Customer Reviews


148 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


86 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy it. It's just a different view.
This is a really nice, warm rendition of some of her older songs. I'm not too bothered that some of the interpretations aren't too far away from the originals. But what this record has done, is allowed me to reconsider songs that I never really understood first time round, and haven't listened to for a long time.

For instance, I never really got 'song of...
Published on 14 Sept. 2011 by Bruce Percy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm really trying but ....
I've listened to the directors cut quite a few times and much as I adore kate bush and all her albums it simply doesn't do it for me. As some other reviewers have said the originals sound so much better to me despite the 80's/90's production
On certain songs like moments of pleasure and rubberband girl she redid the songs to make them an alternative version, most of...
Published 13 days ago by David White


‹ Previous | 110 11 1215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars She really should have left them alone, 29 May 2011
By 
P Treneary (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Director's Cut (Audio CD)
As a bit of a Kate Bush 'completist', I found this irresistible to pass over. However, whilst it's an interesting idea, especially as the tracks came from what are pretty well agreed to be her weakest albums, this is passable at best and, at worst, some of the tracks jar terribly if you approved of the originals.
I'm not sure how KB felt this was an updating of her work as many of the tracks, which felt fine before, now sound either terribly dated or they'll date very quickly. And seriously, if you were updating the sound then change the bass - who uses a fretless one these days?! (for the record, I actually love the sound of a fretless bass).
I can't honestly say there's one track that will remain on my system - however all the originals will. One recommendation is not to listen to the (originally strangely beautiful) 'Deeper Understanding' - maybe it's because I've not given it a chance yet but I find it to be such a blot on the original as to be impossible to listen to. I think I need to listen to the simply marvellous disc 2 of Aerial to wipe several renditions from my mind until I feel brave enough to give the rest of the album another go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not this woman's best work..., 14 Sept. 2011
By 
R. Muir "fabricationsHQ" (Prestwick, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Director's Cut (Audio CD)
Director's Cut, from Kate Bush, is the singer songwriter's first new album since Aerial back in 2005.
New album, but not new material...
The album contains eleven tracks from her albums The Sensual World (1989) and The Red Shoes (1993), but featuring new lead vocals, drums (by Steve Gadd) and further additional or reworked instrumentation.

Some of the songs are completely new recordings however, including one of her finest ever pieces 'This Woman's Work.'

The song 'The Sensual World' has been completely reworked and is now titled 'Flower of the Mountain.'

Director's Cut is intriguing, interesting and certainly one of the more imaginative re-recordings of original/ earlier material that many artists seem to be doing these days. But even as a major Kate Bush fan I would have to say it's not indispensable.

For every song worth a re-invented re-listen such as the aforementioned 'Flower' or the almost Rolling Stones-esque treatment of 'Rubberband Girl,' there are others that don't bring anything new to the table, even through they bring something new to the table.
If you see what I mean.

But nearly thirty-five years after her debut album Kate Bush remains a creative talent and much of her re-recorded work is more interesting than the musically manufactured new material of many a current chart-artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars what a missed oppertunity, 21 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Director's Cut (Audio CD)
as a big Kate bush fan was hoping this cd would add rather than subtract from her work. Some of the reworkings are no where near as good as the originals, some are absolutely awful. The odd one I can see that it has improved the track. However on the whole a missed oppertunity what a waste of her talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Constipated artist!, 2 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Director's Cut (Audio CD)
She really needs to get out more. My guess is that Kate's much mentioned desire for a quiet life away from the 'show' end of the business, has caused her to spend too much time ruminating on the ghosts of Christmas past, and not exposing herself (and her inner artist)to new thoughts and ideas. Its the inability to move on that is disappointing to those of us who appreciate her individuality. Kate may wish to investigate the same naval fluff twenty or thirty years on, but for me the changed lyrics and the style of delivery sounded like the ramblings of a stoner after a late night. Work with some new people who are willing to say 'let go' please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Director's Cut (Audio CD)
i was there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cant get enough of Kate, 4 May 2014
By 
Mr. P. Richardson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Director's Cut (Audio CD)
This album is a collection of remixes or variations as kate would have liked them of songs you have already heard. nothing hugely new here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Feb. 2015
By 
Steven E. Davies (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Director's Cut (Audio CD)
genius
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oscar, 21 May 2011
By 
This review is from: Director's Cut (Audio CD)
Kate Bush exaggerates.
Six years have passed since the shock of "Aerial" and here she is providing us with, as a new album, the re-recording (lifting?) of a selection of tracks from "The Sensual World" (1989) and "The Red Shoes "(1993).

Kate Bush exaggerates.
Where some will for sure see the opportunism of the artist out of fuel who would recycle things to make something new out of something old (and consider what oldies we are talking about here... no less than "The Sensual World", that is probably "the" other one greatest album by Bush with "Aerial" -IMHO, that will not share the lovers unconditional of "The Dreaming", who consider that the latter is THE Kate Bush album of all times, these people being a majority in my country in France - a real mystery to me!) this "Sensual World" being one of her career's most experimental bewitching weddings with talent and genius, because of introduction of the Trio Bulgarka, and for that reason appearing in a statue of legend and therefore seemed to be untouchable... God knows that the same comment could definitely not apply to the other revisited album here, i.e "The Red Shoes", which was received badly when released, and judged as being a mess by most of the critics, and undisputably not their favorite Bush effort by so many among her followers)... In the same sort of idea, where those who misunderstand the artist's path might suspect her of having yielded to the temptation of easy Pound, well... Kate Bush is just affording the ultimatte luxury to offer (again!) an album of magic and wonder -and a masterpiece.

Kate Bush exaggerates.
Because this new delivery succeeds precisely, with (among others) the new versions of "This Woman's Work" and "Moments of Pleasure", in giving even an additional density to these two gems -which seemed impossible to achieve, however, since the original versions were so plain gorgeous.

It is also probably no coincidence that these two titles follow each other in this "Director's Cut ". Especially on "Moments", the solemnity and peacefulness that provides Kate Bush's current tonality of voice make indeed here two new songs out of two monuments (we can witness a more serious tone, more mature, almost greedy and lingering one might say, with respect to this extraordinary instrument that she displayed throughout her years of emergence, which, on many tracks, evoked more the flavor of an acid dayglow sweet than a mellow liquor).

For those who consider that "This Woman's Work" and "Moments of Pleasure" are two of the greatest songs ever written by Kate Bush (and ever written as a whole in general), the journey of discovery here might be problematic and will be disconcerting.
Basically (and quite basically, I insist), one could shrug and think that this 2011's effort is by no means essential.
At first listening anyway.
But the more these are renewed, and the more obvious it appears to the ear that someting here is just plainly and simply "magnifique" -and wonderful.

Quite subtly different from what was expressed in the original recordings, though.
But unquestionably equally beautiful.
It is particularly noteworthy and obvious with the "Humming" replacing, in "Moments of Pleasure", the recurring climax-chorus of origin (that almost-scream-of-the-heart, emotionally devastating, that characterized the structure of the 1993 version).
Where Kate Bush roared beautifully then, she now murmurs "magifiquement", inducing and therefore suggering more than saying litterally, giving weight and depth to all these murmured new dots of pure emotion that inscribe her phrasing here, and the choices that she made -a director's cut, indeed.

Without a doubt, "Aerial" has been there before, these "Moments of Pleasure" is the box for a jewel of a voice, fuller and deeper than it was in the past, a past which made that song being born and drove the so great artist-musician-composer-performer and magician that Kate Bush is to revisiting today some older compositions -an interpretation, if one considers the simple sublime piano accompaniment in "Moments", which reminds of the no less sublime "A Coral Room" from "Aerial" -which is not little to say.

Thus, these two new versions say a lot about the artist's unique journey, an artist whose talent, creativity and maturity are here, once again, to the pinnacle.

In the end, would it really be necessary to be choosy before one or two songs in that 2011 selection, where the creative and emotional efforts do not seem to be as fundamentally innovative or interesting as elsewhere?
Probably not, so we leave the choice open to each to issuing one's own verdict.

In my own humble case, my only regret (and this is certainly not "Rubberband Girl" -mostly and generally desavowed by French fans, I hear, in this "Director's Cut" delivery), whose heavy ragged guitar riffs I somehow liked immediately because of the very nostalgic flavour from the late "Seventies" that they raised, back to the good old days of "Theatrical Glam Rock" that Bush was a prominent promoter of, along with the likes of David Bowie, through her unique 1979 Tour. This new orchestration keeps that song away from the anedoctical, heavy and passé Eighties arrangements of the original "Red Shoes" output -my only regret thus being more about the (already agressive, tangled, scattered and abrupt original version in my view) "Top of the City" track, a song which would have welcomely benefited from a calmer and barer sound here, but does keep all the defects of the somewhat messy original version without bringing any real additional charm or improvement.

But to this minor reserve, I shall finally say to conclude (and this just in case one would have missed the point yet...), that yes, Kate Bush does exaggerate: Whatever she does, she surprises, she invents, and above all she challenges our senses and moves our hearts.

And ultimately, where she seems to be exaggerating the most is when she refuses to do so more than every five/ten years.
And to this ultimate exaggeration, only one possible remedy appears possible, something that I am sure that at least no fans will disagree with (!), and that will raise a general consensus : an album with new compositions is required.

And as soon as possible s'il vous plaît, Madame-the-Director-with-Bewitched-Scissors.
And there's nothing exaggerated here as a request -n'est-ce pas?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars review, 14 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Director's Cut (Audio CD)
As of yet not.had chance to learn to it but I'm sure it will be okay . It arrived in stated tome given and was good price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some Moments That I've Had, 23 May 2011
By 
Martin Gayford (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Director's Cut (Audio CD)
Reaction to this release seems to partly depend on how much you liked the original albums, and for me it's an odd collection because The Sensual World is one of my favourites of hers (The Dreaming is another), and yet I hardly ever listened to The Red Shoes at all (the one song I do know from that album is Moments Of Pleasure, which is a beautiful song and here is more beautiful than it was originally). The result for me is an album of what sound like Sensual World outtakes mixed with what may as well be mostly new material. Personally, I don't see a reason to attempt to improve any of the SW songs, so the odd aspect of this album is that it seems partly unnecessary. They're pleasant, and I really like the vocoder on Deeper Understanding, but I still prefer the album. Conversely, there seems plenty of scope for improvement on TRS, so those tracks - particularly Rubberband Girl and Moments Of Pleasure - are a real treat. In my itunes library, Rubberband Girl is followed by Sat In Your Lap and they work well together. I hope there's more stuff in that spirit on the next album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 1215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Director's Cut
Director's Cut by Kate Bush (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews