD] (DVD)
was a good watch i really enjoyed this film, was not sure at first but did get better. And a true story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good film, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill The Irishman [DVD] (DVD)
This is a good film. Was better than what I thought it was going to be. Ray Stevenson plays the part well and it's one of those films you could watch again six months later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars film, 3 Jan 2014
This review is from: Kill The Irishman [DVD] (DVD)
gripping thriller on the edge of your seat action good acting clever story line would watch this film over an over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DVD kill the irishman, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill The Irishman [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my son in law, as he kept telling me what a good film it was, I was suppose to be watching it myself but its being passed round his friends, so I guess it must be good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality film, 24 Nov 2013
This review is from: Kill The Irishman [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant movie well with a watch Danny Greene must have had nuts like space hoppers to take on the mob the way he did! True Irish underworld ledgend abs a cracking film that shows just how big a character he really was!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must see, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill The Irishman [DVD] (DVD)
I remember watching a documentary on the Mafia years ago and there was this extraordinary short segment on Danny Greene who took on the Mob. I've since read about him and this film seems to be a pretty accurate account. It is an extremely good film, very entertaining and very well made with a crisp script, fine acting against a great back drop, Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Luck of the Irish., 20 Oct 2013
By 
Arch Stanton (Cornwall, England.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill The Irishman [DVD] (DVD)
An Irish orphan grows up on the mean streets of Cleveland, inevitably with few prospects he ends up working as an unskilled labourer, but with a keen mind and violent temperament it's not long before he gets machinations of grandeur. He soon begins to run the local union but his next step, in cracking the Mafia is unlikely to be as simple...

It surprised me this one, it's based on the true exploits of Daniel Greene (who I'd never heard of!), an American~Irish villain and FBI informant, who it seems, was operating throughout the 60s and 70s in Ohio. Who along with his gang had a complete disregard and dislike of The Mafia, which lead to an ongoing blood feud and several contract killings over the years.

The cast I really enjoyed, with a number of usual suspects, like Sorvino, Lo Bianco, Gunton, Davi and Walken etc etc delivering the high standards (albeit in often typecast roles) we've come to expect from them over the years. Sure Stevenson as the lead didn't play his role with as much charisma as you'd of liked, but he was after all playing a criminal, and on the whole, these parts are far too regularly glamourised anyway. D'onofrio was really good, with Vinnie Jones' oirish accent sounding a bit dodgy, but as always he looked the part, so I'll let him alone. Leaving us with Val Kilmer, who although didn't do a bad job, was most at home in the bar scene, and I just wish he would be given the role of a dying Elvis soon, so that he might finally lose some weight!
Anyhoo, there's plenty of action, mostly in the form of car bombs shredding people or guns going off, and the violent story kept me interested throughout, meaning that if you like 70s period gangster films, true stories about underworld renegades, or for that matter, productions of Celtic interest, you will no doubt like this, a lot...

The bog standard dvd contains a very interesting documentary on the real Daniel Greene, with lots of talking heads who were involved in the events at the time. Recommended
4.25/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing and True!, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy to watch true gangster movie with a typical strong performance from Ray Stevenson and an excellent backup cast including Vinnie Jones and Val Kilmer.
Thoroughly enjoyed the film, then watched the feature length documentary on the same disc and realised everything was true! The documentary pulls no punches and is not for those with a weak stomach.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars MAFIA WARS, 16 Sep 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kill The Irishman [DVD] (DVD)
Danny Greene is a poor Irish orphan who grows up to become a gritty union leader at odds with and in cahoots with the local Mafia. Ray Stevenson does an excellent job portraying Danny Greene while Val Kilmer was less than spectacular as the detective investigating him. Perhaps the writers didn't know what personality to give Kilmer, so they left it out. In spite of Danny Greene's criminal exploits, we have empathy for him. Danny is both tough and smart is spite of not completing high school. His blue collar rise to the top gives us the bad guy "walking tall" feel.

Once Danny is caught, things change. He makes a deal to stay out of prison by becoming a snitch to the surprise of Val Kilmer, but he is not a very good snitch. In one scene, Danny decides to clean up his own neighborhood by going up against a local biker gang. His wife (Linda Cardellini) watches Danny beat up a biker in the street and she appears to be surprised at his actions after being married to the guy for several years, knowing he is a mobster. She is not supportive.

Danny is forced to do things he doesn't want to do, or at least that is how the film portrays Danny, as the kindly neighborhood bill collector, who only busts kneecaps when he has to. Good historical film without being a documentary.

Very brief sex, nudity, and f-bombs. Some course ethnic humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kill The Irishman [DVD]
Kill The Irishman [DVD] by Jonathan Hensleigh (DVD - 2011)
4.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews