Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent
I loved this book. The writing style was very entertaining. The parts about the demonic flys made me laugh so hard my eyes were running and yet at other times it was frightening. Funny, frig htening and very ironic. Anyone interested in a scary, touching tale, this book is for you. I loved this book. It's not ofter I say that. Gillian x
Published 13 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
The author can write, there's no doubt about that. Unfortunately her style of writing would be a lot better suited to a fantasy novel where you want three pages of description about every single thing. She massively misses the point, people have bought this book because they want the facts about the story- the inside information from the people involved, but the author...
Published 12 months ago by N. Briscoe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House of Darkness House of Light: The True Story Volume One (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book. The writing style was very entertaining. The parts about the demonic flys made me laugh so hard my eyes were running and yet at other times it was frightening. Funny, frig htening and very ironic. Anyone interested in a scary, touching tale, this book is for you. I loved this book. It's not ofter I say that. Gillian x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars thoroughly enjoyable, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House of Darkness House of Light: The True Story Volume One (Kindle Edition)
A real page turner... After watching the film a couple of times I was intrigued to learn more.. Brilliantly written.. Nice to read about the positive side too of having spirits living amongst us...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insight to the Paranormal, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House of Darkness House of Light: The True Story Volume One (Kindle Edition)
Volume 1. Written by the eldest of the sisters, this book reveals the plight of a lovely family who's dream home delivers a rude awakening to the existence of the spirit world. It is well written and a compelling read. One can't help but feel sorry for Carolyn and admire the children for their courage in accepting and adapting to a situation that would leave most people running for the door. Off to read volume 2 now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 8 Aug 2013
By 
N. Briscoe (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House of Darkness House of Light: The True Story Volume One (Kindle Edition)
The author can write, there's no doubt about that. Unfortunately her style of writing would be a lot better suited to a fantasy novel where you want three pages of description about every single thing. She massively misses the point, people have bought this book because they want the facts about the story- the inside information from the people involved, but the author misses this completely and turns it into a long and drawn out account of absolutely everything. Much of it is irrelevant or could be summed up in a few sentences, yet everything is described in such ridiculous detail that you will find yourself skipping massive chunks of it in the desperate hope that you will find an interesting bit. I felt at times like I was reading an English assignment written by a teenager who had taken far too many descriptive writing lessons.

Another thing that is both confusing and irritating is that the story is told in the most random order. You seem to go from the first 'incident' to them having accepted that things are happening. You jump months and years back and forth. There is no in between, no build up of events. Then it switches back to an earlier event, then flies forward again. Very messy.

I bought the book because, after seeing the film, I was curious as to how different it was from the real events. I wish I hadn't bothered, the film at least told a chronological series of events. The book left me frustrated and wondering why I had wasted my time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House of Darkness House of Light: The True Story Volume One (Kindle Edition)
Its an iteresting read ,about a family haunting,somtimes the writer can wofal on about the same subject without getting to the point,but i still couldnt put it down,as it kept me wanting more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House of Darkness House of Light: The True Story Volume One (Kindle Edition)
There are too many quotes in this book of other authors and a lot of beating around the bush, I'm missing the plot here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent story., 17 May 2014
Excellent novel looking forward to the next volume,and continuing on with more releases,more frightening to know that it is based on a trus story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Hard Work, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a person that can get through a good book in a matter of hours. This book took me 3 months! Very hard going at times, repetitive, long winded and altogether a bit odd. No structure to it, as though it was written my a complete novice and sent for print with no editing having taken place. It needed a damn good edit!....I finished it because i was utterly determined it wouldn't beat me but it was very hard work.

Having said that their story is fascinating wether you believe it or not, i'm on the side of not to be honest as the future owners say they have experienced no such paranormal activity. Mmmm funny that
To sum up, borrow, don't buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House of Darkness House of Light: The True Story Volume One (Kindle Edition)
Such a good book looking forward to reading volume 2 now, really amazing and very spooky what this family went thru
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars couldn't put it down, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House of Darkness House of Light: The True Story Volume One (Kindle Edition)
but agree with others reviewers in that it would be a smoother read if events were chronological, so a sense of change over time could be absorbed which would allow insight not only into outer events but those taking place within the minds of those involved as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews