Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (100)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One To Watch
If you're a fan of anything supernatural, scary or just a bit 'strange', then this is the show for you. The leads are well cast, both playing off each other perfectly, most of the time with humour, but when it's needed with incredible sensitivity.

The best example of this is the episode 'Heart' which sees the boys tackle the problem of werewolves, and how to...
Published on 20 Jan 2008 by N. Pluck

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok
its not my favourite series came after the x files , same type of thing but instead of aliens they deal with the supernatural hence the name
Published 5 months ago by Cambria


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One To Watch, 20 Jan 2008
By 
N. Pluck "Nats" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you're a fan of anything supernatural, scary or just a bit 'strange', then this is the show for you. The leads are well cast, both playing off each other perfectly, most of the time with humour, but when it's needed with incredible sensitivity.

The best example of this is the episode 'Heart' which sees the boys tackle the problem of werewolves, and how to cure a person of lycanthropy. If you only watch one episode, watch this one - But make sure the lights are down, and you won't be embarassed to shed a tear! For something lighter, try 'Tall Tales' or 'Folsom Prison Blues'.

One good thing about the Season 2 box set is that is has all the extra features on - In the season one (UK version) these were left out, but they're firmly in place this time round, just to confirm for those wondering :)

With Season 3 starting next Sunday, you should have enough time to watch it all to either catch up or refresh your memory before it starts up again. Definatly worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best shows on TV, 28 Sep 2007
So season one was great, but season two was absolutely, 100%, out of this world. Many TV shows fail to live up to their first series (Lost anyone?) But Supernatural's second season out does it's predecessor providing us with more scares, thrills and this time it brings the tears too. This season also had me in stiches, particular episodes to note are 'Tall Tales', 'Hollywood Babylon' and 'Folsom Prison Blues'. The boys are on top form too. Ackles, particularly stands out though with his brilliant comic timing and heart wrenching family scenes. Padalecki also brings the goods, showing many more sides to the sensitive Sam we all love, the general character development is fantastic! Another episode to note is 'Heart' at the end of which you will be sobbing and marvelling at the great acting and chemistry between the two leads.
Definitely buy this season because it is the best show on air at the moment! Similarly to the season 1 boxset, there are not as many extras as i would have liked, however the commentaries and other various goodies are worth a watch and the gag reel will definitely have you laughing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Proper Show, 22 Sep 2007
In this age of manufactured boy bands and special effects laden tat, I steered away from Supernatural solely because of its marketing tagline of 'supernatural gets sexy' or some such pith. I suspect it put many traditionalists off, which was a huge marketing mistake. That said, I stumbled upon it one evening on ITV and watched it. The thing is, Supernatural is a very good show - gritty, solid, well-acted with good storylines, its milieu is personified by the 1967 Chevy Impala taking centre stage alongside Ackles and Padalecki - muscle, black darkness and plenty of chrome. Add a Rock music backdrop, and two traditional 'hunters', although the studio has obviously had its input into the desperate attempt to appeal to the masses, the show has not lost much integrity. The cinematography is really very good, the presentation slick and pleasing and the special effects not predominant but well-crafted enough to add to the show rather than dominate it. The modern take on traditional Otherworldiness - ghosts, vampires, demons, magic and psionsics (for example) is adriot and intuitive. All are well-rendered and believable within the genre. Characterisation is good - of the main players, who are not one-dimensional which is so easily done within the boundaries of Sci-Fi, but also the bit part players who re-appear sufficiently to add to the general feel of reality. The only criticism is that it feels like a hesitant 4th gear rather than full-blooded hurtling to top speed - the main storyline is introduced right from the outset and burns solidly in the background for the entire season but does not really get going until the last few episodes. The one story episodes are good and do not feel like fillers however. The second season certainly steps up a notch with some significant surprises. There is potential here for something rather good and I don't think anyone inetersted in Sci-Fi and Fantasy shows will ever be disappointed by this one.

The Second Season really does step up a notch and starts to find its feet more so than the first. It promises more and delivers very well but again, I am still left wondering if they could have taken more risks and achieved more. Perhaps Season 3 will provide those answers and a darker, more introspective show will await us...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting better and better, 11 Jan 2008
I really don't get to watch that much TV but I really love the CW shows, One Tree Hill, Smallville and especially Supernatural. So much so that it's the first time I have bought a season in 2 parts. Why do Brits have to wait so long for an entire season to be released????

Anyway, all the elements are there and the guys really deliver the goods. Laughs, scares and of course the now obligatory brother dying at the end season finale. LOVE IT!
It doesn't hurt that the 2 leads are gorgeous but they are really getting into their roles by the end of the season. Jensen as Dean plays big bro with a vengeance and Jared as Sam gets tempted to the darkside. There are also some great in-jokes particularly in Hollywood Babylon.

I love so much about the show but one of the main things is the music. I have rediscovered a few golden oldies as a result of watching this and can often be found rocking to Kansas on my MP3.

I am currently getting into season 3 and if possible it's improved on the formula.
Hoorah, as long as there's the Winchesters, women everywhere will get their rocks off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another amazing season., 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This season is really really good. The acting is very good and the story's have been very well written. The only problem is that in this season we are starting to get into a story line which lasts the whole season, something which I think, in the later seasons has let this incredible show down. I do the miss the monster of the week way the show was shown in the first season. Still this is an amazing show and is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must see, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supernatural - Season 2 Complete [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I seen a episode on TV about a couple of years ago and was like wow why haven't I seen this before I then set TiVo box to record series and was quickly hooked .one of those programmes that comes along every so often and takes you buy surprise.all acted well written with a bit of everything thrown in storylines action and the humour is brilliant.I now have all 8 seasons on blu- ray just waiting on season 9
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not your run of the mill spooky TV fare, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Season 2 picks up from season 1 with the same inventiveness; and the right balance of tongue in cheek humour and pathos. Plenty spills & thrills done really exceptionally well for a Telly production. Buffy & Angel for grown ups!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good series, 4 Dec 2013
By 
S. Crispin (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an enjoyable series, perhaps not quite as excellent as X-Files or Angel in my mind, but the brothers are equal to any with their brotherly interaction (squabbling), it's quite amusing. Looking forward to series 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This product arrived before the estimated arrival date was perfectly new. The show is very entertaining and holds your attention!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love Supernatural.... Like an updated version of the X Files. Little suspense, little gore and a little action.. very entertaining on a hangover day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Supernatural - Season 2 Complete [Blu-ray] [2011] [Region Free]
13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews