Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sugar Daddies & Mommies
I've been reading Kellerman and his Delaware psycho-thrillers for about 20 years now, and haven't tired yet. Of course, he's had his ups and downs, some stories being better than others, and lately losing some luster - but this one is excellent.

The author is well into his third decade of writing (i.e, check his Deception, Compulsion, The Conspiracy Club, The...
Published on 8 April 2011 by Eyeh Asher

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly strange Kindle version
I agree with the other reviewers in that this is a good, if not great, Alex and Milo story. Always fun to catch up with them. I loved the idea of Milo considering Facial dermabrasion even if he doesn't mean it. Don't! You're lovely just as you are!
Anyway, worth mentioning that the Kindle version has double spacing between paragraphs. Given the quite small screen...
Published on 1 Oct. 2011 by Amanda in the Fens


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sugar Daddies & Mommies, 8 April 2011
I've been reading Kellerman and his Delaware psycho-thrillers for about 20 years now, and haven't tired yet. Of course, he's had his ups and downs, some stories being better than others, and lately losing some luster - but this one is excellent.

The author is well into his third decade of writing (i.e, check his Deception, Compulsion, The Conspiracy Club, The Butcher's Theatre, et al.), and while I always find a comfortable familiarity with each of his books, I'm also pleased to see that he avoids the formulaic plotting that a lesser talent would have succumbed to by this point - apart from his fixation on meticulously listing what everyone's wearing as soon as they enter the scene (there must be a psychological explanation for this... OCD? eh, eh, eh).

So, anyway, MYSTERY is one of Kellerman's best works to date, with his two main characters - consultant psychologist Delaware and LAPD Detective Sturgis - meeting and greeting all types during the course of a difficult investigation into the gruesome murder (face blown off and other diverse mutilations) of a girl part of an online dating circuit. The pair follow a trail of secrets and deception in a plot that truly keeps you on your toes, with all the cyberspace ingredients so dramatically current in the area of online adult dating and depressing sex commerce.

Delaware ultimately comes through in a denouement where the author quietly and quickly makes a point that we should all take with us, whether we have mysteries to solve or not.

Ok, ok, I'm a Kellerman aficionado and may be slightly biased but, hey, so kill me for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly strange Kindle version, 1 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Mystery: Alex Delaware 26 (Kindle Edition)
I agree with the other reviewers in that this is a good, if not great, Alex and Milo story. Always fun to catch up with them. I loved the idea of Milo considering Facial dermabrasion even if he doesn't mean it. Don't! You're lovely just as you are!
Anyway, worth mentioning that the Kindle version has double spacing between paragraphs. Given the quite small screen size on a Kindle this means I am paging more than I expect to and it kind of ruins the illusion that I am still reading a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but not Great., 14 Aug. 2014
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
An OK mystery about the murder of a call girl and her involvement with a sugar daddy with themes relating to family secrets and conspicuous wealth thrown in for good measure all set in LA. When the call girl is first noticed by Clinical Psychologist Alex Delaware in a hotel on its closing night then turns up with her face blown off Alex suspects that it's not a simple murder but something altogether more involved and together with Milo Sturgis , a lieutenant in the LAPD , they set out to solve the case. Sounds good but it's not a book you can't put down rather one you read if you've got a spare half hour then pick it up later. This is the second book I've read by this author but I won't worry if I don't read any more as I find his style a bit plodding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mostly good, 5 Dec. 2013
I have always been quite a fan of Kellerman's Milo and Alex stories, but this time I found myself reading it in parallel with Frank Tallis' Mortal Mischief. They are curiously identical in plot. They both figure an inexplicable crime with a dedicated police officer and a psychologically inclined sidekick (or the other way round), on the trail of a killer.
While the first story is in 21st C New York, the other is in 19th C Vienna. In the second story, the psychologist is Max Lieberman who is a disciple of Freud, and he has regular meetings with Freud. I was really enjoying the wit in the Kellerman book, until I got to the final denouement which was so convoluted I lost the will to comprehend. The Tallis book is equally witty and it has Freud during the time he wrote Humour and the Unconscious. telling jokes! Both psychologists are brilliant at interpreting clues, but at the end of the stories, I thought that Kellerman had blown it. When it came to the confrontation between the killer and the psychologist, Lieberman was the clear winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, 20 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Mystery: Alex Delaware 26 (Kindle Edition)
This is quite a good read. The mystery element is well-developed and had me thinking. So Kellerman had me invested early and didn't detour with his writing. But it would be too much to say this was an outstanding mystery as it sort if goes where a lot of others before it have gone.

It was my first time with the pairing of the gay cop, Milo, with the psychologist who seems to get involved in the cases Milo is working on without having an official role. This unusual set-up made the plot reasonably interesting, but Kellerman doesn't otherwise do a great deal with his characterisations.

I wasn't knocked out by this book, but it was very readable and will have me going back for more by the author. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Twists, Turns, Old and New Hollywood, and Plenty of Psychology, 15 April 2011
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 127,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
"And on her forehead a name was written:

MYSTERY, BABYLON THE GREAT" -- Revelation 17:5 (NKJV)

An accidental encounter places Alex Delaware in the middle of a murder investigation, one that involves the ugly underbelly of the "beautiful life" in Southern California. As a result, he has a bigger role to play, there are more and more relevant psychological insights to share, and more realistic reasons for Alex to be involved with Milo Sturgis in the investigation into a brutal slaying.

I thought that most of this book was better plotted than many of the recent offerings in this series. The red herrings were more plausible and intriguing . . . and the resolution of the mystery was more unexpected than usual. A bit of the ending was hard to swallow, but I had enjoyed what led up to the resolution enough for that not to trouble me too much.

Some of the dialogue is extremely witty in making social commentary about the "culture" of those with the most toys. I also appreciated the heavy dose of irony that Jonathan Kellerman used to indicate his views about those who don't care who gets hurt . . . as long as they get what they want.

I also enjoyed the many images that were conjured up to provide atmosphere of the sort that used to make the noir detective and crime novels about Hollywood so appealing.

Nice work, Dr. Kellerman!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Magical mystery, 13 Feb. 2012
By 
I think Kellerman is actually getting better and better. He certainly hasn't jumped the shark and he's actually adding layers of complexity to his stories unlike some other thriller writers who're painting by numbers. I find the solving of the crimes becoming more difficult to predict. And Kellerman avoids creating a too matey approach to the relationship between Milo and Alex. This is a tremendous series and Kellerman is becoming more and more imaginative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable read, 1 May 2011
By 
A. Kinsella - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a very enjoyable read proving that Kellerman is right on form. The book is another sucessful pairing of Milo Sturgis and Alex Delaware we the two investigate the death of a young woman with a mysterious past. The book is very unpredictable and keeps you guessing until the end. The book is well written and nicely paced with clues appearing the whole way through the book and various small side plots that keep you entertained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reliable, consistent, extremely readable, 14 April 2011
By 
Fans of Jonathan Kellerman will find this volume well up to standard.

All the usual characters are there.....Delaware himself,'sidekick' LA cop Sturgis and partner Robin and her guitars.

Book is well plotted and swaps between the main story and a sub plot highlighting Delaware's professional skills.

Only criticism, if indeed it is such, is that with JK pumping out new books with such regularity, some of the anticipation previously experienced in awaiting a new story is inevitably lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Strange, 3 May 2011
By 
Kim W. Rellahan (Helsinki Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sorry....but can't say this is close to the best after reading them all. First of all, thought the Cover was even strange, referring to Delaware as "The Crime Reader"....where did that come from. The story started and played out okay, but the plot was kind-of wierd as it progressed along and then the ending with Alex just laying out what happened with Milo just sitting outside waiting to end the whole thing.
Just didn't work for me. If you want something worthwhile, stumbled across William Lashner books in a series of stories about Philly Lawyer Victor Carl....can guarantee these to keep you guessing right up to the end....loved them....read them in proper sequence....great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mystery: Alex Delaware 26
Mystery: Alex Delaware 26 by Jonathan Kellerman
£4.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews