Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb, but need to know what you're getting
I was surprised when this came through the post - it's tiny. That's the only reason it drops a point. Despite this, the story is fantastic. By a strech of the imagination, it even follows on (or rather precludes) other things in Asher's universe; then again Asher isn't always known for consistent continuity.
One other thing, this book is *extremely* difficult to get...
Published on 9 Feb 2005 by Adriano

versus
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars et parasite infected spacer starts new race of superhumans.
Story is good but short. The booklet (it`s not very long) is in the form of a graphic novel with few pictures. On the whole I felt cheated- I thought I was getting a full sized novel of 300 + pages but instead got a thin comic like novella for my money. Absolutely nothing like as good as "the engineer" or the excellent "gridlinked".
Published on 24 Dec 2001 by Ozwaldo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb, but need to know what you're getting, 9 Feb 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Parasite (Paperback)
I was surprised when this came through the post - it's tiny. That's the only reason it drops a point. Despite this, the story is fantastic. By a strech of the imagination, it even follows on (or rather precludes) other things in Asher's universe; then again Asher isn't always known for consistent continuity.
One other thing, this book is *extremely* difficult to get a hold of. The publisher Tanjen is apparently bankrupt (from the horses mouth) and thus any copy anyone has may be worth something, someday...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars et parasite infected spacer starts new race of superhumans., 24 Dec 2001
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Parasite (Paperback)
Story is good but short. The booklet (it`s not very long) is in the form of a graphic novel with few pictures. On the whole I felt cheated- I thought I was getting a full sized novel of 300 + pages but instead got a thin comic like novella for my money. Absolutely nothing like as good as "the engineer" or the excellent "gridlinked".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A prototype for the later Polity books, 29 Mar 2011
By 
P. A. Keating "houshin" (Wirral, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Parasite (Kindle Edition)
Having only just recently started reading Neal Asher's books he has become one of my favourite Sci-Fi authors around. Mixing many elements of fiction, his Polity series of books have become a firm favourite of mine. In the span of the last year I have gone through all of the Cormack books followed by the series based around the Spatterjay virus. Looking for something new to read I came across this on Amazon.

The parasite is actually the second of his published books, more a novella than on his main books. Written 5 years before the Polity would be unleashed on the world. Yet on reading this book you find that much of the ground work for what would become the Polity is in here. There are mentions of AI's and Golems, Alien virus' (the central concept of the book) and the illegal weapons so dangerous they should never be used. In fact one of the weapons would later appear in the second of the Spatterjay books, The Voyage of the Sable Keech.

Jack Smith is a comet miner, a job that is being phased out as manufacturing plants can now easily reproduce the rare elements found on these comets. But there is something else on this asteroid and it is something that will come back with Jack Smith to Earth.

This is a tight and fast paced book, coming in at around 130 pages, I blasted through it in about two nights. While not tied to any of his pre-existing Polity universe, as mentioned above, you can see many of the themes that will occur in many of his later books. In particular the virus/parasite taking over and the change in humanity.

My only problem with the entire story is that one character is abandoned in the final parts of the book with no follow up or closure. It is hinted at that the character has a problem (don't want to say more than that for ruining the story). Other than this little blip it is an excellent story and well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Asher Rocks, 18 Mar 2011
By 
Mr. B. W. Jackson (Bradford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Parasite (Kindle Edition)
Asher rocks and this novella shows the talent just starting. A good solid readwith solid believable plots containing warnings and promise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Parasite, 16 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Parasite (Kindle Edition)
Good Sci-Fi story reminiscent of the old B-movies but with more attitude. The story ends, leaving an opportunity for continuation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 29 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Parasite (Kindle Edition)
Smart,succinct,imaginative, fast paced with twists. Just excellent! One big criticism though...
Neal please write more books as I've ran out and I need more of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He has done it again, 24 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. P. R. Moore "PRM" (stoke on trent uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Parasite (Kindle Edition)
A good fast paced story. There were some good unpredictable parts to the story. The characters were good and believable. If there was any cause for disappointment it would be that I have reached the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A reasonable read, 4 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. Mark A. Laborda "labor475" (Andover, Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Parasite (Kindle Edition)
This was OK, the plot felt similar to other story lines and it was not as well developed as his main stream books but enjoyable none the less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The parasite, 7 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Parasite (Kindle Edition)
This was the first of Neals books I,'ve read
Great introduction to him and to science fiction.
If you,'ve never read Science fiction, start here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love Neal Asher books, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Parasite (Kindle Edition)
I love Neal asher books and have been waiting for a new one so might be biased but it is a rip roaring read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Parasite
The Parasite by Neal Asher
3.20
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews