Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars216
3.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 January 2012
This was delivered within a few days, i had it set up and working within about 15mins? the only issue i had was that it showed 7 windows of the xbox on the computer screen but after 5 mins i found out that i needed a dfferent recording setting.

once its all set up.. you start your xbox or ps3 (xbox for me) you hit the capture button (on your computer cd software that comes with the roxio) and your recording! could not be eaiser.. once you have finished you simply choose the other option which is edit. you then chose what clip you want to edit and then you can add transitions, effects picture change.

this is the be substitute to a HDpvr if you cannot afford that.. as you can play in HD as you record.. and although you 'cannot record in HD' you can render and HD upscale any clip through the editor.

well worth the money and highly reccommended!

If you would like to see the quality you can achieve after you edit and upscale the clips you can check my youtube channel which has gameplay of gears of war 3 on it, recorded on my roxio.. - GnGProductionsUK - i will be happy to answer any questions you have :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2014
This was a poor buy. I brought this item as I wanted to record my ps3 footage. My order came on the estimated delivery date but when I unboxed the game capture and used it for the first time it became clear it was a terrible buy. The video jumped and froze when I previewed the end result. It turned a 6 minute video into a 1 minute video. I've returned this item and will be getting an refund.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2012
Its a very good game capturing device for the price. You compare it to a dazzle or a recorder like that and it completely destroys it. The Roxio game capture lets you play in HD even though it does not record in HD which most recorders can't do. It delivers very good quality video but be sure to turn down your audio as it picks it up VERY loud, but really that's no problem at all. If i was going to say buy this or the HD PVR i would say this because there is really not too much difference between the two quality wise accept the PVR obviously is HD but only buy the PVR over the Roxio if you are serious and are famous on Youtube (ect.)
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2012
I purchased this around a year ago and have used it ever since, the setup is really easy (providing you have the appropriate cables) and it is a nice small, stylish box which doesn't take up too much space. i use this for my youtube videos but am looking to upgrade to a HD-PVR as the downside to this product is it only captures standard def and in this modern HD world a standard def capture card will soon become a thing of the past, but this a must have if you are new to capturing games, i would recommend NO OTHER PRODUCT to start out with as i have had nothing but good results from this and the price is excellent compared to other cards of the same quality, the software that comes with the card is excellent and VERY easy and fast to use which is a bonus for all people looking to upload lots of content, another added privilege is no need for a socket as this will run straight from your PC/Laptop, great starter product with excellent results, good quality output and well worth the money, 4*.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2011
To start of with this item came very fast within 18 hours of the initial order, it was bought as a present for me for my birthday. i was originally swayed away from the product due to some reviews that i did not look into, and was going to go for the PVR gaming edition, but being nearly 4x more expensive than this product i decided to go for the roxio. i checked all the comments for low ratings to discover that most of the problems where all user-based and none where product based, the ones that where product based had the Amazon saying they will send a replacement free of charge, most of the reviewers would be using laptops. as i have access to both having testing both laptop and a very high spec gamin PC ( AMD Hexa-core @ 3.5GHz and 8GB DDR3 Ram). the program ran so smooth and capture was crystal clear and audio synced. to dis-miss another user based problem (the audio) their is a tab on the capture application (under the video window) that will mute the sound from your console on the computer but still record the audio, or you could just turn down the volume) When using this program with my laptop (Intel Duo-Core @3.0GHz and 3GB DDR2 RAM) the program was unresponsive and froze my laptop. DONT buy this if you don't intend on using it on a desktop, and also remember the other brands will not work on your laptop either, the software is amazing and simple to use, install takes 5-10 mins and does require a restart. my only negative view is the you-tube upload is limited to either 1028mb or 10 mins length ( you can just upload via browser anyway so this is not a real issue for me ) as for the 100000000% bass increase, when you publish the video, normalize the audio.... it is that simple. i hope this helps in your decision.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2015
This device allow you to capture footage from your Xbox 360 or PS3 to your PC for uploading to YouTube or streaming to sites like Twitch.
Does this device do all the things it claims to above? Yes, but only just. It captures at 480p. Most gaming videos are at least 1080p and YouTube are sure to be the pioneers of 4K quality once 4K hardware becomes more prevalent.
While the quality offered by this device is reasonable for a total newcomer to game capture, it should be viewed as a device aimed at someone who wants to learn how game capture works without spending big.
Similarly, the software that comes with this package is good, but it's not the greatest. Again it's ideal fro a newcomer to pick up the basics of video production. Bare in mind there are better freeware software out there, albeit more advanced, such as Lightworks.
The only reason you should be buying this is if you really can't stretch to the cost of a 1080p capture device as the final footage produced by this device is sure to disappoint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
Bought for my son to use with his Xbox. We have an Xbox 360E and after hours trying to set this up and buying extra cable that is not included we emailed roxio. They confirmed that the product does not work with our Xbox! Would be good to advertise this fact on either Amazon or roxio site and not waste everyone's time and money :(
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2012
A great starter or step up from a cheap vid cap item, easy to use for good quality vids.

These days with people checking out youtube vids on smartphones, tablets, etc who really needs to record in full HD with a PVR??

Plus, add to that the time it takes to render and upload full HD vids, makes the roxio a great choice.

Records in 480 while still playable on TV in 720p or 1080i and I've found that rendering on the DivX Home Theater 848 x 480 setting is more than good enough for the standard and expanded size of window on youtube.

People need to fully check the system specs of what laptop / PC they are planning to run it on first tho, to many urp a durps thinking that they are gonna be able to record with only the basic requirements met
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2014
Couldn't get the device to work with my tv, tried everything!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
I was really hoping that this would be a good review but the hell it is, the installation disc is as helpful as a dog trying to drive
My laptop doesn't read that disc and ONLY that disc and then when you try email roxio it's all pre answered questions you can't speak any real person
So how the hell do I get help.
I have managed to set the box and cables up but that's as far as I've gone with it
Hell they don't even supply you with a proper instruction book invade the disc won't install.
So to sum this crap up, disc won't install, can't speak to any real person and I'm £60 out of pocket
Thanks roxio, your great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 43 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)