Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AV out ONLY - but also a useful charger
AS you may have noticed by other users this cable will not work with your Apple device unless it has video out enabled which varies from app to app, a real shame as the likes of Infinity Blade or Angry Birds would look incredible on your widescreen TV!

It does however work fine for watching back iPhone slideshows and viewing your amateur videos clearly and...
Published on 13 Feb. 2013 by The Honest Cynic

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for what it does do - notable for what it does not.
This is no replacement for Apple TV, nor has it been sold to be.

I was very excited about this as we are often crammped on the sofa watching something on iPlayer on my IPad and the thought of watching from the Ipad on TV was a great idea.

iPlayer - fantastic. ITVplayer - no good. YouTube - fantastic. Other web-based video - no good...
Published on 14 May 2012 by Dr. D. E. Goldwater


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AV out ONLY - but also a useful charger, 13 Feb. 2013
By 
The Honest Cynic (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Composite AV Cable for Apple iPhone iPad and iPod 6.5 Feet / 2 m Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
AS you may have noticed by other users this cable will not work with your Apple device unless it has video out enabled which varies from app to app, a real shame as the likes of Infinity Blade or Angry Birds would look incredible on your widescreen TV!

It does however work fine for watching back iPhone slideshows and viewing your amateur videos clearly and easily - simply plug the cable, same as an iPhone charger, to the bottom of your device and match the AV cable colours to your TV or scart adaptor.

The cables itself is a decent length of 6.5 foot allowing you some slack for you to control video without straining your eyes from sitting too close to the TV, while connections are snug both ends with the connections moulded on well - ESSENTIAL considering how quickly official iPod/iPhone chargers wear out and become frazzled.

As a result of the limitations which it no way tries to sell off - read reviews and small print to make sure this is the cable for you - this wouldn't be ideal for say trying to run a powerpoint presentation off.

One final very mentionable point is that the cable also has a USB connection at one end - when not in use as a video cable this is a very helpful additional iPhone charger!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big screen transfer..., 1 May 2012
This review is from: AmazonBasics Composite AV Cable for Apple iPhone iPad and iPod 6.5 Feet / 2 m Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It's important to note that this AmazonBasics Composite AV Cable can only work with iOS app's that are coded to use the 'TV-out' feature in iOS (this is not the same as the AirPlay feature) and that you cannot use it (or any similar cable) to mirror your device's display or use it to play games on a larger display. Using the bundled iOS 5.1 app's you can : use the Videos app to playback video content from your library including TV shows, movies or podcasts downloaded from the iTunes Store or any compatible videos you've added to iTunes yourself, use the YouTube app to playback clips direct from website, use the Photos app to display slideshows of your photo's with music (just open the first photo in your album and press the 'play' button and the slideshow should appear on your TV) and you can also playback music with the Music app but this will display no visuals. If you have an earlier version of iOS on your iPhone the iPod app will offer the same basic features. Beyond the official bundled app's third-party app's can offer additional features, for example some media players might playback a wider range of video file formats. Note that current versions of the TV catchup app's, like BBC iPlayer, ITV Player and 4OD, will not work with this cable.

Picture quality obviously depends on the source files and the capability of your iOS device but can be surprisingly good, even with just a composite connection. It's still quite amazing to see a device as small and portable as an iPhone 4 playing back near-flawless quality video on your TV and if you download a lot of TV shows or movies it's a great way to view them, especially if you're not alone. Note that if your TV has component connections then you might want to go for the component version of this cable, either the affordable AmazonBasics version or Apple's overpriced one, as a component connection will usually give an even better quality picture.

I already owned Apple's official composite cable and decided to pick up this AmazonBasics version to use with a different TV, rather than fumble round the back of devices disconnecting and reconnecting cables. This AmazonBasics version differs in a few subtle ways from Apple's own (not least in the price!) but functions just as well and seems to be compatible with all the same devices. The dock connector plug is nicely tapered meaning I was able to plug it into my iPod and iPhone without having to remove their cases first - the Apple cable is chunkier and won't stay properly connected with the covers on. Cable length is about the same as Apple's but the cable splits into separate phono and USB plugs in a different way - the Apple cable splits about halfway along its length and this means there's enough separation for the USB cable to connect to a mains adaptor at floor level while the phonos can connect to the rear of a TV that's placed higher up. The AmazonBasics version has the split much closer together meaning it could be quite awkward to be connected to a TV and a mains adaptor at the same time.

Be aware that the Apple version of this cable used to ship with an iPhone/iPod mains adaptor in the box too (with clip-on adaptors for UK and USA sockets), perhaps partly explaining the very high price. It seems Apple have removed the mains adaptor from more recent boxes but kept the high price - check what you're getting if you decide to go for the Apple version. If you don't need the mains adaptor or just want to save some precious pennies this AmazonBasics version is also excellent and probably better value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Apple TV ... well sorta, 4 May 2012
By 
pacem et amorem (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Composite AV Cable for Apple iPhone iPad and iPod 6.5 Feet / 2 m Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is one of the accessories for my iPod that I've been looking to get my hands on for some time. This is a good quality item which produces a good quality image on the screen. Though I have to admit an HD image would be better, it is not possible at the moment. The 6.5 feet/2 metre cable allows you to hold your iPod in your hand whilst it is connected to the TV across the room, depending on the size of the room or the placement of the furniture - something that would not be possible with a shorter length of cable.
I have a few products from the AmazonBasics range and have been impressed overall by them. This cable is no exception. I can highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for what it does do - notable for what it does not., 14 May 2012
By 
Dr. D. E. Goldwater "dodiceleedoo" (Bushey, Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Composite AV Cable for Apple iPhone iPad and iPod 6.5 Feet / 2 m Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is no replacement for Apple TV, nor has it been sold to be.

I was very excited about this as we are often crammped on the sofa watching something on iPlayer on my IPad and the thought of watching from the Ipad on TV was a great idea.

iPlayer - fantastic. ITVplayer - no good. YouTube - fantastic. Other web-based video - no good.

iPhone - YouTube - not bad (quality a bit ropey). iPlayer - no good.

Video content on phone or ipad plays very well and in good resolution. We sat down to watch Britain's Got Talent on the ITVPlayer and it just doesn't work.

As previous reviewers have mentioned, this does not mirror your iPad content - you do need Apple TV for that but I was a little disappointed that it would not even stream the ITVPlayer through the telly.

For the money, this is really not bad. I would play your video content on the TV for example when you are on holiday (with a scart adapter) - great for the kids. It has not, however, fulfilled the need that I got it for and I feel it is a bit lacking in function.

Build quality, connector quality and packaging are, as usual for Amazon Basics, first rate. You don't need an instruction manual.

In summary - you should know what this does and does not do before you buy it. Works well for what it does do but doesn't do everything I wished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good product and service, 9 Mar. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Composite AV Cable for Apple iPhone iPad and iPod 6.5 Feet / 2 m Black (Electronics)
The Composite AV cable for my iPods (Classic and Touch)works well - it does the job intended. Swift delivery and packaging.Quality of the cables and plugs is fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money, 10 Jan. 2013
By 
This review is from: AmazonBasics Composite AV Cable for Apple iPhone iPad and iPod 6.5 Feet / 2 m Black (Electronics)
What it did for me:
1. Plays photos in a slideshow
2. Plays home videos
3. Plays Youtube videos PROVIDING IT IS NOT USING THE YOUTUBE APP. You have to use the [...] mobile site.
4. Plays any video from any website, ie news sites, etc
5. Does play BBC iplayer and ITV Player, but not the other channels

Things of note:
1. Does not mirror the screen
2. Does not play songs from the iPod bit of the iPhone

All in all, not flawless, but definitely worth it. I doubt the official Apple could do much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars POOR, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Composite AV Cable for Apple iPhone iPad and iPod 6.5 Feet / 2 m Black (Electronics)
I tried this cable on 3 different TV's and with 2 iPads/ 1 iPhone, all the same, only shows picture in black and white and the picture is so grainy/ blocky it's un-watchable, maybe a poor batch/ lead but i'll try elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why buy the Apple version!, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Composite AV Cable for Apple iPhone iPad and iPod 6.5 Feet / 2 m Black (Electronics)
Apple version is £30. Amazon version is £12. They do exactly the same job, and perform exactly the same. You do the math....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect to connect my iPod or iPhone to my Mazda 2 Tom Tom headunit, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Composite AV Cable for Apple iPhone iPad and iPod 6.5 Feet / 2 m Black (Electronics)
This cable offers all the functionality of the cable that Mazda failed to include with my Mazda 2 venture edition but at less cost.

Very happy with it as it fits neatly in the glovebox and functions perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cable, cheaper than Apple's version and does the same job!, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Composite AV Cable for Apple iPhone iPad and iPod 6.5 Feet / 2 m Black (Electronics)
Easy to use, great results instantly, didnt have to mess around with what goes where, all colour coded and simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews