Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beep, beep! LEGEND!!!
Of all the wonderful, colourful characters that are the GREAT Looney Tunes - Bugs Bunny, Daffy Duck, Porky Pig etc - Road Runner was my favourite out of the wacky, legendary bunch. Like all Looney Tunes cartoons of its ilk, the Road Runner premise was so simple, yet so effective.

Road Runner; the fastest bird in the dessert, only capable of communicating...
Published on 16 April 2012 by R. Wood

versus
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No Classics Here...
This DVD contains two or three cartoons made in the 90's and 2000's.

The rest of them are from the 60's and were made by Depatie/Freleng. These unfortunately lack the pace and comedy present in the classic cartoons made by WB in the 50's.

So, in summary, if you're looking for the classic Road Runner shorts then you won't find any here.

A...
Published on 8 Feb. 2012 by Mr H


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beep, beep! LEGEND!!!, 16 April 2012
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Road Runner and Friends [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Of all the wonderful, colourful characters that are the GREAT Looney Tunes - Bugs Bunny, Daffy Duck, Porky Pig etc - Road Runner was my favourite out of the wacky, legendary bunch. Like all Looney Tunes cartoons of its ilk, the Road Runner premise was so simple, yet so effective.

Road Runner; the fastest bird in the dessert, only capable of communicating through either a tongue noise or those ever-endearing words, "Beep, beep!" A friendly, ever-optimistic kind of creature, he goes about his life racing through the dessert, and escaping the perilous traps that the predatory Wile E. Coyote lays for him. Determined, hungry and absolutely relentless, the would-be genius Coyote concocts all manner of inspired schemes to fulfil his ambition of eating the Road Runner, only to be foiled by bad luck, fate, and/or the fact that Road Runner is in truth much cleverer than him.

The charm of these cartoons has spanned decades, and the collection of episodes on this DVD justify how timeless Road Runner (and Looney Tunes in general) really is. The cartoons collected here are just as funny today as they were when I was watching them as a kid. The quality simply doesn't know how to age. The idea of Wile E. Coyote trying to catch his nemesis is the same old concept over-and-over again, but by putting so many different spins on the premise, Road Runner has managed to remain as fresh and brilliant today as it did when it started back in 1949.

This is clearly evident in some of the more recent Road Runner cartoons collected here, namely "The Whizzard of Ow" and "Little Go Beep". With all the animation tools and techniques of today - along with all the changes brought about by modern society - these two episodes still manage to uphold the traditions of Road Runner and still possess the heart and soul that can be found on all the other episodes found here.

In total, there are twelve Road Runner cartoons in this collection, totalling over seventy-five minutes' worth of absolute quality. The quality of both the picture and sound is just staggeringly high. All the early cartoons from the sixties are so clean and crisp, with virtually no imperfections or faults to speak of. The DVD transfer is just impeccable! Meaning that long-time fans can just sit back and enjoy these old classics as though they've only just been made!

To me, the biggest diamond to be found on this Road Runner DVD is the classic episode "The Solid Tin Coyote", my all-time favourite Road Runner cartoon! Here, Wile E. Coyote accomplishes the unthinkable and ACTUALLY captures the Road Runner! FINALLY! How?! Well...see for yourself. But trust me, you'll see why I deem this the best Road Runner cartoon of all time!

No extras, only subtitles. Not that it matters. This is a first-class collection of Road Runner (just like all the other Looney Tunes DVDs out there!) that no fan can afford to miss. Perfect for adults, perfect for kids and can be yours to own for an absolute BARGAIN!

What are you waiting for?! Beep, beep!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No Classics Here..., 8 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Road Runner and Friends [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This DVD contains two or three cartoons made in the 90's and 2000's.

The rest of them are from the 60's and were made by Depatie/Freleng. These unfortunately lack the pace and comedy present in the classic cartoons made by WB in the 50's.

So, in summary, if you're looking for the classic Road Runner shorts then you won't find any here.

A better bet would be to buy the Looney Tunes Golden Collection Volume 2, which contains a disc full of the 'proper' Road Runner cartoons we all know and love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beep Beep, 9 Sept. 2011
By 
M. G. Hatfield "trekle5" (North Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road Runner and Friends [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Road Runner is one of the best collection one of the best cartoons ever made by the Warner Bros animation studios.

These Road Runner cartoons are very rare I only remember seeing one on T.V. all the others are unknown to me I really am a huge fan of Road Runner and Wile E. Coyote continuing chase.

The other reviewer is a little wrong I saw no moblie phone used by either Wile or the Road Runner the magic isn't missing from these episodes it's a great collection for fans of the Road Runner.

I can recommend this collection because I had another which had very few Roadrunner cartoons on which had many different cartoons on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Road Runner, 15 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road Runner and Friends [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
All new stuff, not in Looney Tunes collections!!.Why? Becomes obvious when Road Runner uses a mobile phone! Made in the 90's.However still to the original formula so enjoyable.Being newer the magic is not the same as the artists are different and the quality not up to the old standards. But still a good buy if you like the Road Runner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nostalgia for an oldie, 6 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Road Runner and Friends [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I am introducing my 4 year old grandaughter to these old cartoons and she loves them. I am forced to watch them with her of course!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD Road Runner, 11 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road Runner and Friends [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
My grandchildren really enjoyed the dvd of the Road Runner It was of good quality. Well packed and presented. thank you so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just great...., 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road Runner and Friends [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
We just love it... Great selection of typical road runner films. We can just recommend it to all road runner friends...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good D.V.D, 15 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road Runner and Friends [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
My daughter who is nearly 3 adores looney tunes and this dvd didn`t let us down. With a great mixture of old and new episodes and a wonderful Baby Looney tunes episode we both enjoyed watching it. I feel as though it was very good value for money and the picture was of good quality. Highly recommended for all looney tunes fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a, 6 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road Runner and Friends [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
the oldies are still just as much fun as they were when they originally came out. Stands the test of time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road Runner and Friends [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Great classic cartoons - Road Runner and Coyote are my favourites for the clan so I loved watching this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Road Runner and Friends [DVD] [2011]
Road Runner and Friends [DVD] [2011] by Various (DVD - 2011)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews