Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wolf hunt
Wolf hunt is such a darn good read! George (reminds me of Vinnie Jones) and Lou (sidekick) are henchmen who take on a job to transport a man in a cage across Florida. They are pre warned that the man is a Werewolf, and having received strict instructions what not to do, all hell breaks lose when the man/werewolf gets out. Poor George and Lou have to get the Ivan...
Published on 28 Mar. 2011 by M. Hill

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sassy dialogue, carnage, but not much else.
Best way I can describe this book is that it's like the werewolf novel equivalent of The Expendables. Big on action, with a large side helping of black humour, but that's about it I'm afraid.

I love great dialogue in a story, and this has plently of it, but I'd say there's just too much of it while the author seems to give very little, if any, consideration to...
Published on 3 Jan. 2013 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sassy dialogue, carnage, but not much else., 3 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolf Hunt (Kindle Edition)
Best way I can describe this book is that it's like the werewolf novel equivalent of The Expendables. Big on action, with a large side helping of black humour, but that's about it I'm afraid.

I love great dialogue in a story, and this has plently of it, but I'd say there's just too much of it while the author seems to give very little, if any, consideration to pace, setting, mood and all the other things that make the difference between an average book and a great book. In places, the dialogue takes over completely and to be brutally honest, it's actually pretty unrealistic most of the time and seems to almost repeat itself over and over.

Same with the overly frequent fight scenes, which lose a lot of effect due to the sheer amount of them, and which our heroes George and Lou, who despite having no protective clothing or special anti lycanthope fighting skills, keep surviving while countless innocent bystanders are ripped up for toilet paper all around them.

All that said, Wolf Hunt is entertaining as hell. Just switch your brain off, try not to pay too much attention to the numerous plot holes, and enjoy the mindless carnage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wolf hunt, 28 Mar. 2011
By 
M. Hill "KingKong" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolf Hunt (Kindle Edition)
Wolf hunt is such a darn good read! George (reminds me of Vinnie Jones) and Lou (sidekick) are henchmen who take on a job to transport a man in a cage across Florida. They are pre warned that the man is a Werewolf, and having received strict instructions what not to do, all hell breaks lose when the man/werewolf gets out. Poor George and Lou have to get the Ivan (werewolf) back, only to find that Ivan has other ideas. This is where it gets interesting and funny! Ivan set about the town decapitating, disembowling and generally causing mayhem. What follows is a really good read, full of laughter and oh yes gore (lots). The rappor between Ivan and George is quite entertaining!! Five stars as i kept giggling through most of the fight scenes !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thugs vs Werewolf, 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolf Hunt (Kindle Edition)
This is the first book I've read by Jeff Strand and it certainly won't be the last. He has wrote a funny and gory story, which never lets up once the werewolf turns up in our hero's possession. George and Lou are two lowly thugs who have the simple task of transporting a werewolf to a big gangster, but things obviously don't go to plan and that's when the fun starts and the accelerator is slam down. So hold on tight and enjoy the ride. BRILLIANT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Something a bit different, 20 July 2014
This review is from: Wolf Hunt (Kindle Edition)
I loved reading this book, something a bit different for a werewolf nut like me, no deep feelings of remorse, or angst for this Lycanthrope, in Ivan we have a werewolf full of sarcasm bitterness and raw savagery, capable of acts of brutal violence his semi hoodlum protagonists, George, and Lou are equally well written characters, great book would make a sure fire winner if made into a movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 20 May 2014
This review is from: Wolf Hunt (Kindle Edition)
I've just finished reading this book, and to be honest, I couldn't wait for the ending. It started out well, I even got to care about Lou and George, and enjoyed the banter between them. For a while. It soon got to the point where their lives were in mortal danger, yet they still found the time and the lucidity to have a dig at each other or a leisurely chat with the werewolf for what seemed like forever. Numerous times. I knew not to take this story too seriously, but it wore so thin that I found myself skipping get whole paragraphs just so I could get to the end. A disappointing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good but not great, 6 April 2014
This review is from: Wolf Hunt (Kindle Edition)
the reviews and a sample enticed me to buy this. it is lots of fun and george and lou are great guys but its not quite the rib achingly hilarious romp id hoped for. the beginning is very good and there are some extremely well written parts that flow like … well like something flowy … and some wonderfully amusing imagery. i hated ivan the were/creep/wolf with a passion, so some brilliant characterisation there! i agree with others who feel this would make a good movie- with a little editing to keep the pace throughout (theres a bit of a lag about 3/4 in). i would love to see this made into a film by tarrantino and guy ritchie! a guaranteed blockbuster, so come on quentin, get it done. i have to give a little verbal wrist slap to the reviewer who mentions a hand - as soon as the guys bought their silver i knew how the book would end. naughty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable escapism, 30 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolf Hunt (Kindle Edition)
Excellent, irreverent humour and yet unbelievably totally believeable. An engaging read which keeps you wanting to read more. Ended quickly though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pure brilliance, 8 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolf Hunt (Kindle Edition)
fantastic read very fast pace quite brutal in parts loved george and lou was really routing for you guys shame about the hand!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best werewolf book for ages, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolf Hunt (Kindle Edition)
(sort of spoilers but it's called wolf hunt so i can't imagine many people would be surprised to find a werewolf in it)
This is my favourite werewolf book for ages, there are some great ones out there such as Bad Wolf, Autobiography of a Werewolf Hunter and High Moor but what drags you into this is the relationship of George and Lou who are the laconic yet violent mobster duo who are tasked with ferrying Ivan (the wolf of said hunt) across country, Ivan's not keen on this and instead sets about killing as many people as he can, it says something of the characterisation when i can honestly say i quite liked Ivan, but i loved the interactions between George and Lou.
If you have even a cursory interest in horror then this wiseguys vs werewolf novel is a must !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Past the time, 20 Mar. 2013
By 
R. M. Gaggs "book worm" (Peel, Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolf Hunt (Kindle Edition)
I thought it would be a good book, going by the title, but was disappointed. It was Funny in places and daft in others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wolf Hunt
Wolf Hunt by Jeff Strand
£2.32
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews