Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AV out ONLY - but also a useful charger
AS you may have noticed by other users this cable will not work with your Apple device unless it has video out enabled which varies from app to app, a real shame as the likes of Infinity Blade or Angry Birds would look incredible on your widescreen TV!

It does however work fine for watching back iPhone slideshows and viewing your amateur videos clearly and...
Published on 13 Feb. 2013 by The Honest Cynic

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for what it does do - notable for what it does not.
This is no replacement for Apple TV, nor has it been sold to be.

I was very excited about this as we are often crammped on the sofa watching something on iPlayer on my IPad and the thought of watching from the Ipad on TV was a great idea.

iPlayer - fantastic. ITVplayer - no good. YouTube - fantastic. Other web-based video - no good...
Published on 14 May 2012 by Dr. D. E. Goldwater


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AV out ONLY - but also a useful charger, 13 Feb. 2013
By 
The Honest Cynic (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Composite AV Cable for Apple iPhone iPad and iPod 2 m / 6.5 Feet Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
AS you may have noticed by other users this cable will not work with your Apple device unless it has video out enabled which varies from app to app, a real shame as the likes of Infinity Blade or Angry Birds would look incredible on your widescreen TV!

It does however work fine for watching back iPhone slideshows and viewing your amateur videos clearly and easily - simply plug the cable, same as an iPhone charger, to the bottom of your device and match the AV cable colours to your TV or scart adaptor.

The cables itself is a decent length of 6.5 foot allowing you some slack for you to control video without straining your eyes from sitting too close to the TV, while connections are snug both ends with the connections moulded on well - ESSENTIAL considering how quickly official iPod/iPhone chargers wear out and become frazzled.

As a result of the limitations which it no way tries to sell off - read reviews and small print to make sure this is the cable for you - this wouldn't be ideal for say trying to run a powerpoint presentation off.

One final very mentionable point is that the cable also has a USB connection at one end - when not in use as a video cable this is a very helpful additional iPhone charger!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big screen transfer..., 1 May 2012
This review is from: AmazonBasics Composite AV Cable for Apple iPhone iPad and iPod 2 m / 6.5 Feet Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It's important to note that this AmazonBasics Composite AV Cable can only work with iOS app's that are coded to use the 'TV-out' feature in iOS (this is not the same as the AirPlay feature) and that you cannot use it (or any similar cable) to mirror your device's display or use it to play games on a larger display. Using the bundled iOS 5.1 app's you can : use the Videos app to playback video content from your library including TV shows, movies or podcasts downloaded from the iTunes Store or any compatible videos you've added to iTunes yourself, use the YouTube app to playback clips direct from website, use the Photos app to display slideshows of your photo's with music (just open the first photo in your album and press the 'play' button and the slideshow should appear on your TV) and you can also playback music with the Music app but this will display no visuals. If you have an earlier version of iOS on your iPhone the iPod app will offer the same basic features. Beyond the official bundled app's third-party app's can offer additional features, for example some media players might playback a wider range of video file formats. Note that current versions of the TV catchup app's, like BBC iPlayer, ITV Player and 4OD, will not work with this cable.

Picture quality obviously depends on the source files and the capability of your iOS device but can be surprisingly good, even with just a composite connection. It's still quite amazing to see a device as small and portable as an iPhone 4 playing back near-flawless quality video on your TV and if you download a lot of TV shows or movies it's a great way to view them, especially if you're not alone. Note that if your TV has component connections then you might want to go for the component version of this cable, either the affordable AmazonBasics version or Apple's overpriced one, as a component connection will usually give an even better quality picture.

I already owned Apple's official composite cable and decided to pick up this AmazonBasics version to use with a different TV, rather than fumble round the back of devices disconnecting and reconnecting cables. This AmazonBasics version differs in a few subtle ways from Apple's own (not least in the price!) but functions just as well and seems to be compatible with all the same devices. The dock connector plug is nicely tapered meaning I was able to plug it into my iPod and iPhone without having to remove their cases first - the Apple cable is chunkier and won't stay properly connected with the covers on. Cable length is about the same as Apple's but the cable splits into separate phono and USB plugs in a different way - the Apple cable splits about halfway along its length and this means there's enough separation for the USB cable to connect to a mains adaptor at floor level while the phonos can connect to the rear of a TV that's placed higher up. The AmazonBasics version has the split much closer together meaning it could be quite awkward to be connected to a TV and a mains adaptor at the same time.

Be aware that the Apple version of this cable used to ship with an iPhone/iPod mains adaptor in the box too (with clip-on adaptors for UK and USA sockets), perhaps partly explaining the very high price. It seems Apple have removed the mains adaptor from more recent boxes but kept the high price - check what you're getting if you decide to go for the Apple version. If you don't need the mains adaptor or just want to save some precious pennies this AmazonBasics version is also excellent and probably better value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Apple TV ... well sorta, 4 May 2012
By 
pacem et amorem (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Composite AV Cable for Apple iPhone iPad and iPod 2 m / 6.5 Feet Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is one of the accessories for my iPod that I've been looking to get my hands on for some time. This is a good quality item which produces a good quality image on the screen. Though I have to admit an HD image would be better, it is not possible at the moment. The 6.5 feet/2 metre cable allows you to hold your iPod in your hand whilst it is connected to the TV across the room, depending on the size of the room or the placement of the furniture - something that would not be possible with a shorter length of cable.
I have a few products from the AmazonBasics range and have been impressed overall by them. This cable is no exception. I can highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for what it does do - notable for what it does not., 14 May 2012
By 
Dr. D. E. Goldwater "dodiceleedoo" (Bushey, Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Composite AV Cable for Apple iPhone iPad and iPod 2 m / 6.5 Feet Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is no replacement for Apple TV, nor has it been sold to be.

I was very excited about this as we are often crammped on the sofa watching something on iPlayer on my IPad and the thought of watching from the Ipad on TV was a great idea.

iPlayer - fantastic. ITVplayer - no good. YouTube - fantastic. Other web-based video - no good.

iPhone - YouTube - not bad (quality a bit ropey). iPlayer - no good.

Video content on phone or ipad plays very well and in good resolution. We sat down to watch Britain's Got Talent on the ITVPlayer and it just doesn't work.

As previous reviewers have mentioned, this does not mirror your iPad content - you do need Apple TV for that but I was a little disappointed that it would not even stream the ITVPlayer through the telly.

For the money, this is really not bad. I would play your video content on the TV for example when you are on holiday (with a scart adapter) - great for the kids. It has not, however, fulfilled the need that I got it for and I feel it is a bit lacking in function.

Build quality, connector quality and packaging are, as usual for Amazon Basics, first rate. You don't need an instruction manual.

In summary - you should know what this does and does not do before you buy it. Works well for what it does do but doesn't do everything I wished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent price for a quality cable, 2 May 2012
By 
Mr Gumby "DH" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Composite AV Cable for Apple iPhone iPad and iPod 2 m / 6.5 Feet Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a nicely constructed cable and works well. I tried it with iPhone and iPad. Use it to show videos (including iTunes), slideshows, etc. on your TV. Picture quality is surprisingly good for a composite cable - more than adequate for casual viewing.

Exactly what you can show depends on whether the app you're using sends video output. You'll get sound but no pictures from live and catch-up TV apps, or certainly those I tried: iPlayer, ITV Player, TVCatchup, BBC News and Sky Sports.

I've docked a star because the USB cable doesn't split off the main cable soon enough, making it difficult to plug it into a mains adapter while the rest of the cable is plugged into a TV. Other than that, there is nothing to criticise and this cable represents excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value for what I want it to do, 16 July 2012
By 
Nick Flynn "NickF" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Composite AV Cable for Apple iPhone iPad and iPod 2 m / 6.5 Feet Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a very useful bit of kit, and well worth the money, even if it only did one thing ...

For me, the ability to use Keynote to run a presentation off my iPad is worth the asking price alone. The fact that I can play video, access iPhotos and YouTube are all bonuses.

I managed to get into iPlayer, and ITV on demand ... Channel 4 does not support TV playback, and Channel 5 would only play audio.

As long as you check what programs and Apps support TV Out, then this is a good value bit of kit ... well made too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Be very careful!, 9 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Composite AV Cable for Apple iPhone iPad and iPod 2 m / 6.5 Feet Black (Electronics)
Well this Apple A/V cable business is a real minefield. I already own a genuine Apple Component A/V cable and a third party composite cable. Neither of them would output video from my iPad 2 (iOS6) so reassured by the spec. given with this cable
"Compatible with iPod, iPhone and iPad (Models: iPod 4, iPod nano 6, iPad 3 and iPhone 4S or older; iOS 5 and 6" I bought it.
I shouldn't have bothered - it produced exactly the same result - no video out from any App on my iPad.
Works fine with iPod Touch, and iPhone 3GS - plays items from the Videos folder as well as certain other Apps including BBC iPlayer, but when connected to the iPad... nope, just the "Accessory not supported message". My only consolation is I strongly suspect it would have been the same end result if I'd shelled out for a genuine Apple cable. Given the many positive reviews here I can only assume that certain combinations of iPad/iOS do work, but it seems to be a lottery. I thought I'd done my homework this time, but obviously not well enough . The compatibility list is clearly misleading. I took it to mean that all the listed devices "or older" running iOS 5 or 6 would be OK. Now I read it again it is possible to interpret the "or older" caveat as pertaining only to the iPhone Model. At very least this needs some clarification by Amazon, as things stand it is ambiguous to say the least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money, 10 Jan. 2013
By 
This review is from: AmazonBasics Composite AV Cable for Apple iPhone iPad and iPod 2 m / 6.5 Feet Black (Electronics)
What it did for me:
1. Plays photos in a slideshow
2. Plays home videos
3. Plays Youtube videos PROVIDING IT IS NOT USING THE YOUTUBE APP. You have to use the [...] mobile site.
4. Plays any video from any website, ie news sites, etc
5. Does play BBC iplayer and ITV Player, but not the other channels

Things of note:
1. Does not mirror the screen
2. Does not play songs from the iPod bit of the iPhone

All in all, not flawless, but definitely worth it. I doubt the official Apple could do much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good product and service, 9 Mar. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Composite AV Cable for Apple iPhone iPad and iPod 2 m / 6.5 Feet Black (Electronics)
The Composite AV cable for my iPods (Classic and Touch)works well - it does the job intended. Swift delivery and packaging.Quality of the cables and plugs is fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for iPod Classic, probably not for iPad, 18 Oct. 2012
This review is from: AmazonBasics Composite AV Cable for Apple iPhone iPad and iPod 2 m / 6.5 Feet Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The cable works fine, and is about half the price of the Apple one so it's a no-brainer if you want to output content from your iPod to a TV. There are two points to bear in mind though: the cable is only 2m long, so you won't be able to have your iPod on the couch for example (unless you're in a small room!). The other limitation is that this is of course a composite cable, and only capable of outputting standard definition content. This is fine on an iPod classic, which you wouldn't keep HD versions of content on anyway (bit of a waste of space on a 320x240 screen) but though the cable will work with an iPad (though not the iPhone 5 which uses the new 'Lightning' connector) it is incapable of outputting the HD content you're likely to have on there to get the full benefit of the Retina screen. So what you'll watch on your TV is high definition content downscaled by your iPad into standard definition, and this downgraded version then upscaled by your TV. In otber words not very good at all - but that's what the component video cable is for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews