Customer Reviews


131 Reviews
5 star:
 (113)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead Men Risen
As someone living with the after effects of the tour - my son was critically injured by an IED explosion - I thought this was an excellent (if difficult) read.
Toby pulls no punches in his narrative. The MOD should hang their heads in shame. Under resourced and poorly equipped The Guards were up against it. Their spirit and determination shine through and the humour...
Published on 5 May 2011 by Chezza66

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating but flawed
It details the appalling under resource of our men in Afganistan. Time and again men are killed or seriously injured due to over ambitious plans, lack of resources and plain simple stupidity.

The pity is this book is so full of unnecessary and trivial details that the narrative gets lost. As a book it is twice as thick as any other I have.
Published 8 months ago by Robert Delamare


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dead men risen, 24 Mar. 2011
A Superbly crafted book, one of the best modern military histories I have read, the Maps, references, notes and indexing are of a very high standard, But the story is an extremely well written account of modern warfare but unlike most books on the conflict in Afghanistan, it gives an insight to the unheralded non military members of an Army unit, the Wives, children and parents, that are never mentioned in the great majority of military writing,but frequently have a very heavy burden to bare,
It is also one of the rare occasions that I have,through the internet, been able to communicate with people mentioned in the text and they all seem to agree with me that Mr Harnden has written a very good book,And has not been afraid to tell it as it is, and not necessarily tow the Governments line of spin. I heartily recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning account which pulls no punches, 10 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just buy this book. It is brutal, poignant, emotive, emotional, funny, sad and stunningly well written. It is without doubt the finest book that I have read (within the last five years) which focuses on the British Army in Afghanistan (I've read over 35 now!). I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone; once you pick it up you will not be able to put it down. Over 500 pages including photos you'll need to go to the gym just to pick it up as it's heavy (in hard back)!! A particularly fine example of such books that recount the brave activities of our troops on the front line in Afghanistan; just don't expect an easy read as, in places, it quite rightly just tells it 'how it is'. . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth Reading, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Men Risen: The Welsh Guards and the Defining Story of Britain's War in Afghanistan (Kindle Edition)
This is one of the better books about Afghanistan and Britain's role. It combines the soldiers view of the conflict, their lives and some real acts of bravery, with a broader view of the war and the total lack of any intelligent strategic direction. Although not as explicit as in some other accounts, the appalling leadership of the campaign from the UK based Generals contrasts very markedly with the efforts and commitment of the soldiers on the gound. Parts of the book actually leave you angry as you see major operations being planned and soldiers losing their limbs and lives to sieze ground, that the lack of numbers on the ground mean could never be held for any period of time. There is a serious case to answer for a number of the senior Officers who led the strategic direction of our "effort" in Afghanistan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 Mar. 2011
By 
andrew moriarty (stockport, cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Having read nearly everything concerning the war in Afghanistan, I can honestly say I have never read a book so quick.
I could not put this down and every page made me want to progress to the next.
The research carried out by Toby Harnden is second to none, and as he was there on the frontline with the troops speaks volumes for his commitment and loyalty to the welsh guards.
An acurrate and well researched book that everyone should read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lions and Donkeys, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Men Risen: The Welsh Guards and the Defining Story of Britain's War in Afghanistan (Kindle Edition)
As it emerges that maybe the military leaders of WW! were perhaps not the Donkeys we have all read about. This book slams home the point that our modern military leaders and politicians are, without doubt, the Donkeys.

It exposes how brave men issued with insufficient or inadequate equipment are thrust into impossible situations and expected to cope. Trying to hold ground and fight a determined enemy with not enough of anything from manpower to helicopters.

Searing descriptions of losses, the stresses of combat and the human side of soldiering.

This book will make you angry and sad. You will admire the British squaddie. And want to pour scorn of Senior Officers and their political masters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A honest and sobering account of the cost of the war on terror, 27 May 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What makes this book so absorbing is that the writer knows both his subject and his craft - unlike some recent books on the war in Afgahnistan Dead Men Risen is a well-written, honest and insightful book, no mean feat when you consider the chaotic nature of counter-insurgency warfare. It also goes beyond the front line and covers the reactions of families left at home - so often forgotton - who have to live on with the loss and injuries, mental and physical, which have been inflicted. . Above all, it hammers home the human cost of war and raises profound questions over the resourcing, direction and effectiveness of the British effort. A story told well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, page turning historical and contemporary study, 24 Mar. 2011
This is an essential read for anyone who wants to get insight into the conduct of the War of Terror, specifically the Western military intervention in Afghanistan through the lens of a detailed study of the Welsh Guards deployment in Helmand. Well-written, thoroughly researched and unflinching in its detail. I have read a number of books on the war in Afghanistan and this is the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant and Moving Book!, 30 Mar. 2011
By 
HallToon@aol.com (Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This an incredible book.
The depth of understanding, research, and empathy is frankly outstanding. My emotions whilst reading this swung from anger to pride and back again with every turn of the page.
The fact that 1500 US marines took over a base from 40 Welsh Guards is both a travesty and a testament to those men that stood toe to toe with the Taleban in impossible circumstances. The descriptions of those who didn't make it are written in such a way that you wish you had the privilege of having actually known them. They were the finest men Britain has produced. I had a lump in my throat the size of a house brick.
What the hell were our politicians and senior military thinking when they put these fine guys in such a place without sufficient numbers, radios that worked, and an adequate support structure. Lions led by Donkeys!
Respect to all of you that featured in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING - Prepare yourself!, 30 Oct. 2013
I read this book to and from work and had to tear myself away from it to make sure I didn't miss my stop! When I finished it I felt empty, no other military account has captured my heart and imagination like this! It is a truly gripping tale of countless acts of heroism and one extremely dedicated commanding officer. This book will have you in tears from start to end, incredibly funny, but there are some very sad truths held within.

I cannot recommend this book enough, except to one group. Girlfriends and mothers of active personnel on tour! It is a no-holes-barred full account of the Welsh Guards War in Afghanistan and at times is unforgivable in the amount of detail.

A highly recommended read but not for the faint hearted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding and moving read, 30 Aug. 2013
By 
susie (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for my husband, who ploughed through it very quickly. He described it as the best book yet written about British forces in Aghanistan and while I haven't read many of them I certainly thought it was a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews