Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


120 of 128 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High-class, low-key espionage drama
If you're after a spy story with running and shouting, violence and high-tech trickery then try Spooks. `Page Eight' is a much more thoughtful, contemplative drama reminiscent of early Le Carre (`The Spy Who Came In From The Cold' era) or the wonderful but short-lived series The Sandbaggers - Series 1 [1978] [DVD].

`Page Eight' covers some of the same ground as...
Published on 31 Aug 2011 by Rowena Hoseason

versus
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A slow burner
Page Eight is about an MI5 analyst who's boss dies and leaves him a rather sensitive file that some in the British hierarchy would rather never sees the light of day.

If you've seen Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy then it's basically the same thing - a spy thriller that tries to portray the more `realistic' side of espionage. By this I mean the side of spying...
Published on 24 Jun 2012 by Albatross


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Trilogy, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Page Eight [DVD] (DVD)
We watched the two later films. This one passed us by and we wanted to see how it all began.
Bill Nighy at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stylish and intelligent., 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Page Eight [DVD] (DVD)
I like Bill Nighy; a credible, versatile actor. A stylish, intensely intelligent film that grips you all the way through; well written and well acted with a great cast. No need to spoil it for anyone by discussing the plot, but can thoroughly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new Smiley???, 8 May 2013
By 
Schoales Martin (Geneva, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Page Eight [DVD] (DVD)
Anything with Bill Nighy in it has to be good. This is no exception in Page 8. A very well crafted tale of spies and plots brought together by a cast which make the viewer believe in every aspect of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice product, 8 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Page Eight [DVD] (DVD)
very good servive and nice product, would recommend if anyone is lookinbg for nice quality product as reasonable price, thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 4 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Page Eight [DVD] (DVD)
The brits just dont get it - here we have the british morgan freeman or gene hackman we need more of this man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gets you thinking, 27 Sep 2011
By 
fitnessmad (Lytham St Annes) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Page Eight [DVD] (DVD)
Ok so not big on the action, special effects and gunfights. It does however offer some convincing acting in a setting that gets you thinking and immersed in the world of MI5. Good humour and a twisty plot to get you interested.

Good film for a quiet night in and if in the mood for thinking otherwise you may find it quite boring.

Overall a 3 out of 5 so worth a viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Page Eight [DVD] (DVD)
Well acted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to the BBC British political (MI5) drama with Bill Nighy Rachel Weisz Ralph Fiennes and Sir Michael Gambon. Enjoy!, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Page Eight [DVD] (DVD)
Well I think that the BBC spy/political drama of Page Eight is fantastic because is produced by the BBC as always with the likes of documentaries (Planet Earth David Attenborough) comedies (Little Britain Live At the Apollo Mock the Week Have I Got News For You ) science fiction (Doctor Who) and fantasy dramas (Merlin and Atlantis). So yeah, that is a my short brief of the BBC.
Anyway, the reason why I purchased the product is because it is British, it has a British cast and I am over fifteen years old hence on the DVD. So, this is the description. It is about a man who is called Johnny Worricker and he is a long-serving MI5 officer. His boss and his best friend Benedict Baron dies suddenly leaving behind a contentious file whose explosive contents threaten the stability of the organisation. Meanwhile a seemingly chance encounter with Johnny's striking next-door neighbour and political activist Nancy Pierpan seems too good to be true. However Johnny is forced to walk out of his job and then out of his identity to find the real truth. So that is what this drama is all about. Today on Amazon.co.uk I paid 5.05 with free delivery hence my student discount of twenty seven pence. Wow! I like it! Thank you. You have made my day happy. Five stars all round!!! BUY IT NOW FOLKS!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Page Eight [DVD] (DVD)
This was a great movie but sometimes it did feel like it was made for TV. I really enjoyed the interviews in the extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing, 4 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Page Eight [DVD] (DVD)
I was expecting something quite gritty and robust, so found this a little short of delivery in that department. Lightweight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Page Eight [DVD]
Page Eight [DVD] by David Hare (DVD - 2011)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews