Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the box, 23 Jan 2012
This review is from: Working at the Ubuntu Command-Line Prompt (Linux Nitty Gritty) (Kindle Edition)
It's exactly what it says on the box. This is a relatively short book, which first gives an overview of the history of UNIX, GNU, Linux and Ubuntu, and then talks a little bit about free software. Then it gives you an introduction to Ubuntu, and working on the command line. It's an interesting read, and can be covered in a long evening, though it's probably better to spread it out a little bit and sit in front of your computer while reading it. It comes at no cost at all (almost), and a great thing is that it actually makes you feel like you want to learn more. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basic and concise, 10 May 2011
By 
Bumblesquat "in the dark" (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working at the Ubuntu Command-Line Prompt (Linux Nitty Gritty) (Kindle Edition)
This book was ideal for me as it points out usefull ubuntu commands which are current and gives an enlightening snapshot of linux for a windows user. There is nothing ground breaking or too demanding in this text but it is well worth the minimal cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for building a foundation knowledge and finding out easy to learn tips and tricks, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working at the Ubuntu Command-Line Prompt (Linux Nitty Gritty) (Kindle Edition)
I am pretty inexperienced when it comes to Linux. Prior to reading this book as I was always able to setup my Ubuntu Server with a Wiki, Web Server, Subsonic music server, Samba file sharing and SSH. I managed all of this by following the incredibly helpful community and by using the information gleaned from other people's questions.

Somehow it felt like cheating though and that I wasn't really learning Linux to the extent that I wanted. I could understand roughly what was going on in the command line, but I was struggling with some of the short notation and also some of the terminology (which can seem daunting at first). This book is the perfect crutch for helping you with understanding the origin of the Linux operating system and also how it works, and explains it in an easy to understand non-jargon way.

If you have an old computer lying around that you don't use, have some spare time and you fancy a bit of tinkering, then as a rewarding home project then you could do a lot worse by getting yourself a copy of Ubuntu server and get this wee gem of a book to give you more confidence and understanding at the command line. It's not all roses, but this book definitely takes away some of the thorns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginners, 2 Jun 2011
This review is from: Working at the Ubuntu Command-Line Prompt (Linux Nitty Gritty) (Kindle Edition)
Having a good understanding of Windows and a minimal understanding of unix/linux, this book really helped me move forward. It doesn't go into too much detail, but gives just enough to understand what it can do - You can then go and research any problems further on google with the correct terminology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good and Concise Starter Book, 6 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working at the Ubuntu Command-Line Prompt (Linux Nitty Gritty) (Kindle Edition)
I completed a Linux starter course at the open University a few years ago, but not continued using Ubuntu since. I have now got back into Linux in a big way and this book was a good refresher. It's only taken me a few days to go through it in my spare time, but I am back up and running again. Just remember it is a concise book, I would recommend it to get started or use as a memory jogger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working at the Ubuntu Command-Line Prompt (Linux Nitty Gritty) (Kindle Edition)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ubunto, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working at the Ubuntu Command-Line Prompt (Linux Nitty Gritty) (Kindle Edition)
very informative helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Steve James, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working at the Ubuntu Command-Line Prompt (Linux Nitty Gritty) (Kindle Edition)
This is the first book I have read concerning Linux. I am a total beginner and I found this book easy to understand and very useful. Highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well written and understandable, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working at the Ubuntu Command-Line Prompt (Linux Nitty Gritty) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book: it explains and make Linux easy to understand. It does not simply quote a list of commands as most Linux book do.
However it is not fully comprehensive and does not cover the whole subject. I will buy more books from this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars linux command line, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working at the Ubuntu Command-Line Prompt (Linux Nitty Gritty) (Kindle Edition)
I am learning ubuntu and linux with the open university at the moment. This book is exellent for the level i am at. Very well laid out and worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews