Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They've Won Me Over
I was never really sure about the Arctic Monkeys until this album. Over five years ago when they came onto the scene I thought they were heavily overrated and I still stand by the opinion that they were overhyped with typical ridiculous NME proclamations like 'best band since The Beatles etc'. Since then, I've listened to their work and it has grown on me over the years,...
Published on 2 Dec 2011 by MDD

versus
28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great album but not hardcore Arctic Monkeys
I really liked the first two albums by this band. Crazy guitar riffs, deranged drum solos, witty lyrics that you could relate to, even though they were by a 19 year old guy from Sheffield (I live in East London and am twice his age). In the saturated music market, they were original.

The third album split opinion big time, and this album, to me anyway, appears...
Published on 17 Jun 2011 by ZIMZIM


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast & Great?, 14 July 2011
This review is from: Suck It And See (Audio CD)
I bought this CD for a friend aws a present on 11th July, I thought it would arrive later than 15th ( the day i'm going to see her). But thankfully! It arrived quick and everything is intact. So all in all I believe dispatching, packaging and its arrival time were efficient and in good condition in this sense. I really hope she enjoys this CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 8 July 2011
This review is from: Suck It And See (Audio CD)
If your a fan of the Artic Monkeys , you will love this album, its them at their best Suck It And See
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bah Humbug, 27 Jun 2011
This review is from: Suck It And See (Audio CD)
Note to Alex Turner - cans of dandelion and burdock are not rare if you know where to look!!

I like this more than "Humbug" but nowhere near as much as the magnificent "Whatever People Say I Am ...".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suck it for yourself, 23 Jun 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suck It And See (MP3 Download)
Ignore all the 'Oh, they lost it in the desert...' nonsense, they never lost it, they've still got it and here's the perfect pop proof. If you don't like the cover (and some people have bothered to go as far as that to find a criticism here) then draw yourself one on you big stupid wannabe music journalist dorks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He aint 19 anymore so give him some slack cause its fooking ace!, 7 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. K. P. Coventry "the jakal" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Suck It And See (Audio CD)
To those who are doubting the arctic monkeys...You just have to realise that no great band releases the same album after another....never in history has that happened....alex is a treasure for us all to enjoy so ENJOY IT AND TREASURE IT NOW AS IT IS HAPPENING!!!! Let him develop cause if you wanted 4 albums the same you have music all wrong....Alex is not 19 anymore and his lyrics and style and influences will change and that PROVES ITS REAL...imagine if he always sang the same songs and style that would be unbelievable...he really is some talent and what a tight tight band and to be honest we have not seen their like for 20 - 30 years....they look so cool and the music is just timeless and in a few years they will be reverred as a classic band like the smiths or the jam or the beatles or even black sabbath....in fact i rate them there already...anyone who is thinking of ditching them ought to think again as you are missing out on a special special band...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Goodbye, 20 Nov 2011
This review is from: Suck It And See (Audio CD)
WHAT HAPPENED TO THE OLD ARCTIC MONKEYS?!

WHATEVER PEOPLE SAY I AM THAT'S WHAT I AM NOT.

R.I.P

GONE BUT NEVER FORGOTTEN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arise a new guitar hero !!!!, 6 Jun 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suck It And See (Audio CD)
Massive return to form, after the rather disappointing third album "Humbug". Alex on great form lyrically (back to funny / clever wordplay) & his vocals are so much smoother than previous (akin to Scott Walker in parts...no bad thing!)
But the biggest difference between this record & the previous three, is that Jamie Cook's guitar playing has massively improved (not to say he was bad before)His mastery of his instrument, brilliantly displayed on tracks such as "Black Treacle" & "All My Own Stunts" to mention two.

Those thinking this is another QOTSA homage (Josh Homme involved again), after hearing the opening single "Don't Sit Down...". Think again this album is not a faux rock pastiche & includes some cracking tunes with a summery vibe (non better than closer "That's Where You Are Wrong".

To conclude don't be put off purchasing this amazing album; (Top 3 album from 2011 thus far...other two being PJ Harvey & Wild Beasts)

1. She's Thunderstorms 9/10
2. Black Treacle 9/10
3. Brick by Brick 8/10
4. The Hellcat Spangled Shalalala 9/10
5. Don't Sit Down `Cause I've Moved Your Chair 9/10
6. Library Pictures 9/10
7. All My Own Stunts 9/10
8. Reckless Serenade 9/10
9. Piledriver Waltz 8/10
10. Love is a Laserquest 9/10
11. Suck It and See 9/10
12. That's Where You're Wrong 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spot on, 13 Jun 2011
This review is from: Suck It And See (Audio CD)
What a great album! Arctic Monkeys have done it :) If you are not a loyal fan then give it time it will grow! Great service from dispatcher!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a great Album!, 7 Jun 2011
This review is from: Suck It And See (Audio CD)
This Album is great, me, being recommended by a friend to try out this album, loved it! I hope it knocks lady gaga off the number one spot :P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mint Album - defo worth a buy, 16 Jun 2011
This review is from: Suck It And See (Audio CD)
Right ok - i am an arctic monkeys fan and i loved their first 3 albums, then i listened to humbug, which i really didnt like and didnt buy it. However when i heard this album coming out i heard the first song - dont sit down coz iv moved ur chair. First listen i hated it, now i have listened to it more, i love it. Similar to the other songs, when i first listened to the whole album i liked it but that was it, but now i listen to it every day and it doesnt get boring. I would strongly recommend you to get this because it is a really good album. and to those that gave it a 1 star 2 star, u must like lady gaga or something. listen to proper music lol. Defo buy this album!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Suck It And See
Suck It And See by Arctic Monkeys (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews