Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Flash/Speedlite/Strobe
Offering the power (Guide Number 60) and features of Canon/Nikon Speedlites costing 300+ the Nissin DI866 Mark II represents excellent value for money. It is worth buying just for the ability to bounce flash from the ceiling and behind you for the dramatic improvement to indoor pictures; just switch the flash to Automatic or TTL and and press the shutter, everything is...
Published on 21 Feb 2012 by A. Brown

versus
0 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong item delivered - twice!
I can't rate the actual item, since I have twice been sent the Canon fit version, despite ordering one for Nikon. Amazon have now admitted that there is an error in their database, and say it will be fixed.

I do have to say that the young lady that I spoke to at Amazon after the second one arrived was very helpful, but it has given me a lot of hastle - and...
Published 18 months ago by Bob Holmes


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Flash/Speedlite/Strobe, 21 Feb 2012
By 
A. Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nissin Di 866 Mark II Canon (Electronics)
Offering the power (Guide Number 60) and features of Canon/Nikon Speedlites costing 300+ the Nissin DI866 Mark II represents excellent value for money. It is worth buying just for the ability to bounce flash from the ceiling and behind you for the dramatic improvement to indoor pictures; just switch the flash to Automatic or TTL and and press the shutter, everything is taken care of for you (its like a more powerful version of the pop up flash on your camera).

When you're ready, the DI866 Mark II offers full control and off-camera wireless master/slave options (Manual or ETTL 1 and 2) to take your flash photography to the next level (I haven't used the high speed sync mode yet so can't comment on that). I can also trigger it off camera optically using the pop up flash of my 550D (if you cover the camera flash with something like a used toilet roll to block its frontal light output the DI866 can be used as an off-camera key light similar to wireless mode - within limitation).

When mounted to my 550D the Nissin does add a little weight and bulk but this is to be expected. It possibly also marginally overexposes if pointed directly at subject but this can be controlled by reducing flash exposure a third of a stop.

Again, for the power and features the DI866 Mark II offers I don't think you will get a better flash (at time of writing) for 180.

Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nissin di 866 mark ii canon, 20 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nissin Di 866 Mark II Canon (Electronics)
marvellous flashgun, very powerful and so easy to set up and operate.
totally eclipses my other flashgun which is a canon speedlight 430 mark ii used with a canon 550d slr camera.
i have used it in a very large room with an amateur set up with lighting stands,backdrop material,reflectors,etc.
the results have been teriffic so far using both manual and auto ttl control.
i am doing mostly portrait photography at the moment and the results have been impressive and exposures spot on.
all in all i am very pleased with my purchase, and would recommend the nissin di 866 mark ii to anyone wanting a powerful and reliable flashgun.

cheers, alan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent speedlite - but the pc-sync port failed on mine, 15 May 2012
By 
A. D. Hale "Alan Hale" (Aberystwyth, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nissin Di 866 Mark II Canon (Electronics)
This really is a well-specified speedlite, good value for money,well-built, controls intuitive and easy to use. BUT I had a problem in that the pc-sync port was not working on delivery. Nissin advised testing by shorting the terminals and after I did this is started working - but only for a few weeks. I had to return the unit for replacement (this took nearly 3 weeks to arrive!) but so far the replacement unit seems fine. I would certainly recommend, with this one caveat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real alternative to Canon 580, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nissin Di 866 Mark II Canon (Electronics)
There are many reviews and write-ups on the internet praising this flash gun. I've also got a Canon 580 and can honestly say that there's not much to choose between it and the Nissin, apart from the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic bit of kit, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nissin Di 866 Mark II Canon (Electronics)
The features on this flash are fantastic. Chuck it in manual mode and there isn't anything it doesn't do, you can be very creative. Or use ETTL for when you have to be quick. Complete control over the flash, tonnes of features and at a price that eclipses Canon products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nissin Flashlight, 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nissin Di 866 Mark II Canon (Electronics)
Quick delivery, well built, powerful flash, easy to set up and use, comes with protective case all in all a great product and much cheaper than the canon offering!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant Product, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nissin Di 866 Mark II Canon (Electronics)
I carried out a lot of research before buying this product. I am more than happy with this flashgun. Seems like it is very well built. All functions work with my 7D. Will be buying another one in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nissin Di 866 Mark II Canon (Electronics)
I have had this flash a few years now and every time i use it I think "I must tell everyone how good this thing is!"
so here i am finally telling you all its truly the best flash i have ever used, the features are all listed and i don't need to go into the garble much but if you have a camera that can use the features of this thing like my 60D wireless flash etc its awesome. I was at a party the other night in a very dark restaurant and as on many occasions i was able to get perfect candid head-shots at 20 - 30 foot away at about 100mm zoom with very good flattering exposure, I always have the camera on continuous shutter so you can take a burst of shots super fast to capture the perfect facial expression and the flash just keeps firing with the camera. I don't seem to find its as brutal on batteries as some i have had in the past altho that might be down to modern batteries being better, and rechargeable batteries work very well. I took 200+ shots the other night all with flash using Duracell rechargeable 2450mAh and they seem fine the spares i took were not required!

the main things i need and get from this flash are

*Power, its right up there with the big boys
*Wireless, with no extra cost or adapters!
*Zoom, zoom's with the lens to mach its focal length
*Good even exposure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good flash, for amateur or beginner, 16 Jan 2014
This review is from: Nissin Di 866 Mark II Canon (Electronics)
Simply flash does what it suppose to do, it has nice specs on paper. reason i chosen this flash was that it had multiple functions which will cover my learning for next couple of years. i use rechargeable batteries and it lasts quite long with one set (from 150 to 350 pics depends what power do you use). Menu is very easy to use for me, but do read a manual for setting up wireless (when you will use it). Sub flash is a nice touch and very useful for portraits.

The quality itself is i think acceptable for this price tag. Plastic feels something like canon 50mm f1.8 lens maybe a bit better.

There is only one thing (that's why it is 4 starts) i wish navigation buttons would have been slightly better and softer.

Conclusion:

Good flash, loads of control in nicely placed color auto tilting menu for reasonable price tag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birthday Gift, 17 May 2014
By 
Mrs. G. Ward - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nissin Di 866 Mark II Canon (Electronics)
As this was purchased for a birthday gift and as that birthday isn't for another couple of months I'm still sure that the item will be received well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nissin Di 866 Mark II Canon
174.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews