Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 1 Dec 2011
By 
Catkinsays (Manchester. UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jaden Baker (Kindle Edition)
This is one of those books that completely absorbs you from start to finish and leaves you wanting more. The story draws you in completely and you struggle to put it down. This would make a fantastic film and is a unique and gripping story. Would love to read more from this author fi the first book is anything to go by
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jaden Baker, 9 Jun 2011
This review is from: Jaden Baker (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant. Couldn't put it down. It is beautifully written with vibrant characters and settings.
It is obvious that the author is very talented. Jaden Baker is beautifully written.
I was so sad when I came to the end of the book, Courtney please write some more.
A wonderful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jaden Baker (Kindle Edition)
What a ride!!! My heart broke for poor Jadeb time and time again throughout this story and smiled the biggest smile a girl can when I read his hea. Not quite a 5* for me as I would have liked a little more development in his relationship with Libby before the whole "I love her" spiel but loved the fact that sex was not a factor in their relationship indeed within this story as so many these days focus on it so heavily. I lived Libby's character and would have appreciated a little more insight into her relationship with Dalton after his accident and similarly glad that Jaden returned to his "parents" but would have liked an insight into how things panned out with Agent Gates.
All in all a well written and highly imaginative story that grips u by the throat and drags you in from start to finish....great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Gripping Read, 27 May 2013
This review is from: Jaden Baker (Kindle Edition)
I literally could not put this book down. The story starts with 9 year old Jaden a child with a "gift" in foster care. At last finding a home where he wanted to stay, he is suddenly taken to an underground testing facility where he is locked away from the outside world with no concept of time passing. His amazing story of overcoming abuse, survival and mastering his gift while remaining a genuinely good person despite having no good role models in his young life had me gripped. I loved it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece of suspense, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jaden Baker (Kindle Edition)
This is a brilliant book and totally deserving of the 5 stars given by every reviewer. I downloaded it for free but didn't get round to reading it until almost a year later, not realising what I was missing out on. It was well worth the wait though, compelling and compulsive, totally all consuming. It was very tough to read at times owing to the child cruelty element, although being necessary to the story.I enjoyed this book so much that although desperate to find out how it ended, I was sorry to come to the end, knowing that it would be a hard act to follow. I would highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most exciting books I've read, 6 Oct 2012
This review is from: Jaden Baker (Kindle Edition)
Gripping from the first pages, by the second half this novel had me staying up all night unable to put it down!
The plot is original and thrilling to the end, it is beautifully written, with honesty and passion.
I never leave reviews but I felt this is the least I can do for this great book and it's author.
I can't wait to read her next novel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hogwarts noir, 19 Jun 2012
By 
S. Parkin (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jaden Baker (Kindle Edition)
This excellently plotted book seeks, and largely succeeds, to be all things to all readers. The first part describes, sensitively, the efforts of a kind couple to mend a broken child. The next consists of an intensely harrowing description of torture and psychological conditioning, a Hogwarts noir in which the protagonist is simultaneously trained (in quasi-magical powers) and broken. Escape from this is followed by a section of survival/diy. A chance meeting leads to a developing romantic relationship, and in the final part of the book all the threads are brought together in an exciting denouement. I have to confess to certain pre-conceptions when I know a book is by either a male or female writer--the former action/information-heavy, the latter more focused on inner feelings and their communication through dialogue. It is relatively rare to find a work that combines the best qualities of male and female authors, but I feel that this book succeeds. Throughout, the book is psychologically convincing, and the plotting and control of pace are for the most part skilled and assured. A few references to Harry Potter are sprinkled throughout the book; Kirchoff is aligning herself with Rowling, and Jaden Baker certainly shares some characteristics with Harry (broken home, training and gradual development of powers, an alignment of dark forces with which to do battle). The plotting, with seeds sown early in the book that flower later on, is also reminiscent of Rowling, and works very well, despite what to me felt a little creaking towards the end (the sudden reappearance of Jaden's father, for instance). The Kindle edition needs a little edit, but the prose is very readable, both in descriptions of action and of emotional states. What this adds up to is a work of considerable emotional power. I discovered this completely by accident when surfing for free Kindle books, but feel very strongly that this is a book that deserves a major publisher and a wide readership
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 29 May 2012
This review is from: Jaden Baker (Kindle Edition)
This is a great book. Also its annoyed me that this is the third review ive tried to leave. Sharon from London
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful but harrowing read., 28 May 2012
This review is from: Jaden Baker (Kindle Edition)
Beautifully written, read it, you will not regret it. May move you to tears, but once finished you will miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written and completely captivating, 25 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jaden Baker (Kindle Edition)
Beautifully written to the point where you really build an empathy and an allegiance with Jaden, heart wrenching in parts to the point that I could have cried but this only adds to the overall feel of the book and the stunning talent of the author. Will be looking out for more books by Courtney Kirchoff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jaden Baker
Jaden Baker by Courtney Kirchoff
2.60
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews