Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heap big heep of an album!
For me Uriah Heep have been one of those bands we know have always been around, but have always been sitting on the horizon just getting on with making music and minding their own business, well boys jump off the horizon and into the foreground, Can't believe how good this album is, as soon as I heard the first track `nail on the head' to the last `kiss of freedom' I was...
Published on 5 Nov. 2011 by K. Buxton

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars not stuck on this heep line up could do with ...
not stuck on this heep line up could do with a new singer the guy from heep freedom with some coaching vocally could do the job
Published 17 days ago by martin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heap big heep of an album!, 5 Nov. 2011
By 
K. Buxton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Into The Wild (Audio CD)
For me Uriah Heep have been one of those bands we know have always been around, but have always been sitting on the horizon just getting on with making music and minding their own business, well boys jump off the horizon and into the foreground, Can't believe how good this album is, as soon as I heard the first track `nail on the head' to the last `kiss of freedom' I was very surprised, no rubbish tracks as the album nears the end, I didn't expect this to be so good.
Solid vocals, great music and catchy tunes make this a brilliant album, when a lot of other rock bands are really struggling to release good material and releasing albums just for the sake of it, it's nice to hear a good one for a change.
A couple of comments `it's like going back to the 70's but the music is up to date, I suppose you could say that about a lot of current rock bands, what's wrong with that? Some of the greatest rock bands and rock songs came from the 70's.
I agree with the good old vintage wine comment though, definitely not corked, but better with age, that sums up the band and this album for me. Go out and buy it! Can't wait for the next release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rocks like a b*****d!, 18 April 2011
By 
Melvyn Huntley (Poole, Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into The Wild (Audio CD)
With previous studio outing Wake The Sleeper Uriah Heep gained lots of (well deserved) plaudits. But part of me wasn't quite convinced that it was as miles ahead of the other releases by this line up as suggested in some quarters. I actually prefer Sea Of Light, but that's personal taste I suppose. As great an album as Sleeper is I felt that Heep could probably push the envelope just that little bit more. And this is exactly what they have done with Into The Wild...

The triple tour de force of "Nail On The Head", "I Can See You" and the title track leave you quite breathless. And just as you are expecting an obligatory ballad the mid tempo heavy hammond organ-driven "Money Talk" and the galloping "I'm Ready" let you know that the band are in no mood to take prisoners. There are moments of light and shade, as one would expect with such a talented bunch of musicians. But this is an album dominated by big riffs and catchy choruses.

Much has been made of "new" drummer Russell Gilbraith, and he really is one hell of a drummer. But it should be said that Mike Paxman's superb sparkling-but-live-feel production allows all of the band to shine. Tevor Bolder's bass lines are a delight, bottom-heavy and a perfect fit with the drum monster. Phil Lanzon's keyboards are, as usual, seriously impressive. While Bernie Shaw gives possibly his best vocal performance ever on record. And as for guitarist Mick Box...well, he's Mick. You can almost see his rather infectious grin as you listen to this album. In fact the entire band's enthusiasm is palpable!

This is a VERY capable unit who are in the midst of a purple patch creatively (let's not forget the new songs on "Celebration"). Into The Wild just oozes life, musicianship and confidence. The songwriting partnership of Box/Lanzon continues to blossom; while Bolder's massive "Lost" moves the band in an almost Eastern direction; albiet with big guitar, drums, bass, keys and vocals!

I think that this is the best Uriah Heep album in more years than I care to remember; this from a line up that haven't produced a remotely average album in 20 years. If you are a Heep fan buy it. If you are not a Heep fan buy it and, if possible, go and see them live. You will not be disappointed. I can't imagine what heights they will aim for next. In the meantime I'm going to go and give Into The Wild (yet) another spin...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Into the Wild .. back to the 70's !!!!, 19 April 2011
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into The Wild (Audio CD)
WOW!! what a disc,the last 3 studio discs(discounting Celebration which was mostly rerecordings) have been superb but this is the business,for the first time in a long time the band have harnessed that undeniable Heep 70's sound,Sonic Origami had a crisp clean modern feel,while Sea Of Light & Wake The Sleeper hinted at the past while focusing on the modern sound,this is different it smoulders with 70's heep sound, be it Mick's ferocious guitar runs or Phil's Hammond organ,while the solid rythmn section underpins everything,best compliment i can pay Russell is that Lee Kerslake isnt missed(i dont say that lightly) while the icing on the cake is the superb vocal performance of Bernie's,possibly his finest on record.

Highlights are the fantastic 'Nail On The Head',which evokes memories of the 'Demons and Wizards/Magicians Birthday/Sweet Freedom' days,while tracks such as 'I Can See You' and 'Believe' are simple but effective rockers

The title track is thunder rock pure and simple while 'Southern Star' is carried along on a monster riff,Bolder's bass propels 'Money Talks to great heights while 'Lost' grinds out another heavy riff,absolute class.

This disc more than any other reinforces Heep's credentials as a top heavy rock band,the emphasis on the ROCK, the softer side of the band has been put in the shade with this disc,although it wouldnt be Heep without a superb ballad and 'Trial of Diamonds is quite magnificent(you can just see the dry ice billowing across the stage).

Which just leaves my favourite track,the acoustic led class of 'Kiss of freedom' which eventually evolves into epic keyboard outro while including some stun guitar from Mr Box,essentially the perfect track.

Easily Heep's best disc in decades,a touchstone to the past and a major pointer to the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Killer..no filler!, 18 April 2011
By 
J. W. Craig - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Into The Wild (Audio CD)
A group this long in the tooth should not be making albums as good as this (especially at this tempo).
Nowadays Deep Purple are at their best on the slower tempo numbers, but Uriah Heep are still playing hard driving rock, and still delivering the goods. I thought they would struggle to equal Celebration or Sleeper, but this surpassed all expectations.
Superb - if you like Uriah Heep, buy it, and if you don't check out the samples on You tube.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 18 April 2011
This review is from: Into The Wild (Audio CD)
this album is for anybody that loves hammond organ driven rock. if you like Deep Purple this ones for you. this album continues where wake the sleeper left off. its chock full of classic riffs ala Mick Box. when you play the cd it sounds like an old friend. its comfortably not to stretching but well played and has a modern production. Bernie Shaw shows he is a match for david Byron and Phil Lanzon excells on hammond. songs of note include I can see you, trial of diamonds and you wont be able to to singing the lead track Nail on the head. I think thats what this album does!!!! classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, Vibrant Album from Mick and Company, 21 Jan. 2012
By 
Erik Rupp (Southern California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Into The Wild (Audio CD)
Vibrant: Merriam-Webster definition; 2.) pulsating with life, vigor, or activity.

Wake The Sleeper was a surprisingly vital and vibrant album from 2008. It wasn't necessarily surprising that Uriah Heep put out a great album (they've done that many times before, most recently prior to that with 1995's Sea Of Light), but the surprise was just how energetic and youthful the band sounded.

Take that youthful energy and vitality and multiply it by two and you get Into The Wild. The comparisons to Deep Purple will forever dog these guys, but on Into The Wild it's as if they decided to lay down the gauntlet and take on their peers (with whom they shared a rehearsal building back around 1969 or so). Into The Wild is as good as any Purple album from the last 27 years. In fact, it's better than most of them. That's not to say that Deep Purple hasn't put out some great albums during that time - because they have - but Into The Wild is just that damned good.

Now as similar as Into The Wild is to Deep Purple there are also a lot of significant differences. The vocal melodies are closer to recent Iron Maiden albums than Purple, and the harmonies that the band has used since the beginning makes the album very different from what Purple does. Uriah Heep is their own band, with their own sound. The obvious similarity to Purple is the prominent use of a Hammond Organ as a key musical weapon of choice. However, Bernie Shaw is a very different vocalist from Ian Gillan or David Coverdale. Original Heep singer the late David Byron was very different from those two as well. But both bands developed their signature styles around the same time, and as Purple became the more successful and better known band Heep was always (wrongly) accused of copying Purple. So be it.

With Into The Wild Uriah Heep just goes for it. They combine their musical sophistication with occasional bursts of simplicity. They aren't afraid to play a simple song like, "Nail On The Head," on the same album as more complex songs like, "Trail Of Diamonds," or, "Southern Star." And they certainly aren't afraid to put the pedal to the Metal with songs like, "Into The Wild," "I'm Ready," and, "I Can See You." This isn't Heavy Metal circa 2011. This is Heavy Metal circa 1980. It's classy, melodic, and catchy - and fairly complex at times. But despite some old school Metal on the album I wouldn't call it a Heavy Metal album. It's a Classic Rock album on steroids. It's got the oomph to show that these guys may have gotten older, but they haven't slowed down or mellowed out. There are mellow moments, and a lot of dynamics, but this isn't an album geared towards fans of Sting or anyone like that. This is flat out Rock with some slightly progressive moments. And it's really, really good.

For more about the album go to VistaRecordsdotUS. Or just click, "Add to cart," and buy the thing now! You'll be very glad that you did. It's a great album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculous - but I love it, 21 Oct. 2011
By 
K. A. Elford (Chertsey, Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Into The Wild (Audio CD)
Back in the day Uriah Heep were always somewhat ridiculous. More Spinal Tap than Spinal Tap. No rock cliche undeployed. But often extremely enjoyable. I didn't expect much from Into the Wild but it is a kind of triumph. It is first of all, utterly preposterous most of the time. It has plenty of big, overblown choruses ('Red blood on the white snow') and is full to the brim with cod-heroic attitudes and stories (Don't cry, little sister, I won't be coming home'). It has some truly awful words: 'She's the candle that lights my room' starts second song, I Can See You. How much does she light up the room? Not that much by the sound of it. But immediately, abruptly, we are told 'Better watch out she's coming here soon'. Any particular reason we should watch out? All we know so far is that she's like a candle. Into the Wild starts by announcing that 'The soldiers are coming, they want me dead' - and adds, just in case we weren't clear - 'not alive'. But....the playing is great, the tunes are infectious, the production is excellent, Bernie Shaw sings very well and the whole thing is done with such elan you can't help be drawn in. It's ludicrous - but brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MARVELLOUS, 26 July 2011
This review is from: Into The Wild (Audio CD)
What can I say? No nonsense, great songs, solid performances all round - the rejuvinated Heep just keep delivering. Long may they continue....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Heep, 7 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Into The Wild (Audio CD)
Couln't believe this cd when I heard it. Better than anything Purple are putting out these days. While I'm listening to this cd I'm also hearin' Bad Co and Angel only ten times better. Mick and the boys are at the absolute top of their game. Absolutely lovin' it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not stuck on this heep line up could do with ..., 13 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into The Wild [VINYL] (Vinyl)
not stuck on this heep line up could do with a new singer the guy from heep freedom with some coaching vocally could do the job
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Into The Wild
Into The Wild by Uriah Heep
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews