Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 89 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lot more to this than meets the eye...
Over thirty years ago, long, long before Sky had tied up new releases and the quality back catalogue, a film fan could educate him or herself through the simple expedient of watching terrestrial tv. Most nights from about 11 pm BBC2 was showing classics of British, world or US cinema. That's how I first stumbled on "Kiss Me Deadly" - a bored teenager flicking through the...
Published on 18 Mar. 2007 by Mr. C. R. Martyr

versus
5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars All style and no substance
I have just watched this film, and although I enjoyed the style and the hard-boiled dialogue, I found the plot incomprehensible. Ralph Meeker is excellent as the rather unpleasant private detective Mike Hammer, but a lot of the performances are wooden and unconvincing, whilst the ending, which probably reflected the paranoia of the fifties, now just seems silly.
Published on 23 Jan. 2011 by P. J. Beasley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

87 of 89 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lot more to this than meets the eye..., 18 Mar. 2007
By 
Mr. C. R. Martyr "Colin Martyr" (Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss Me Deadly [DVD] (DVD)
Over thirty years ago, long, long before Sky had tied up new releases and the quality back catalogue, a film fan could educate him or herself through the simple expedient of watching terrestrial tv. Most nights from about 11 pm BBC2 was showing classics of British, world or US cinema. That's how I first stumbled on "Kiss Me Deadly" - a bored teenager flicking through the very limited range of channels available. That turned out to be one of the most memorable film experiences of my life. Its been called the best film noir ever. Its fair to say that's probably wrong, but misses the point. As a late example (1955) it represents the apogee of film noir and to my mind you really can't begin to understand it until you understand the US in the fifties - affluent and expansive but paranoid and terrified. That's assuming (and this is apparently a matter of debate) that this unique film, and in particular its conclusion, came about in the way the film makers intended.

There's no real point in describing the plot - it's as unfathomable as most of the film noir genre - it's the style that counts. Then, three quarters of the way through, the film throws a real twist at you, leading inexorably to the final beachhouse scene. At that point, conventionality goes out of the window - along with the world and everything else...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Film Noir at it's Deadliest!!, 1 Nov. 2003
By 
S. Notarangelo "red10devil" (Bedford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss Me Deadly [DVD] (DVD)
'Kiss Me Deadly' has to be one of the most exceptional film noirs of cinematic history. If ever there was a crime movie at its toughest, this is it!
Made in 1955 by director Robert Aldrich, this is, with the exception of 'Chinatown' and 'Double Indemnity', THE film noirs to end all film noirs (the film was actually made at the close of the film noir period in Hollywood). Starring a thuggish Ralph Meeker as private investigator Mike Hammer, the story is based on Mickey Spillane's pulp fiction story about a P.I who gets involved with a woman accidently and becomes caught up in events that spiral out of control. The thing that drives the story along is his hunt for the mysterious 'Pandora's Box', an ambiguous object that is only revealed at the end of the film, when Mike's search ends up further than he would have liked.
Shot with crazy, awkward camera angles, and a startlingly vivid opening to the movie, 'KMD' not only summed up what film noir movies were all about, it also influenced a whole generation after it. Even Quentin Tarantino has borrowed from the film, when the glowing briefcase John Travolta opens in 'Pulp Fiction' harks back to the glowing box Mike Hammer opens in this film. And this was a movie shot with a low budget and unrecognisable actors in under three weeks!!
If you're a fan of crime thrillers both old and new, you must purchase 'KMD'. From its beginning to its end (probably one of the best endings ever filmed), this has to be seen to be appreciated. This is one of my favourite films ever because of its striking realism and detail - A MUST BUY!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Thriller, 25 Aug. 2003
This review is from: Kiss Me Deadly [VHS] (VHS Tape)
On the surface this is a well paced thriller from the dangerous days of the cold war. The bad guys and the good guys all play hardball and there's plenty of action on the way to a truly apocalyptic ending.
That's reason enough for watching, but if you look just under the surface there's more. The traditional sex-roles are held up to the light - male "toughness" and female "gentleness" - and both are found wanting in a world that doesn't forgive any mistakes.
Ralp Meeker's Mike Hammer is as close as you'll get to the the nasty original that Mickey Spillane wrote. (You keep thinking "this guy's the hero?".) But the film belongs to Gaby Rodgers, who was never in anything else, but should have got an Oscar for this - wow.
It's in black and white - but so are many of the best movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Noir Bizarre, 29 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss Me Deadly [DVD] (DVD)
`Kiss Me Deadly' is a movie that literally hits the ground running. It combines all the classic elements of delightful noirish photography, biting and clue-laden dialogue, an obscure mystery, a trail of bodies, and a dogged gumshoe. Instead of Bogey or Mitchum we have Ralph Meeker. Although not so familiar, he does a great job as violent, ambivalent anti-hero tinctured with sleeze. After narrowly surviving a murder attempt, he decides to snoop on his own behalf, sniffing out both profit and revenge. The plot is slow and convoluted and gives no hint of what finally transpires. People are scared. People vanish. People die. Nobody wants to talk, but Meeker's Mike Hammer never lets up. After one bizarre little teazer, the story moves forward suddenly, leading to the most astonishing denouement in film-noir history. You are literally left staring at the screen.

A word to the wise: this movie is not easily taken in at a single viewing. Lots of cameos come and go with little or no preamble. I had seen it before I got the DVD, but still found I was missing clues even after the first and second viewing. Give it space to breath.

Its a 1955 movie but visual and aural sound remains unimpaired. Few extras, but at Amazon's bargain price who cares. A naked woman is tortured to death with water-pump pliers; little is seen, but plenty is implied; that plus one or two other points mean that the `12' rating should well be heeded. Otherwise make of it what you will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Low budget noir that aims high, 26 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss Me Deadly [DVD] (DVD)
Spirited Mike Hammer noir thriller that takes you on a very twisty ride. The story is more convolute, more unfollowable than most Philip Marlowe thrillers, and that is saying something. Hammer is ofcourse a different man to Marlowe, more hands on and very streetwise, a blue collar type, ambitious and materialistic and less bothered by his scruples, operating at the lower end of the market. That's not to say he isn't a clever man and good at his work.

L.A. and California are the natural, original and most authentic Film Noir settings, and they are exploited beautifully once again here in KMD. The mix of wealth, crime, desirable women and dangerous men living out swanky lives with one or two secrets to hide is all there, giving alot of work for P.I.s. Hammer takes on a case that is out of the ordinary for him, when he bumps into a troubled woman...make of the rest what you will, but don't expect convention all the way.

Ralph Meeker isn't exactly one of the best known movie actors, and I struggled to think of another film I'd seen him in, but might look out for one or two now to watch. He was fantastic as the no-nonsense shamus with a job to do, a man who faces his adversaries head on and doesn't shy away from the rough stuff. (That's not to say that Marlowe didn't, but he was far less direct and more subtle about it.) Meeker gives his P.I. a fairly macho look and is obviously attractive to the ladies, but Mike Hammer is not a man to get too involved with his females, there is a cool mistrust of them and he handles them all with gloves.

Cool, edgy, slightly trashy feeling Noir, owing mainly to its tight budget, lack of big names and short filming schedule, yet it just feels right as a Noir. And despite little patches of incredibility in the narrative, and the general lack of gloss in production, this film entertains all the way. Aldrich does not hold back either in his direction, he gives the movie an adult feel, which really adds to the Noirness, this is a dark Noir. With the resourses it has, and the tortuous narrative it deploys, it does a fantastic job, and adds something new to the genre. Not a Big Sleep or Touch of Evil maybe, but still not a Noir to be sniffed at.
4.5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Kiss Me Deadly" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues For UK and EUROPEAN Buyers..., 25 Feb. 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Criterion Collection: Kiss Me Deadly [Blu-ray] [1955] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
At present this 1955 Noir favourite is available on BLU RAY in the States and France. But therein lies a problem for UK and European buyers…

The US issue is REGION-A LOCKED - so it WILL NOT PLAY on most UK Blu Ray players unless they're chipped to play ‘all’ regions (which the vast majority aren't). Don’t confuse BLU RAY players that have multi-region capability on the ‘DVD’ front – that won’t help. The French issue (which will play on our machines) seems to have disappeared or been deleted...

Until such time as this 1955 black and white classic is given a Region B release by someone else – check your player has the capacity to play REGION A before you plum to buy the expensive Criterion issue…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yesterday I was looking for a thread, today I'm looking for a piece of string., 15 Nov. 2013
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss Me Deadly [DVD] (DVD)
Mike Hammer is driving down a dark highway when a half naked blonde forces him to stop, this event sends Hammer spiralling on a journey that may have a cataclysmic consequence for all involved.

Kiss Me Deadly is a harsh movie, it contains an array of characters that are dislikable in the extreme, nobody can be trusted, and everyone on the surface appears to be selfish in their respective motivations. Taking in torture, murder, violence on tap, and a wonderful mystery plot, it's not hard to see why the film has gained a massive reputation as the years have rolled by, where although it's brutish in substance, the film is a damn riveting piece of work.

Ralp Meeker is excellent as Hammer, a character who refuses to lay down, he gets knocked down constantly, but he gets back up tougher than before, he becomes the kind of hard boiled guy who hits first and then asks questions later. The direction from Robert Aldrich is perfect, off- kilter camera work drags the viewer into this skew-whiff world that Hammer has entered, and we often only see shots of the bad guys torsos so as to make them faceless thugs. It's down right aggressive film making that hits the requisite thriller mark.

Kiss Me Deadly has influenced many others since its release, be it Repo Man or Pulp Fiction, its impact is still being felt today. Containing a much talked about ending (both the restored and alternate endings work on differing levels to many), it's a film that leaves things up for discussion and debate, but what we do know for sure is that it's explosive and crowns what is now firmly established as a crime classic from the film noir splinter of film making styles. 8.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paranoid, 25 Dec. 2011
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss Me Deadly [DVD] (DVD)
An odd bleak film that bridges the genres from film noir to red scare. This was another of those movies that was produced in the wake of dropping the bomb and the fear it was going to be used again.

It begins as a film noir and then gradually shifts and the plot creaks under the weight as there are so many holes it begins to lose its credibility. However the scenes in between would rake in any viewing audience, as Mike Hammer hits them hard and also takes the beatings.

Sleak beautiful European open topped sport cars are his fancy, his secretary prostitutes herself so he can fleece the rich and Mike hammers them for the money to keep quiet. This is another amoral tale as people around Christina the woman who appears at the beginning become morgue stiffs as the film progreses.

Shot in peculiar, non conventional angles, full of noir shadows, this plays the surreal card to the full tilt. There is no redemption along the way, as the roles that are played, are just that, decoys in a tough world.

This is worth a look as it offers no love buddy cliche, only alcohol and a desire to be flash at all costs. This epitomised America after the economic "depression" cleared but people still had the hangover.

If you can suspend the plot gaps, this film says something about the state of mind of the 50 States in the 1950's. Scary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Archetype setting 50s noir, 13 Jun. 2010
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kiss Me Deadly [DVD] (DVD)
Tense, violent noir. Mike Hammer picks up woman wandering on desert road, gets caught in plot that leads to a stolen nuclear bomb. Some great shots, and a lot of 50s noir archetypes were set by this film. The ending is a bit silly and symbolically heavy handed at the same time, and some of the performances are over-the-top, but it's certainly enjoyable. Some critics consider it a masterpiece. I find that a stretch. But I did like it better on 2nd viewing, so maybe I'll return to it yet again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard Boiled film noir, 26 Oct. 2010
By 
J. Whitfield (durham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kiss Me Deadly [DVD] (DVD)
Hard boiled film noir from the 50's. Bought for three and a half quid. It was well spent. The movie drags a bit at the start but motors along smoothly once Mike Hammer starts getting nasty. I'll let you make out what you will of the plot but like many film noir's before it the plot is confusing and filled with why's and where's. I don't believe it's the best film noir to date. That title belongs to Double Indemnity but it does rate up there with some of the best. Ralph Meeker does a fine job playing tough Private Eye Mike Hammer. I think he would have done a great job playing Philip Marlowe. Only Bogart and Dick Powel have really pulled that off in The Big Sleep and Farewell My Lovely respectively. Overall an enjoyable hour an 40 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews