Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great American comedy
The Middle is a mix of Roseanne and Malcom in the Middle, a look at the life of a small town family trying to get by. It stars Patricia Richardson from Everybody Loves Raymond and Neil Flynn from Scrubs. They play Frankie and Mike Heck from Orson, Indiania. They are the parent of fifteen year old Axl [Charlie McDermot]a surly teenager, Sue [Eden Sher] an accident prone...
Published on 26 Nov 2010 by JC

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars TV Seies
I saw a couple of these shows on a flight to the US and wanted to see a few more, so found the DVD on Amazon. Quick delivery and really enjoyed them, waiting for the next season.
Published 4 months ago by Happy Customer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great American comedy, 26 Nov 2010
The Middle is a mix of Roseanne and Malcom in the Middle, a look at the life of a small town family trying to get by. It stars Patricia Richardson from Everybody Loves Raymond and Neil Flynn from Scrubs. They play Frankie and Mike Heck from Orson, Indiania. They are the parent of fifteen year old Axl [Charlie McDermot]a surly teenager, Sue [Eden Sher] an accident prone thirteen year old and cute but odd eight year old Brick [Atticus Schaffer]. All of the characters are brilliantly written and performed, the three young stars are espically good, and the humour is a mix of smart gags and relatable domestic situations. Highlights include the episode 'The Yelling' in which Frankie trys to stop nagging and yelling at her children and the Christmas episode where laidback Mike takes over organising the season. The Middle is warm, witty and most importantly funny and along with Modern Family one of the best comedies to come out of the U.S in recent years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous fun, 20 Sep 2011
By 
Mike (The Front Room) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Middle - Season 1 [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Watching 'The Middle' always reminds me of the brilliant cartoon Family Guy; the parodies are blindingly obvious, only tall, and not fat regarding the dad character. The best thing about this series is that it doesn't take itself at all seriously. There are no hidden agendas and there's very little sentimentality; which is quite refreshing to see in an American sit-com as all too often the viewer is comforted with the nicer side of life!

Patricia Heaton (Frankie Heck - Mother/Used Car Saleswoman) of 'Everybody Loves Raymond' fame may be reprising the role of an unappreciated wife, but this time she's different, she's let off the leash and has real bark as well as bite. She also narrates during the show which is a kinda cool. The Peter Griffin of the family Mike Heck (Neil Flynn) a Quarry Manager that's a little too laid-back for Frankie but she doesn't bang on about it.

At 15 the eldest son is Axl is a typical teenager who wants to be a rock star or playboy to the stars. Of course he's completely deluded, as he has zero talent and only average looks - but what he does have going for him is his sporting prowess. He appears to be in all the sports teams, so he's happy most of the time. Occasionally he proves his loyalty to his family, but it's very subtle, you have to watch to see what I mean. A funny observation: he never seems to be decent (fully dressed) when he's at home.

Sue Heck is the nearest thing to Meg Griffin in real TV. Continually in a state neurotic insecurity and anonymity; Sue repeatedly fails to make ANY after school activity - she literally tries-out for everything! Yet, Sue struggles on with incredible tenacity, a quality that's quite inspiring to see. Unlike Meg, Sue is pretty, slim and glasses free; but at 14, she still wears braces and everyone (including her tutors) can never seem to remember her name or face. This only exacerbates her self-consciousness and anxiety. Look out for how delighted she is to make the school cross-country team (albeit contrived).

The final component of the Heck family is Brick Heck, a 9 year old loner with a reading fixation. Brick doesn't suffer fools lightly, he's very selective about whom he speaks to and he comes across as an evil genius in the making, like Stewie Griffin. Brick is very forgetful and shows little interest in anything other than his books. Nevertheless he's an interesting character and not cutesy which is always good!

For me Sue is the real gem in this new sit-com; she's very amusing, a bit stupid and naive, yet her never say die attitude is heart-warming and a delight to see. I hope The Middle goes for a few more seasons, just to see how Sue gets on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best US comedy in years!, 5 Jan 2012
By 
C. Ellis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Middle - Season 1 [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
After the end of 'Malcolm in the Middle' I was well and truly gutted and completely pessimistic as to the fact that there could in fact be another sitcom that takes it's place and lo-and-behold along comes 'The Middle', a show that is not only better than 'Malcolm in the Middle' but the best sitcom to come out of the US in years (maybe even decades). The first season introduces us to the 'Heck's', a middle-class family living in the middle of Indiana (hence the title) I wont go into the specifics of the characters here as many others have but each character has their own unique traits and personality and every actor that appears is always on top form.

I'm hoping this show will go on for many more years, and with the steady incline in the ratings it looks so. This is a fantastic show and I cannot recommend it more, shame it's not on Blu-ray but don't let that hinder your decision! I defy anyone of any age, race, religion, creed or gender to not be able to relate to and love this show!

Don't take my word for it, watch it! Five stars, 10/10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Middle- season 1, 8 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Middle - Season 1 [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
The Middle is a delightful depiction of family life, it is funny and very touching at the same time. Many of the issues raised are very relevant to modern day family life and the humour is appealig to a variety of ages. Young people find it easy to relate to the children in the family and it is a very accurate illustration of the challenges of parenthood. Any parent could certainly relate to the problems encountered by parents in raising their children and they can have a right good laugh at some of the scenarios. The serious issues of growing up and the difficulties encountered by parents trying to adapt to the changing personalities of their children as they develop into adults, are dealt with sensitively and in a light hearted manner. This is a highly recommended dvd...I am sure the whole family would enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sleeper hit, 30 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was pretty disappointed when Neil Flynn left Scrubs (just one of many reasons the ninth season is so bad), but he is definitely at his best in this show. Patricia Heaton (Everybody Loves Raymond, Back to You) is also excellent in it. I would actually rate it a little higher than Modern Family, as the documentary style of that show grates at times. Also, while the characters in Modern Family might be "modern", they're not typical, unlike the Hecks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Barrel of Laughs, 22 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Middle - Season 1 [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
The Middle is absolutely brilliant, as many people would agree; the actors are great, the plots are funny and so on. My favourite character is Sue, being an awkward teen with so much enthusiasm, making me laugh every time.
Anyway I think anyone would be making a huge mistake to miss out on this barrel of laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Middle is ace, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Middle - Season 1 [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I never thought they could top "Everybody Loves Raymond", but this newish American sit-com has me hooked. Eden Sher (Sue Heck) is comedy gold, they all are. Not one of these shows have failed to make bull's-eye. It's crazier than "Raymond" , and the ever dependable Patricia Heaton as Frankie has never been so good. Brick and Axle, Frankie and Mike's oddball son's are also perfect in this mad family comedy. But it's Eden Sher that is an epiphany, shear comic character genius. AAAAGGGGHHHH!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 20 May 2013
By 
T. Pattinson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Middle - Season 1 [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Absolutely love The Middle - thought it was going to be something like 'Malcolm in the Middle' but it is not. Fresh family humour and not performed in front of an audience, so no annoying canned laughter. Great series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny series, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Middle - Season 1 [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Very funny series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Middle - hilarious programme for all the family to enjoy, 3 May 2014
By 
This review is from: The Middle - Season 1 [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
The Middle is 1 of our family favourite programmes. We have watched all episodes several times & now have bought them on dvd. We all find it hilarious, they are a family most people can probably relate to. Love all the characters for different reasons. I have genuinely enjoyed every single episode from all the series and my 8 year old daughter is the same. They make me cry with laughter, & also cry at the heartwarming lovely family stories that u see. We love The Hecks :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Middle - Season 1 [DVD] [2011]
The Middle - Season 1 [DVD] [2011] by Patricia Heaton (DVD - 2011)
10.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews