Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant sourcebook
I have read many books on Hekate and this stands as one of my favourites. Some reviews on here state that it is nothing new and the information is available in various websites ,books etc.Although this may be true(personally i couldn't find some things online such as the link between vegeterianism and the priesthood of Hekate), it is highly successful in bringing this...
Published on 23 July 2009 by C. Norris

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable
I did enjoy the read, I just felt that it lacked where Sarah Iles Johnston's book on Hekate was strong. The information on Hekate and vegetarianism was unique. But if you own Sarah's book, you can pass this one up!
Published on 20 July 2010 by Sarah Durrand


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant sourcebook, 23 July 2009
By 
C. Norris (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have read many books on Hekate and this stands as one of my favourites. Some reviews on here state that it is nothing new and the information is available in various websites ,books etc.Although this may be true(personally i couldn't find some things online such as the link between vegeterianism and the priesthood of Hekate), it is highly successful in bringing this information together in a comprehensive,easy to understand book that is clearly well researched. I found ever chapter interesting but my favourites were 'Hymns' which includes Prayer to Selene for any operation,'Invocation' which includes a description of a summoning of Hekate, 'Defixiones'-a detailed description of binding curses and 'Charms from the PGM' which includes a list of charms in the Greek Magical Papyri'. There are some great mini-chapters regarding Hekates followers including Medea,Circe and The witches of Thessaly. I only wish some of the chapters had been a bit longer though it does contain an extensive bibliography which has introduced me to some books on Hekate that i had not discovered before. I think the difference between this and other resource books on Hekate is that it is written by people who have a working relationship with Hekate and genuinally enjoy writing about her. I feel that it has helped my own relationship with Hekate as well. I also recommend their other book Hekate-Keys to the crossroads' which included personal account of people who work with Hekate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a fantastic read, 30 Aug 2009
'Hekate Liminal Rites' is a truly fascinating read. The authors' writing is extremely well researched, and draws upon both accurate and historical material throughout this work. However, unlike so many other historical studies, this little book also manages to evoke such a presence of Hekate that it is almost experiential; and I found it impossible to continue reading without first lighting a candle (or three!!) for this deity.

The book is a total of 30 chapters, and each chapter focuses on a specific aspect of Hekate and her place in history, religion, ritual and magic. The work draws upon various sources, including the Greek Magical Papyri and many playwrights, poets and scholars. An early chapter of the book focuses on Hekate's role in the ancient Eleusian Mysteries - and this was of particular interest to me. It was good to see this association being studied, as Hekate's role in relation to this particular mystery tradition is often over-simplified in modern interpretations of the rites.

The book moves on to discuss the role of Hekate as mistress of herbs and herb lore (in particular, the use of the baneful herbs) and lists herbs which were particularly associated with the Goddess, together with their uses in ritual and magic. There is also a section on historically recorded food offerings and libation. The authors also present an interesting account of vegetarianism in ancient Greece; however, they do not hide the fact that ritual sacrifice was also a big part of Hekate's rites - with domestic dogs and lizards both appearing on the Goddesses 'wish list' !!

'Hekate: Liminal Rites' defines the historical reasons behind Hekate's association with the crossroads, and death; a subject which, in my opinion, has been long-overdue. The authors also discuss the offerings which would traditionally be made at the crossroads, and also go on to discuss misconceptions which surround this deity.

This work also suggests some interesting links between the Hekate rites (recorded in such documents as the Greek Magical Papyri and the Greek Hygromanteia) and the Grimoires. This is where I start to glaze over, as I am not AT ALL well-versed in the Grimoires! However this book has certainly given me a few clues as to their origins - which I for one will certainly be exploring.

All in all, a fantastic read - illuminating, well researched, and leaves the reader wanting to explore the mysteries of Hekate for themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accessible without dumbing down, 22 Dec 2009
By 
Magin Rose (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Liminal Rites is a triumph of passion and patient scholarship. Much more accessible than other works on this ancient goddess, this book is a treaure-house for anyone wishing to deepen their understanding of this complex and enduring deity.

As with other works by these authors it is clear that their intent is to illuminate the subject for the reader. The book is clear and intelligible but does not seek to simplify the subtleties of history nor to disguise interpretation as truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars READ THIS BOOK!!!, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hekate Liminal Rites - A historical study of the rituals, spells and magic of the Torch-bearing Triple Goddess of the Crossroads (Kindle Edition)
Very well written book the best so far, source of information about Hecate.The best start towards the understanding of the ''concept'' of Hecate...Sorita you are a star!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars supper, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
loved this book full of good info, arrived on time a supper speed and was value for money, a seller you can rely on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A serious study about Hekate, 4 April 2013
By 
poursaid mehran (paris, grigny France) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting study of Hekate through history and also modern wichcraft practitioners.
The author had acces to a large amount of informations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Reference Work!, 10 Oct 2010
Sorita's work with the Goddess Hekate is unprecedented. Earlier this year she launched the unique Rite of Her Sacred Fires unto the world, followed by the anthology Hekate Her Sacred Fires. This book, which she co-authored with her occultist husband David Rankine is however my favourite work she has produced on Hekate to date.

It seems like someone should have done a book like this before, but the thing is they have not. The research goes into areas that other books on Hekate does not, and its clear that the authors must have been familiar with the other key works and instead of producing something to rival it they produced this book, which clearly compliments the work presented in the other books. It focusses on the areas of spiritual and magical practice, therefore making this a perfect book not only for scholars and students interested in learning more about the Goddess Hekate, but also for practitioners of magic today who want to be able to take inspiration from the ancient practices.

I myself have been interested in Hekate for many years and much of the material I found in here was completely new to me. The authors drew on their extensive knowledge of a variety of magical traditions in this book, which is truly a treasure for anyone interested in the Goddess of the Crossroads!

Let me also add, that the cover image by Joanna Barnum is stunning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable, 20 July 2010
I did enjoy the read, I just felt that it lacked where Sarah Iles Johnston's book on Hekate was strong. The information on Hekate and vegetarianism was unique. But if you own Sarah's book, you can pass this one up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hecate and its psychology, 16 May 2013
By 
J. E. Lee - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hekate Liminal Rites - A historical study of the rituals, spells and magic of the Torch-bearing Triple Goddess of the Crossroads (Kindle Edition)
Thee text reads as an amalgamation of information without much discrimination. Almost the sort one would get searching the net...

The mysterious side of the goddess remains untouched, under a lot of words,

It may be that the text takes time to deal with?

G.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews