Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely hooked!!!!
I bought this box set without previously watching a single episode on the TV. It came up as a recommendation through buying 'Eureka' and 'Warehouse 13' DVD's.

I have to say - WELL RECOMMENDED AMAZON!!! I've only watched the Pilot episode and the following two episodes and I'm totally hooked!!! Fringe is great!!! Weird, clever, grisly, sometimes witty, very...
Published on 28 Sept. 2011 by moggymidge

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad menu
I suppose it's a good program but the menu is awful there is no way to access an individual episode without having to watch them all in one go I feel if they cannot be bothered to make a decent menu screen then I can't be bothered to watch this on blu ray feel let down wouldn't recommend.
Published on 9 July 2012 by surfer one


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely hooked!!!!, 28 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fringe Season 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this box set without previously watching a single episode on the TV. It came up as a recommendation through buying 'Eureka' and 'Warehouse 13' DVD's.

I have to say - WELL RECOMMENDED AMAZON!!! I've only watched the Pilot episode and the following two episodes and I'm totally hooked!!! Fringe is great!!! Weird, clever, grisly, sometimes witty, very well acted, filmed and produced.

I know I've got so much to look forward to in the rest of Seasons 1-3, and having found out there's a Season 4 too.....!!!!

ps I've never made a comment on Amazon before but I'm enjoying 'Fringe' so much, I felt compelled!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great series but no Blu-Ray menu, 30 Nov. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I agree with all the accolades heaped upon this series by the other reviewers, but astonishingly, the blu-ray discs come with no menu to choose a particular episode, and there are 4 episodes per disc. There is a menu to choose extras such as commentary and how the episode was made, but you can't actually choose any particular episode. The disc, once loaded and you've watched the Federal piracy warning, plunges straight into the first episode.

Fortunately it's easy enough to navigate through the disc as each episode has about 5 scenes and you can scroll through them pretty quickly, but it's an incredible oversight on part of the publishers of the disc not to provide the means of choosing episode and scenes.

I thought it might be my Panasonic blu-ray player that wasn't picking up the menu, but I have another player in a different room, and that was unable to find a menu as well.

If you must have blu-ray (and the picture and sound is great) then you will have to live with this limitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracks me up, 23 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fringe Season 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
I have to say, this show really does crack me up.

It's supposed to be a "serious" show involving science solving some unusual occurrances, but the slight humour injected into it does make me chuckle. The cow in the lab really does get a laugh out loud moment, especially when one of the characters wants to feed is strawberries so that they can have strawberry milkshake! Priceless.

The story itself sees two worlds occupying the same space at the same time, and for all intents of purposes, vaguely aware of the other world. It's a fun game then to "spot the differences", such as the alternative world using airships instead of planes, the twin towers still standing, the advent of an ID controlled society, and the absence of the FBI (instead the MOD Fringe Division). The show will take us to missing balconies causing the guests on it to plumet to the ground, disappearing items, ghosts (or alternative world counterparts), plane crashes, people imprisoned in amber nectar for eternity, a cool way to rob a bank, and how a family reacts when dark secrets revealed.

I just hope they go onto a fourth season (and with this product NOT being called "Complete" is a very good sign indeed.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 7 Jan. 2012
By 
W. Beckett (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well having not seen a single episode, I thought I'd go by recommendations alone and buy this 3 series blu-ray box set. Now I'm glad I did. This is obviously the X-files of the 21st Century but without the thus far outstayed welcome of that mentioned series just turning the brain to mush. Initially I was a little dubious of the first few episodes of Fringe - wondering if it had legs - but do please stick with it. Niggling questions do get answered and pieces of the clever story arch do all start to fall into place with a great interaction and warmth between the characters. John Noble in particular deserves special praise in maintaining a very haunted man caught in the constant battle between madness and genius.
Yes on face value, some of the plots do sound outlandish and utterly absurd on paper, but the series is executed in such an entertaining and intriguing way that you do just end up accepting such off-the-wall weirdness within the context of this Fringe universe.
There's also enough of a mix and match with stories from the 'other universe' to constantly keep things both reinvented and shook up. In otherwords. this series still hasn't hit that exhausted phase of looking jaded and exhausted with itself. There's still life left in the series yet...
As for the Blu-Rays themselves, the Hi-def picture is excellent. No grain at all! However, take note: It is curious that series 1 has no Menu section on the discs unless you hunt for them. The episodes just jump straight in. The second series is also very sparse on cover information, plus one episode - Episode 11 called Unearthed is skipped to pop up as an extra on the very last disc. And series 3, gives you a menu for the other discs, when of course you can't view them on the disc you're currently viewing??? Of course some might say these are sloppy oversights, but I get the feeling they are deliberate. Things to slighty vex and throw things slightly off kilter and off balance to the actual tone of the series... When I also paused on the main titles I accidentally caught 'The Observers are here.' written up. When of course on normal play you can't read this. So, all part of some disconcerting subliminal mind games eh? Maybe the producers also planted 'this show is great?' within the programme, but I don't think they need too. With diverse story lines and constant hooks it just is... The only real overlooked flaw is the episode 'White Tulip.' Where once again a Time Traveller can also apparently shift in space without any explaination? However, now that I've mentioned it, perhaps the writers could work it into a future story to do just that! Ha...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What else is there to watch on TV?, 5 Jan. 2012
Watching Fringe has restored my faith in network (ABC, CBS, FOX, NBC, CW and the like) television. Just when I thought smart, sophisticated, mind-bending television couldn't be found without cable, I discovered Fringe!

This show will absolutely suck you in and won't let go until you've had repeated viewings, annoyed your friends by how much you talk about the show, and left you in withdrawals until the next season begins.

Additionally, it's made all the better in this blu-ray release with tons of great bonus content and the picture and audio are beyond reproach!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FROM STRENGTH TO STRENGTH, 30 May 2012
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fringe Season 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
An outstanding boxed set with over 40 hours of viewing, at its heart how a scientist's love for his son sets two parallel universes on collision course.

Season 1 introduces Walter Bishop, troubled genius - for seventeen years in a mental institution, unable to cope following his controversial experiments aimed at extending the boundaries of knowledge. Children had been used as guinea pigs. Now he is urgently needed to investigate bizarre events perhaps linked to those early projects. Brilliant in the laboratory, hopeless at dealing with life's practicalities, he needs round the clock minding - long estranged Peter very reluctantly obliged to assist. Also key to success is Olivia, one of those former childen, she with special powers.

Season 1 grips with intriguing (and gory) cases reminiscent of "The X Files", "Supernatural" and other such series the Americans do so well. Season 2 stuns with revelations of Walter's great secret, the rash deed destined to threaten all life. Focus increases on that parallel universe, developments in the dual worlds to dominate Season 3. Here is a chance for key actors to extend their range as versions of their characters evolve differently - John Noble superb as both shambling Walter and the mercilessly manipulating "Walternate".

Included in the mix are mysterious bald observers seemingly monitoring events, not to mention puzzling references to The First People, who apparently existed before dinosaurs. What are they about? All the way twists and turns genuinely surprise, Peter in particular to be tested to the full. That ever-changing relationship between Walter and Peter at times proves very moving indeed.

Certain other series wobbled, a few coming to grief, simply because of an insufficiently firm overall hand. "Fringe", in contrast, appears to know exactly where it is heading, with an ever-increasing feeling of unavoidable doom - this very worrying as both universes deserve to exist.

I cannot pretend I understood everything, especially with shapeshifters around (very confusing, that lot!), but I was gripped throughout. Great scripts, spectacular effects, a talented cast making the most of challenging opportunities. Worth exploring are the bonuses, including Season 2's helpful 25 minute feature on the thinking behind various storylines.

In short, terrific.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Show, 3 Nov. 2014
By 
S. Broadbent "cyberspaceexpress" (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Fringe is an unusual but brilliant Sci-Fi show.
It tells the story of a small unit within the F.B.I called Fringe division.
Here they deal with very rare unexplainable events that stretch the imagination.
Olivia Dunham played by Anna Torv decides to seek help in the form of a disgraced scientist, Walter Bishop who resides in an insane asylum. She can only get his help with the assistance of his son, Peter Bishop and so the team comes together.
They reopen Walter’s old basement laboratory, complete with a cow in the corner.
Fringe has a story running throughout the series as well as individual episodes. The series concludes in the final episode of the last series and completes the show perfectly.
It is weird, with dark comedy, exciting action, and it has a few frightening moments as well.
Great, innovative writing, wonderful acting and a different approach to Sci-fi make this an unbeatable combination.
I doubt you’ll be disappointed.
Fantastic show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly absorbing, 17 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fringe Season 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
Every once in a while, a sci-fi show comes along that just....gets it right. Pretty much all the time. Like Firefly, or Battlestar Galactica. Now, all three of these shows have their flaws (particularly the final season of Galactica), but they are the kind that as a sci-fi fan I am more than willing to forgive due to the overwhelmingly well-written stories and characters.

To me, sci-fi/fantasy crosses like Fringe, or Firefly, or Balactica, aren't about the setting - I mean, yeah, space battles and sentient machines and a secret ninja-girl that the Alliance Government would really like back are all awesome too; but they're window-dressing. Sci-fi, to me, is all about the people. The characters, and how they interact with each other. Their individual stories and struggles.

This is where Fringe really shines. It would be tempting to put Olivia, the central character, centre-stage, and make the rest of her team - Peter, Walter, Astrid, Col. Broyles and Nina Sharp - no more than 2-dimensional cardboard cut-outs whose machinations only serve to advance the plot. In Fringe, each character is unique, and has their own motivations for doing what they do, the way that they do it. It's wonderful.

So, Olivia Dunham is an FBI agent whose life is turned upside-down and inside-out when she learns that there are events going on around her that just aren't normal. She gets involved with a department that investigates these weird happenings in Season 1 - a department known simply as Fringe Division.

To help her, she recruits Walter - a scientific genius who's been locked up in a mental asylum for almost 20 years, and Walter's son Peter - the archetypal charming rogue, rakish and charismatic, but essentially a criminal. And boy, can you just smell the daddy issues!

Season 1 is a bit tropey - most episode plots involve making excuses to pump Olivia full of mind-altering drugs and then put her in an isolation tank so she can trip her brains out in the pursuit of her dead lover - and in the pursuit of answers to questions she never thought she'd ask. Sounds barmy, but the strong characterisation and some sterling script-writing make it somehow believable enough to watch.

Anna Torv is incredible as Olivia - it's a fine line to walk between being a woman, FBI agent, and a sexual being and not become a complete stereotype. But she manages it, and admirably. She's human, she's flawed, and she's incredibly watchable.

But my favourite character personally is Walter Bishop, played by the incredible John Noble. He steals every scene he's in, and his, often unsuccessful, attempts to bond with his angry, distant sun, make for some of Season 1's most touching moments. He sees the world very differently, and Walter is one of the best portrayals of living with a mental illness in at least the last decade - it's up there with the Sopranos.

Joshua Jackson is also very good as Peter Bishop, and I can't leave out Jasika Nicole, who plays Astrid Farnsworth, or Blair Brown, who plays the altruistic Nina Sharp.

All in all, Fringe is something along the lines of the X-Files meets the Twilight Zone, with Bones or CSI-style gore, some sharp scriptwriting and a cast of talented actors playing compellingly watchable people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sci-Fi at its Best!, 25 Jan. 2012
By 
Hasan Eldeeb - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fringe is one of the best Sci-Fi TV series I've ever seen.

Not only was it co-created by J.J. Abrams (co-creator of Lost), it has an excellent cast and everything about this show is big budget.
The characters are all very interesting and grow on you. There is a deep mythology to the show and each season reveals more and more. Highly recommended. If you like Sci-Fi you will love this.

The Blu-rays could have had better menus, the first 2 seasons go right into the episodes without taking you to a menu first. The third season adds a menu and the audio quality is improved. Overall, the audio and video quality of all 3 seasons is very good, especially for a TV show.

The packaging is decent, the cases for each season are not too bad. My only complaint is the box holding the 3 seasons, it's very flimsy and feels cheap.

I have yet to check out the special features but from what I can tell there are enough. It looks like on each season there are a few episodes with audio commentaries and some special features, deleted scenes, etc.

To wrap this up, if you like Sci-Fi, give this amazing show a chance. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cross between the X Files and Doctor Who, 27 Dec. 2012
By 
J. Lyne (Forres, Morayshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this series. As a fan of both the X Files and Doctor Who you can see where the writers have drawn heavily from both to create a series which is both fun and also very well produced.

The acting is very good - particularly from the Dr Bishop who shines throughout as both a comedic and tragic character. Sadly Leonard Nimoy is a bit of a let down but he only appears infrequently. The quality of the picture is very good on Blu Ray and the few extra pounds are worth it if you have the money and the equipment.

The stories develop from the first season where you have the standard X Files type of episodes featuring a monster or incident and not much back story to the second and third seasons where the back story becomes more important. And a little harder to follow. However there are enough twists and turns to make it worth following and the re watch value is very good.

High production values and excellent acting, stories and picture quality make this essential viewing for any fan of sci-Fi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fringe Season 1-3 [DVD]
Fringe Season 1-3 [DVD] by Anna Torv (DVD - 2011)
£28.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews