Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immensely enjoyable - a humane central character
Having recently enjoyed the debut novel featuring Joe Pickett I have decided to work my way through the series. Whilst the plot may not be as complex or challenging as other American crime/thriller writers there is something innately charming about the principal character, Joe, and his family. In many respects Joe Pickett is not the quickest of thinkers when it comes to...
Published on 11 Mar 2011 by D. P. Mankin

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fundamentally flawed
I was attracted to the Joe Pickett series due to the quotes on the sleeve from Michael Connelly. An endorsement from my favourite author was enough to try CJ Box.

CJ Box writes in an appealing easy to read style. Joe Pickett is a likeable main character and the story in Savage Run is reasonable. To be classed as a crime thriller there needs to be some kind of...
Published on 5 Feb 2012 by S. Shaw


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immensely enjoyable - a humane central character, 11 Mar 2011
By 
D. P. Mankin (Ceredigion, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Savage Run (Paperback)
Having recently enjoyed the debut novel featuring Joe Pickett I have decided to work my way through the series. Whilst the plot may not be as complex or challenging as other American crime/thriller writers there is something innately charming about the principal character, Joe, and his family. In many respects Joe Pickett is not the quickest of thinkers when it comes to detective work (but then he is a game warden) but he has a dogged determination to seek out the truth, regardless of the consequences. His wife Marybeth describes him on page 140/1 as being too trusting in others and not cynical enough at times. He is a marvellously warm and humane individual whose honesty and integrity shine through. The setting (Wyoming) provides a marvellous backdrop to the story and is a welcome change to Los Angeles, New York or Boston. The story is also inextricably linked to this context and provides a glimpse into a way of life that rarely features in this genre. It is this which enhances the quality of the plot. You find yourself rooting for Joe because you want the good guy to come out on top. And just as in the debut novel Joe eventually pieces everything together; although in this story he has to contend with the Savage Run - but you'll have to buy the book to find out exactly what this is. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Savage Run, 30 Aug 2011
By 
D. Jones (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Savage Run (Joe Pickett series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is the second in a set of books that involve the character Joe Pickett. I haven't read the first book yet but that didn't really matter. Things which happened in the first book are alluded to in this story but they don't leave you feeling like you have missed out on important information as often happens with sequels.

Joe Pickett, the central character, is lucky enough to live and work in the beautiful Wyoming wilderness as a Game Warden. Throughout the book we are treated to wonderful descriptions of the landscape, animals and people which really help to add depth and perspective to the story .

Joe lives a fulfilling life with his wife Marybeth and his three beautiful daughters. One night he receives a call to investigate an incident that possibly involves game animals but he ends up in the midst of what initially looks to be a horrific accident. It seems that an active environmentalist and his wife were killed by an exploding cow!! (it does make sense when you read the story). However, as the story progresses it seems things are not as straightforward as they first appeared. Joe finds himself drawn further and further into the investigation and as a result he unintentionally ends up in a precarious and life threatening situation.

This is a well written book, exactly what you would expect from an author of this calibre. C.J. Box really draws you into the characters in this story giving you a detailed insight into their lives and feelings and you can't help but want things to turn out well for Joe and his family.

I absolutely loved this book, it was so easy to read and I just could not put it down for more than a few minutes at a time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Series improving but still wooden hero, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Savage Run (Paperback)
For some reason I started reading Joe Pickett #2 after reading #1 (Open Season)and finding it not very good. I wanted to see how it was possible to write so many books about this game warden when the first one I read turned out to be lacking in almost all aspects.

Well, number two "Savage Run" is better. There is more story and more things are happening. We have a number of bad guys and Joe Pickett finds himself in a very complicated situation. In the end it all turns out quite well but more by chance and bad/good luck than by what our hero does.

There is still a lot of focus on the environment and how fantastic Wyoming is. It is almost as if the story itself is second to this. But the story is much better crafted than in the first book and it is not as easy to see the ending as in Open Season.

Unfortunately Joe Pickett is still a character I have a hard time liking. He is quiet, has no humor and no interests outside of his work. Appears to have no friends. Have a tendency to blush when people talk to him and seams to "loose" any conversation due to his inability to find words or counterpoints. The Man is boring and a very unusual hero of a book. He is a great family man and father but why push him into the role of crime fighter?

Anyway, this one was an improvement and the story was well crafted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Udder Success, 17 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Savage Run (Joe Pickett series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
CJ Box provides another belting tale about Game Warden Joe Pickett. He's like Colombo in cowboy gear - grabs hold and won't let go until he's worked it out.

This unusual little tale begins with the death of an eco-celebrity and his wife, blown up by a cow saddled with explosives. Joe is not convinced that cows explode all by themselves and is immediately thrust into the middle of a secret society versus eco-warrior battle. Things come to a head when Joe's wife is contacted by the deceased eco-warrior, or at least someone may be pretending to be him.

I won't spoil the story, just be aware that there are lots of action set-pieces, chases, gunfights and more cows with a methane problem. This novel just did not want to be put down until I'd finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasing environmental adventure thriller, 27 Jan 2011
By 
Maxine Clarke "Maxine of Petrona" (Kingston upon Thames, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The second novel about Wyoming game warden Joe Pickett not only meets the standard of the first, Open Season, but exceeds it. This series is shaping up to be highly readable. Savage Run has a simpler, leaner plot, without an element of "whodunnit" suspense, and without Joe's children taking centre stage. The theme is (again) environmentalists versus ranchers/landowners, this time the environmentalists concerned are those who create a lot of publicity for their cause by breaking the law or protesting volubly. One of them, for example, attempts to fly a plane full of wolves from Canada to Wyoming, in order to reintroduce these animals into their "natural environment".

The author does not take sides, though his evident love for the land and its natural resources are very clear, and represented by his simple, direct hero Joe. Joe is perpetually torn between his instinctive sympathy for those in his community who are increasingly struggling to make ends meet as the land is bought out by rich corporations or magnates, and his strong disapproval of those who break the law he is employed to enforce, for example by hunting or fishing out of season.

In Savage Run, extremist environmentalists are being ruthlessly targeted in various parts of the country. Joe and one of them, an entertaining (though initially irritating) character who turns out to have a previous friendship with Joe's wife Marybeth, find themselves in an unlikely alliance, being pursued across the ravines and mountains by an adversary who seems to be a reincarnation of the legendary Tom Horn. Unfortunately there is some violence, but toned down compared with the first novel - I hope the start of a trend.

I found this novel to be pleasantly engaging, telling a good story in an undemanding fashion. I liked the moral message and the small but important domestic dilemmas that Joe, a rather serious-minded character, constantly faces. His struggle to become accepted by the community in which he lives seems to be destined to failure, given his policing role - which he carries out with an assiduousness not shared by the sheriff or with other authority figures.

This novel was first published in the USA in 2002, and is being published in the UK later this year (2011) by Corvus, together with the others in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars new author!, 6 May 2011
This review is from: Savage Run (Paperback)
I was looking for a new author to read and saw CJ Box books while looking through Amazon. I've now read 3 of his books , his character is a game warden called Joe Pickett. He's an ordinary sort of guy who just happens to come across murdered people! Very enjoyable reads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fundamentally flawed, 5 Feb 2012
By 
S. Shaw (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Savage Run (Joe Pickett series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I was attracted to the Joe Pickett series due to the quotes on the sleeve from Michael Connelly. An endorsement from my favourite author was enough to try CJ Box.

CJ Box writes in an appealing easy to read style. Joe Pickett is a likeable main character and the story in Savage Run is reasonable. To be classed as a crime thriller there needs to be some kind of twist.

I can't help feeling that Joe Pickett is fundamentally flawed as a character though. He's a game warden not a detective of an FBI agent. I just think that it's implausible that he would be left to investigate what he does.

I felt the same after reading Open Season. For this reason, I can't see me trying any more of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Savage Run (Joe Pickett series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Typical Joe Pickett at his very best - great read with nice twists - I just couldn't put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking, 22 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Savage Run (Joe Pickett series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I read this second book featuring Joe Pickett close on the heels of the first story, Open Season. Both were a cracking read and I have warmed so much to the main character - Joe - that I can't wait to read the remaining titles. I enjoy a good thriller but these are a bit different to the usual US fare I've read. Joe is a game warden in Wyoming, an ordinary guy with an ordinary family. A 'straight as a die' unwilling hero who has principles and just has to follow them even though it may not be in his own best interests. It's refreshing to read something with such a different setting and with the central character as a pretty normal fella, not the indestructible superheroes we are usually expected to believe in. Savage Run was an improvement on Open Season and as Joe's character develops I'm expecting greater things than ever from C J Box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Savage Run (Joe Pickett series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book as are all this authors . Can't wait to get into next one . Love his characters and mode of writing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews