Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Behold in Breathless Wonder
"Cross the Rainbow Bridge of Asgard, where the booming heavens roar, you'll behold in breathless wonder The God Of Thunder, Mighty Thor!"
The great theme tune introduces old Marvelites like me to the 1966 animated series which I had never seen before, is based on stories from the classic Journey into Mystery comic from the early 1960's
Starting with Loki being...
Published on 7 May 2011 by I. R. Kerr

versus
8 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Mighty Thor - 1966 Complete Series
Was not aware that this was just a sequence of stills with some poor minor animation. Hopeless for kids. Will maybe satisfy some hardcore fan somewhere.
Published on 6 Jun 2011 by NKM


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Behold in Breathless Wonder, 7 May 2011
By 
I. R. Kerr (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mighty Thor - 1966 Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
"Cross the Rainbow Bridge of Asgard, where the booming heavens roar, you'll behold in breathless wonder The God Of Thunder, Mighty Thor!"
The great theme tune introduces old Marvelites like me to the 1966 animated series which I had never seen before, is based on stories from the classic Journey into Mystery comic from the early 1960's
Starting with Loki being freed from his forest prison in Asgard and taking his old feud against Thor to Earth, Loki is a constant pain throughout this series. The other constant theme throughout is Odin's displeasure at Thor's Earthly alter-ego Dr. Donald Blake's love for nurse Jane Foster who Odin feels is unworthy.
All 13 episodes are gathered here and longtime fans will recognise the original stories they were based on as Thor also battles Mr Hyde and the Cobra, Grey Gargoyle, Absorbing Man, The Destroyer, Zarko the Tomorrow Man, Enchantress and the Executioner, Sandu, Hercules and Pluto and finally Molto and the Lava Men which features a guest appearance from The Avengers and The Hulk.
Being largely a series of still frames from the comics with a little added animation you can instantly see the work of the master Jack Kirby as well as Don Heck and Joe Sinnott. The stories were originally written by comicdom legends, and brothers, Larry Lieber and Stan Lee. They are not straight comic to screen adaptations, there is a fair deal of editing which is skilfully handled.
The sound effects are great and complement the POW!s perfectly and the voices are suitably over the top, especially Loki, which fits very well. The only reason it loses 1 star is the constant repetition of various still images especially one where Thor looks like he has put on his helmet whilst drunk.
It was a pleasure watching this 2 disc set, so much so I had the Essential Thor volume's 1 & 2 open as I was watching to follow the original sources of the tales.
Not in the same league as Kenneth Branagh's superb re-imagining of the Thor series but it is great for unrepentent nostalgics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make Mine Marvel, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mighty Thor - 1966 Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
In Summer of 1966 Marvel began running ads in their comics of an upcoming series of animated adventures of five of their characters; Captain America, Iron-Man, Hulk, Sub-Mariner and Thor. The stories and art for these cartoons came straight from the comics Marvel published in the early sixties. The animation for these cartoons is simple but engaging. The narriator's enthusiasm is infectious and the cartoons are fun to watch. The background music and voices are in mono; both fit the moods and action well. The cartoons are essentially "animated" by Jack Kirby, Steve Ditko and Gene Colan, John Romita,and Don Heck. Filmation used the panels from the Marvel comics and didn't add much to provide motion but enough to make these entertaining. They're still some of my favorite cartoons.
Before 1967, Marvel was not allowed to publish more than 12 comic-book titles a month. Limitations that were lifted by their distributer in 1967. In 1966, Tales Of Suspense and Tales To Astonish each ran two characters in 10 page stories per comic. Iron-Man and Captain America were published in Tales Of Suspense. Hulk and Sub-Mariner were published in Tales To Astonish. They all got their own titles in 1967. Thor was first published in Journey Into Mystery #83. Unfortunately, Thor's first origin story was not animated and the correct chronology starts 2 comics later with the first Loki story from Journey Into Mystery #85. "Journey Into Mystery" had it's title changed to "Thor" at issue #126. One of the episodes in the Thor series is from The Avengers comic. No not Emma Peel, the Marvel comic from the 60s.

The Marvel cartoons were originally 6 mins long each. They were serialized into 3 part episodes. In all but the Hulk dvds of this series, the 6 minute cartoon trilogys have been edited together to make each episode around 18 minutes long. Unfortunately they edit out the 18 seconds of re-caps and title from the beginning of each 2nd and 3rd cartoons in each 3-part episode. Nothing is edited from the stories, so some people may prefer the re-caps and titles out. I had hoped they were edited back in when I bought my 2nd copy of this Thor set. They're not. However, that does not detract from the enjoyment of these cartoons. They have never been released on dvd in the US. I bought an all-region dvd player just for these cartoons. I soon found a treasure trove of Marvel cartoons on PAL dvds that still have not been released in the U.S.

There was a previous release of these Thor dvds in The UK. There is no difference in their content just the menus and case art are different.

The cartoons as they are sequenced on the dvds are not in the correct comic-book chronology. I trust that the dvds have them sequenced in their correct episode numbers, it just wasn't considered to begin with when the cartoons were created or broadcast. Watching them in the correct comic chronology adds to their enjoyment.
The correct Thor chronology is:

Thor#1) Trapped By Loki (JIM # 85-Oct 1962)
Vengeance Of Loki (JIM #85)
Defeat Of Loki (JIM #88-Jan 1963)

Thor#2) Chained Evil (JIM #92-May 1963
Sandu Master of the Supernatural (JIM #91-April 1963)
Enchanted Hammer (JIM #91)

Thor#3)Mysterious Mr. Hyde (JIM #99-Dec 1963)
Revenge of Mr. Hyde
Thor's Showdown with Mr. Hyde (JIM #100-Jan 1964)

Thor#4)The Tomorrow Man (JIM #86-Nov 1962)
Return of Zarko (JIM #101-Feb 1964)
Slave of Tomorrow Man (JIM #102-March 1964)

Thor#5)Battle of the Gods (JIM #103-April 1964)
Enchantress & Executioner (JIM #103)
Giants Walk the Earth (JIM #104-May 1964)

Thor#6)Molto the Lava Man (JIM #97) Oct.1963
Invasion of the Lava Man (Avengers #5 - May 1964)
Living Rock

Thor#7)Every Hand Against Him (JIM #110-Nov 1964)
The Power of the Thunder God (JIM #111-Dec 1964)
The Power of Odin

Thor #8)The Grey Gargoyle (JIM #107)
The Wrath of Odin
Triumph In Stone (JIM #113-Feb 1965)

Thor #9)The Absorbing Man
In My Hands, This Hammer
Vengeance of the Thunder God (JIM #115-Apr 1965)

Thor #10)Trial of the Gods (JIM #116-May 1965)
At the Mercy of the Loki
Return to Earth

Thor #11)To Kill A Thunder God (JIM #118-July 1965)
The Day of the Destroyer (JIM #119-Aug 1965)
Terror of the Tomb

Thor #12)Enter Hercules (JIM #124-Jan 1966)
When Meet Immortals (JIM #125-Feb 1966
Whom the Gods Would Destroy (Thor #126-March 1966)

Thor #13)Victory of Pluto (Thor #128-May 1966)
The Verdict of Zeus (Thor #129-June 1966)
Thunder in the Netherworld (Thor #130-July 1966)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fun dvd, 9 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Mighty Thor - 1966 Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Great dvd if you like the old school marvel. Quite true to some of the older comics I have read. Fun watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thor 1966, 27 Oct 2013
By 
ROBERT A. CORA (canton, ohio usa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mighty Thor - 1966 Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
this dvd of thor is the only cartoon of him it is a must for all thor fans or marvel fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love, Love, Love IT!, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mighty Thor - 1966 Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I bought a lot of these DVDs for Christmas. Me and my partner had great fun watching them! Love all Marvel and all its products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fine, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mighty Thor - 1966 Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Can only say it does what its meant to do what more can you ask of something, no problems here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Mighty Thor - 1966 Complete Series, 6 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Mighty Thor - 1966 Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Was not aware that this was just a sequence of stills with some poor minor animation. Hopeless for kids. Will maybe satisfy some hardcore fan somewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mighty Thor - 1966 Complete Series [DVD]
10.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews