Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars13
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 August 2004
This is a great summary of Bollywood music. The first CD covers some of the early big-band tunes, which are jazzy and bluesy. The second CD deals exclusively with funk, and you won't believe that the tunes aren't nicked from Western artists (they aren't). The third CD expresses the unfortunate state of Bollywood today, tacky, cheesy, tunes without distinctive melodies or interesting themes. But this is certainly worth a buy for the first two CDs which I've been listening to for months and months!
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2010
Very good. The 1st 2 CDs of vintage and 70s are probably more to my ear than the last (modern Bollywood). Asha Bhosle also gets most of the songs, though for all I know she may have sung most of the soundtracks. She's very good anyway.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2016
This is a terrific overview of material. It's worth purchasing for the second disc alone, which is a collection of surprisingly heavy funk tracks from the 1970s, written by the likes of RD Burman and Kalyanji-Ananji and mainly sung by Asha Bhosle. The first disc features more traditional material from classic movies, and the third disc features more modern stuff by the likes of AR Rahman. But everything here is really good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2003
This is a great introduction to the fab music of Bollywood's movies. A good selection of the most famous one and a great introduction to the genre. I loved it!
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2016
As a man with no connection to India other than I enjoy Bollywood films and music I found this compilation somewhat surprising and not really what I was looking for. I have really enjoyed Hum Tum, Chalte Chalte, Asoka and Lagaan and wanted to add to my collection. Unfortunately my tastes seem to be focused on the more pure / stereotypical Bollywood pop music, whilst John Lewis has focused more on the world music inspired tracks whilst compiling this collection.

The first CD “Vintage Bollywood” has a lot of latin sounding tunes but also has a run of 3 more traditional tracks in the middle: O Gadiwale [From Mother India], Mohabbat Ki Jhooti Kahani [From Mughal-E-Azam] & Aaj Mausam Bada Beimann Hai [From Loafer]. CD 2 Funky Bollywood is as the name suggests – a lot could feature in Western B Movies from the 70s.

CD 3 Modern Hollywood is much more to my tastes; however it’s still from about Track 5 onwards I listen to, after all the techno tracks. My favourite track Ek Ladki Ko Dekha [From 1942 - A Love Story] is on this disc along with several other more traditionally sounding Bollywood tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2016
Self indulgent,classic.what you would expect v.classy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2012
i wonder who compiles these boxsets?pretty poor selection from the mp3s here.theres so much great tracks from 60/70s and you only get 2/3 on this miserable set here theres gotta be more out there do some more searching before buying this crap.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I bought this collection almost ten years ago and was slightly disappointed with some of the selections in the compilation. Even so, this Beginner's guide to Bollywood is just above average and was not impressed with CD 3. In CD 3, there was only 4-5 good tracks like: "Tujhe Deka To"; "Aye-Dil-e-Nadan"; "Zindagi Jhoom Kar";"Ek Ladki Ko Dekha"& "Ek Pal Ko Jeena".

Overall, the previous 2 CD's Vintage and Funky Bollywood reflected the heyday of Bollywood and the present day "Modern Bollywood" is not the same anymore with many indistinctive tunes and melodies.

It is worth buying for the first two CD's in the collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2015
Really pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
great thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)