Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The playlist speaks for itself
If you're looking at this CD, then I'm picking you'll know Styx from their best selling peak in the 1970s, which is when I discovered them in my (long lost) teens. If not, then a brief summary is that Styx were HUGE in the USA, but struggled to make an impact abroad. Often compared to Journey and REO Speedwagon, they give you everything you expect in the "Pomp Rock"...
Published on 3 Jun 2011 by Robert A. Cant

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good,some bad.
This Styx CD is a collection of their 'finest' work and there are many songs on here which clearly reinforce that point,tunes such as Come Sail Away,Crystal Ball,Renegade and Blue Collar Man still sound fresh for the most part.
Regrettably,that can't be said for the entire album,take a listen to Mr Roboto or Heavy Metal Poisoning and you'll see what I mean......how...
Published 19 months ago by N. Fitzgerald


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The playlist speaks for itself, 3 Jun 2011
By 
Robert A. Cant "RobfromNZ" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Babe: The Collection (Audio CD)
If you're looking at this CD, then I'm picking you'll know Styx from their best selling peak in the 1970s, which is when I discovered them in my (long lost) teens. If not, then a brief summary is that Styx were HUGE in the USA, but struggled to make an impact abroad. Often compared to Journey and REO Speedwagon, they give you everything you expect in the "Pomp Rock" Genre. They seemed to specialise in the song which starts quietly, and then blasts your socks off (Renegade, Lady, Come Sail Away, etc). But a few outright ballads, and some outright rock songs too.

The playlist on the CD is sufficient to recommend it. I can't think of any hits that are missing, and at under [] pounds it is excellent value. This is a great collection, and it took me back several decades to the '70s. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tour Tie In, 12 May 2011
By 
This review is from: Babe: The Collection (Audio CD)
Styx are touring in support of Foreigner and Journey this summer.This best of is a cash in on that tour. This covers the A&M years and for people who missed Styx first time round, and want the hits on one CD, this may be the only Styx album they'll ever need. There is nothing special here that would draw in the long time fan, other than this is the first best of this millenium at a bargain price. No live tracks, b-sides or remixes, but hits and fan favourites from the late 70's/ early 80's glory days. The cover is reminiscent of the Rush retrospective where covers of the albums that the tracks are taken from are featured. The liner notes feature a short essay by Malcolm Dome, a writer for Classic Rock magazine, who also compiled the tracks. This is American pomp rock of the highest order, with an equal mix of ballads and rockers, and it lets newbies hear what all the fuss was about.
£3 at ASDA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Styx :Rockin' your paradise!!, 25 Jun 2011
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Babe: The Collection (Audio CD)
Superb value for money mid price release clearly issued as a tie in to the triple header tour with Foriegner/Journey,having attended the show in Glasgow it was a shame Styx were only getting warmed up when it was time to finish,still they played several tracks from the compilation,including storming versions of: 'Blue Collar Man/Too Much Time On My hands/Come Sail Away/Foolin Yourself and Renagade.This cd is a decent over view of the 70's & early 80's,5 tracks from 'Paradise Theatre' (1980) upholds my belief that ,that particular disc is thier best,other highlights on here include Rockin The Paradise/ Best of Times/Lady'95 and of course 'Babe'.Thankfully the sound quality is excellent and a decent if basic set of liner notes give a little history.

At this price this is excellent value for money and will probably be a catalyst for you to start searchin' thru the bands back catalog,happy hunting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good songs, 22 Sep 2013
By 
Fireball 61 (Moray, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Styx are like your grandmother, its very nice to visit on occasions have a great sing along but don't expect me to kiss her. A good album but not likely to enhance your love life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Album, Deceptively labelled Autorip., 15 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Babe: The Collection (Audio CD)
It's Styx. If you like styx, you'll probably like this. I used this album more as an introduction, having previouslyo nly had 3 or 4 of their songs. I have to say, I'm not disappointed.

On a side note, At the time of this review (15/08/2014) I discovered after 15 days of conversing with Amazon support that contrary to the assertions on the page when I ordered it, Autorip is not available for this album. Just worth keeping in mind if that was your intention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Babe, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Babe: The Collection (Audio CD)
A great album some excellent songs in the collection but some I am not quite sure about but the album brings back many memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Babe: The Collection (Audio CD)
good introduction to styx showing that there is more to them than ballards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Styx, you'll like this, 18 Mar 2013
By 
Andrew J. Mcfarlane (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Babe: The Collection (Audio CD)
If you like Styx, you'll like this, covering all of the old classics and some more up to date issues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars met expectations, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Babe: The Collection (Audio CD)
the item arrived on time, the quality was good and it did what it said on the can. Please with product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Babe: The Collection by Styx, 26 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Babe: The Collection (Audio CD)
I love this band. Great collection of pomp-rock songs by one of the leaders of the genre. If you like Foreigner, Journey etc you'll love this. Delivered next day on Prime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Babe: The Collection
Babe: The Collection by Styx (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews