Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable
brought this game a few days ago and I am hooked. There's alot of revisting places you have already been but it gets the mind thinking. Hidden items are clear enough to find. I recommend this game to anyone who likes hidden mysteries and solving puzzles.
Published on 16 May 2011 by bun

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An OK sort of a game.
Salem Secrets is a fairly OK sort of a puzzle/adventure game. It's the type that's worth buying second hand, but maybe won't be at the top of your most wanted list. The game offers fairly decent graphics, some great puzzles that will get the grey matter going and a free roaming playing area to wander around and explore.

The reason for 3 stars for me is that the...
Published on 7 July 2012 by sjh46


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable, 16 May 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hidden Mysteries: Salem Secrets Witch Trails of 1692 (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
brought this game a few days ago and I am hooked. There's alot of revisting places you have already been but it gets the mind thinking. Hidden items are clear enough to find. I recommend this game to anyone who likes hidden mysteries and solving puzzles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great game, 5 Jun 2011
By 
C. Hawkeswood "madonna fan" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hidden Mysteries: Salem Secrets Witch Trails of 1692 (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I really enjoyed playing this game although I agree with the reviewer about a lack of instruction for some of the minigames. Also an overview map would have been useful as I have absolutely no sense of direction and kept going round in circles (you have to go back and forth between locations to use items you have collected to open new rooms, landscapes etc.)I'm still giving it a five star review though because it wasn't a typical hidden object game, there were more tasks to complete and it took me a good 8 or 9 hours to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not bad, could be longer!, 25 May 2011
By 
M. Cregan (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hidden Mysteries: Salem Secrets Witch Trails of 1692 (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Having played this game on the PC and throughly enjoying, I decided to give the DS Version a go. ok its pratically idential to the pc version but was to be expected. Game play is very good and the hidden object scenes are fair and the graphics allow finding the objects not much of a challenge. Some of the puzzles could be better planned as you have no idea what you are ment to be doing unless you exit out to the main menu and click help (a help button would have been a idea on the puzzle screens) I found the puzzles go from one extreme to the next, one is almost impossible due to the limitations of the ds graphics and yet some are so easy i worked it out in about 5 seconds. However if you are after a game to pass the time for a few hours then this will do you fine. I think its a little pricey to be honest though as the pc version is about a fiver. I completed the game in about 4 hours without resorting to a walkthrough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars much better than the usual of its type, 14 Dec 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hidden Mysteries: Salem Secrets Witch Trails of 1692 (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Having purchased a fair few of these hidden object games, I thought this one was a cut above most of the others. The itinerary items you put together to solve a step are quite logical, unlike the obscure combinations in some games. The puzzles included are neither too hard nor too easy and give the brain a good workout, with the option of skipping if you just can't get it. I will be playing this again for sure and if you like this sort of game I definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An OK game, 19 Sep 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hidden Mysteries: Salem Secrets Witch Trails of 1692 (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Having read the good and bad reviews - I can agree with both. I'm not sure of why you can change your profile to "one of the missing girls" - at the begining I thought there were four games - one for each of the missing girls but having finished the game (rather quickly) and then changing my profile I realised each one is identical. Thankfully you can "Skip" the mini games as I found some of them very frustrating and difficult to see on a small screen and no instructions on what you were meant to do. I did like the hidden object games - they were easy enough to find and I liked searching for items even though you did have to go round in circles to try and remember where each building/area was located. This is not a game you can put down for a week as you'll forget the "map" in your head. I completed it in about 6 hours so not good value unless you can get a deal. Overall a good concept and it does get the brain thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Salem Secrets, 28 July 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hidden Mysteries: Salem Secrets Witch Trails of 1692 (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
A hard game to natigate,
This has lots of revisting the same areas. Which i find annoying.
The graphics are quite good,
But it is a good game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An OK sort of a game., 7 July 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hidden Mysteries: Salem Secrets Witch Trails of 1692 (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Salem Secrets is a fairly OK sort of a puzzle/adventure game. It's the type that's worth buying second hand, but maybe won't be at the top of your most wanted list. The game offers fairly decent graphics, some great puzzles that will get the grey matter going and a free roaming playing area to wander around and explore.

The reason for 3 stars for me is that the main let down in my eyes is it relies too heavily on the many "Find X Objects" puzzles which to be honest makes you think the designers ran out of ideas after a while. These puzzles are fine if there's just one or two throughout the game, but at one point I had to do about three in a row in order to find key items and it started to feel a bit tedious. Another gripe might be that some of the puzzles are unintentionally tough due to the DS graphics - the rebus puzzle for instance has a few pictures that aren't too clear what they are meant to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Family gamer, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hidden Mysteries: Salem Secrets Witch Trails of 1692 (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Present bought for family member who loves doing these puzzles when a spare moment arises. Will get more for them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hidden Mysteries: Salem Secrets Witch Trails of 1692 (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I've got 50 games and have completed all but 6 and this is one of them. Not easy to get to the different levels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent gift., 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hidden Mysteries: Salem Secrets Witch Trails of 1692 (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This was bought as a present and from what I can gather the user has found this to be a really good game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hidden Mysteries: Salem Secrets Witch Trails of 1692 (Nintendo DS)
£18.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews