Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and Unmissable
No one does movies like the French. Somehow they manage to capture the human condition in a most profound way. Think Jean de Florette, Manon des Sources, Mon Pere Ce Heros, The Grocer's Son.........

The characters in Little White Lies are very well developed and all of them, (even the bad tempered Max), are endearing. Because of the way the characters have...
Published on 3 July 2012 by Phoober

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If this Is Caésar Winning Material...
I happen to be a fan of Guillaume Canet, Tell No-One (Ne Le Dis A Personne) [DVD] and Rivals [DVD] are both fine examples of his work. Sadly, this is a poor attempt to illustrate how friends tell lies and manipulate people.

Sadly, a close friend has had an awful accident - and the gang are rather disturbed by the outcome. Ludo is left in a coma in intensive...
Published on 14 Oct 2011 by DL Productions UK


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and Unmissable, 3 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little White Lies [DVD] (DVD)
No one does movies like the French. Somehow they manage to capture the human condition in a most profound way. Think Jean de Florette, Manon des Sources, Mon Pere Ce Heros, The Grocer's Son.........

The characters in Little White Lies are very well developed and all of them, (even the bad tempered Max), are endearing. Because of the way the characters have been drawn, the storyline is complex and engaging, and it is a real tearjerker, which also makes you laugh out loud. Not many films are able to walk you through a whole range of human emotions in one sitting.

Even though the character Ludo, (around whom the story and other characters are woven), is not there in body, he is always present and again, its not easy to keep a character in someone's mind when he's off screen or not always involved in the dialogue. A real achievement.

This really is one of the best movies I've seen in a long time. A real breath of freshair - head and shoulders above anything that Hollywood pumps out these days.

It's original, beautiful and unmissable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the tensions of friendship, 4 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. Robert Marsland (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little White Lies [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't find this film funny like others have here, but instead found it to be a film about the tensions and antagonisms between people. Following an accident Ludo is in hospital in intensive care. His large group of friends decide to up and off to the holiday on the coast that they had planned anyway. Before the trip Vincent declares his love to Max setting off a reaction in him that for the most part spoils the holiday for the others in the party. There are other antagonisms within the group and you're left feeling that the absent Ludo was the glue holding them all together. not really very happy viewing but a good film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If this Is Caésar Winning Material..., 14 Oct 2011
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Little White Lies [DVD] (DVD)
I happen to be a fan of Guillaume Canet, Tell No-One (Ne Le Dis A Personne) [DVD] and Rivals [DVD] are both fine examples of his work. Sadly, this is a poor attempt to illustrate how friends tell lies and manipulate people.

Sadly, a close friend has had an awful accident - and the gang are rather disturbed by the outcome. Ludo is left in a coma in intensive care. The gang, led by Max (François Cluzet) and his wife Vero have decided to go to their beach house with the gang to try and enjoy Antoine's birthday. Here we just see human behaviour and how people act at times.

This film is dull, and badly done - I found François Cluzet's angry and selfish portrait of Max dull and unimaginative, this bullish person who has so many friends just made me think how does he manage it? Also I found that the others were just as dull too, especially the guy who was not sure of his sexuality. I also didn't find any allies with the females either - they were submissive and irritating too, especially the one who was very rude to the guitarist. The only character who managed to save any grace was Jean-Lous played by Joël Dupuch, he did a fine job and was a likeable person in this.

Overall I wouldn't recommend this, it's the sort of tripe they put on during the summer months in Paris as they know no one is there - they're all on holiday enjoying themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not so white lies !!, 24 May 2014
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Little White Lies [DVD] (DVD)
French film about a group of friends aged in their 20s who go on holiday leaving their friend in the high dependency unit of a hospital following a road accident. They've all got secrets they would prefer that their friends were not aware of but during the vacation evens transpire to reveal those secrets to comic effect making an excellent film about the human condition. If fell down slightly because it laboured a few of the points and several scenes , especially towards the end , became a bit over sentimental - it could have been shortened by a least half an hour, but all in all a good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, 7 July 2011
By 
Emma Wright (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little White Lies [DVD] (DVD)
I was dubious about seeing this film because I had never seen a foreign film before and didn't know if I would still enjoy it with subtitles. However, I went along to one of the local cinemas that had got this film, and I was blown away. The film begins introducing all the characters and slowly you get to grips with how they all know each other and the storyline can start - it does this relatively quickly. From the off, the jokes are so cleverly hilarious everyone in the cinema was laughing incredibly loudly and pretty much uncontrollably. There are some events in the film which will absolutely tickle you to the point where you talk about them for days and want to see the film again just for the brilliant laugh it gives you. One particular storyline should have you on your back with laughter and it's a running theme all the way through.
As well as being superbly funny, this film also has a meaningful storyline, looking at a critically injured friend and how the characters deal with that, relationships, and the friendship between the group that we see. This story is told well, with well cast actors and actresses portraying their characters excellently. The film is believable which is a strange thing to see these days I think - we mostly have outrageous things happening in comedies, but in this film, though the occasional idea is a bit far fetched, you can still very much imagine it being the case.
The one thing I would caution people about is the duration of the film - it does last for a good 2.5-3 hours, so you need to have plenty of time to sit down and watch it. This is, however, the only fault I can really pick with it - and even then it's not a fault, because the film really is so funny I wasn't keen for it to end anyway! So if you have a spare three hours, give this a watch. If you don't have a spare three hours, fit them in somewhere because this film really is worth your time!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you liked The Big Chill, you'll like this, 27 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little White Lies [DVD] (DVD)
A watchable movie about a group of self-involved friends who go on vacation together leaving one of their friends behind in Paris. The music is good but the storyline lacks some originality. Very reminiscent of 'The Big Chill'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dismal subtitles, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little White Lies [DVD] (DVD)
The box said 'English subtitles' but it's so inadequate, they might as well said no subtitles. The English subtitles appears maybe every 20 or 30 sentences. It's so frustrating for anyone who doesn't speak French, I had to return it despite the hassle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tedious, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little White Lies [DVD] (DVD)
I found this film to be tedious. It was like listening to a conversation by a crowd of unknown people who are not very interesting. Wouldn't recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Chill with laughs, 27 Dec 2011
This review is from: Little White Lies [DVD] (DVD)
A classy French version of 'The Big Chill' with a talented and likeable French cast. Great 80's music and makes you wish you were in that circle of eccentric, crazy, funny, pathetic but loveable group of people. A movie you can watch over and over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars little white lies, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little White Lies [DVD] (DVD)
took a while to get into this,the characters a bit complex but after watching a second time got what it was about. Funny and witty and sad all at once
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little White Lies [DVD]
Little White Lies [DVD] by Guillaume Canet (DVD - 2011)
£6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews