Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stellar debut!
After liking 2 of Katy B's 3 singles i couldn't wait to get my hands on her long awaited debut album and it was definitely worth the wait, the so called "queen of dubstep' has delivered one of the best debut albums i've heard in a while encompassing the likes of not just dubstep but 90's style garage and deep house as well.

The first 3 tracks are actually the...
Published on 6 April 2011 by Mr. Russell C. Witheyman

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bouncing Tunes From A Bouncing Girl
There's an immediate warmth to Katy B that so many other young singers lack - obviously, she is happy to be alive. The production is good, the A and R terrific and it actually got me dancing on a Tuesday morning - not bad.
Published on 28 Aug 2012 by Dan Smith


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stellar debut!, 6 April 2011
This review is from: On a Mission (Audio CD)
After liking 2 of Katy B's 3 singles i couldn't wait to get my hands on her long awaited debut album and it was definitely worth the wait, the so called "queen of dubstep' has delivered one of the best debut albums i've heard in a while encompassing the likes of not just dubstep but 90's style garage and deep house as well.

The first 3 tracks are actually the weakest on the album in my opinion, i was never really fan of Kayt's debut single "Katy on a mission" but many will no doubt disagree, things really step up a gear from "Witches brew" a sort of drum and bass pop hybrid which wouldn't sound out of place on a girls aloud album. "Movement" likewise is a great bouncy number with a catchy chorus. "Go away" is a lovely dubstep ballad and "Disappear" delves into broken beat territory and is another slower number. New single "Broken record" with it's sped up funky drummer break is another highlight and 2nd single "Lights on" ft ms dynamite evokes 90's style garage with an infectious melody. One of my favourite tracks though is "Perfect Stranger" with a slow verse structure and frantic drum and bass chorus with a great hook. One of the most interesting tracks is the very last song "Hard to get" a lovely deep house track, i'd personally like to Katy delve more into this arena on future albums as if this track is anything to go she seems very comfortable in this arena.

Rinse Fm's geenus and zinc who originally took a gamble on Katy years back developing her career must be given credit for the great production on this album and developing her talents.

By far the best album i've heard do far this year, you can keep your Adele's, Give me Katy anyday!

4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An awesome pop/dubstep crossover, 12 July 2011
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On a Mission (Audio CD)
Katy B's debut album On A Mission has received great praise for "bringing dubstep to the mainstream" but when you pick this album up for a listen, what follows is Katy B pretty much carving out her own genre and creating a new sound as it's somewhere in between.

The singles "On a Mission" and "Lights Out" have received lots of airplay and it's easy to see why, with infectiously catchy vocals and solid dubstep-inspired electro-beats there is little not to like. Whether you're getting ready to head out, dancing your head off already or simply tapping your toes on the bus, Katy B's stylings are more than suitable. She has an incredible voice and really can sing, choosing to leave her voice single-tracked in some places and never hiding behind post-processing electrified vocals like so many other chart artists today.

But it's not all aggressive 'grimy' electronic dub step, a couple of the tracks such as "Go Away" & "Easy Please Me" have underground-inspired beats but are actually a lot more melancholy than the genre usually allows and this is really refreshing and innovative.

An impressive debut album, highly recommended and I look forward to more from Katy B!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mission done, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On a Mission (Audio CD)
bought as a valentines gift for my partner who enjoyed the songs of this artist without knowing who she was. this cd helped fill in the blanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Album!, 3 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On a Mission (Audio CD)
This album gets better and better every time I hear it! Bought as was a fan of some of the singles released. Even my husband likes it and this type of music isn't normally his style. Katy B has a great voice and writes great lyrics. A must have for any fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bouncing Tunes From A Bouncing Girl, 28 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On a Mission (Audio CD)
There's an immediate warmth to Katy B that so many other young singers lack - obviously, she is happy to be alive. The production is good, the A and R terrific and it actually got me dancing on a Tuesday morning - not bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD, 18 May 2011
This review is from: On a Mission (Audio CD)
This was good in that there's lots of variety on the album and more tracks than artists can usually bother to put on albums these days (12) However, it was a bit of a disappointment for me, with a very late 90s sound (maybe she did that on purpose though..?) that I felt like I've heard before. I loved the famous songs that she has released, which are absolutely brilliant but not enough blew me away. It's a great record to buy if you need something to exercise to as it's so up-tempo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing debut album!, 8 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On A Mission [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
I can't believe I was even thinking twice about buying this album, it's one of the best purchases I've made all year. There isn't a bad song on the album and the songs are all very unique and cover several different genres. My personal favourite is Witches Brew which I have listened to 67 times since buying the album according to iTunes. I am really excited about Katy B and think she deserves masses of credit for this amazing album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars music, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On a Mission (Audio CD)
Top music good cd cover delivey on time good service will look at more album choice with this artist easy listening tunes for chilling.

Is
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fac, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On a Mission (Audio CD)
I bought this together with Little Red album. This is the first time I have bought her albums and I am very happy with them they are fab
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good debut, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On a Mission (Audio CD)
Some great songs, some filler.

I.e. On a Mission, worth a shot if you like dubstep, vocal EDM etc .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews