Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game
Alice - Madness returns is a very beautiful and great looking game. you will need a good PC to run it in the very high settings. Ive been playing for 5 hours and only 25% of the game is completed. It must be a very long game.Its a bit like Medieval on the psone / and Evil twin on dreamcast and pc.if you like these games than its a must buy for you. The game has Drm. after...
Published on 17 Jun 2011 by Mr. Kern J. G. Allen

versus
59 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Close but not close enough
Customer Video Review     Length:: 4:20 Mins
Alice: Madness Returns stays true to the original whilst streamlining combat and exploration (of what little there is). Watch my video review to get the full lowdown :)
Warning: Video contains few uses strong language!
Published on 21 Jun 2011 by A. P


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Close but not close enough, 21 Jun 2011
By 
A. P "Persepolis" (Eastbourne, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Alice: Madness Returns (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Length:: 4:20 Mins

Alice: Madness Returns stays true to the original whilst streamlining combat and exploration (of what little there is). Watch my video review to get the full lowdown :)
Warning: Video contains few uses strong language!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game, 17 Jun 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Alice: Madness Returns (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Alice - Madness returns is a very beautiful and great looking game. you will need a good PC to run it in the very high settings. Ive been playing for 5 hours and only 25% of the game is completed. It must be a very long game.Its a bit like Medieval on the psone / and Evil twin on dreamcast and pc.if you like these games than its a must buy for you. The game has Drm. after installing you have to Activate the serial code online. You DO NOT need to make a EA account to play.After you done this you can play the game from the Icon and with no CD-game in the cd-player.YOU DO NOT HAVE TO BE ONLINE TO START THE GAME
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh God the Glitches..., 26 Aug 2012
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Alice: Madness Returns (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I bought this game for PC, played it, graphics are awesome and artwork is amazing but...
Oh God.
The Glitches.
The first one came in The Mad Hatter's Domain, where I couldn't actually use the umbrella, then my ranged weapon wouldn't switch out to my sword.
And this was after checking the internet several times for fixing, altering the game's readme, uninstalling and reinstalling the game and restarting my profile. The game itself is amazing, brilliant storyline, but they seriously need to fix those flipping glitches, because they're actually preventing me from playing the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Got potential but where's the PC patch?, 12 July 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Alice: Madness Returns (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
The Good:
I like the environments and the story, I want to play this game!
The not so good:
I was all excited at the beginning when it offered to play in 1st person as I've been playing L4D2 a lot. Unfortunately that is not the case for the whole game. I personally find 3rd person very, very annoying so have had real problems making the jumps even in easy mode, in fact, to the point I may not play it anymore out of sheer annoyance, yes, rage in wonderland.
The jumps would be so easy in 1st it really bugs me.
The mouse is way to sensitive and even on low can spin you on the spot, the auto aim is abysmal to the point you cant really use it so end up using the knife instead or trying to point and shoot but that is not good either.
No manual save is a real annoyance also, esp as the jumps take you back to the start of the run each time you fall. After being used to the fast moving L4D2 this is just painfully slow and not really exceptable in a modern game, it was annoying in 1990 when it was the norm but now just unacceptably tedious.
You will need to create an online EA account if you don't already have one to register the game, then the server sends a key which decrypts the game files. On the plus the game will then play without the disk in the drive but you need to be online. You don't need to log in each time and there is no chat/community etc as it is Sony DRM based, so be sure to let Sony through your firewall at all times. I'm sure you can trust them to keep there tech and your PC secure, oh hang on a minute : /
The monsters keep repeating also, so get a bit boring.

Overall:
I really want to play this game and am quite disappointed by the bugs, repetitiveness and DRM, I may use some cheats and just go on a god like tour of Wonderland.
I'm hoping they patch it very soon. Gave 3 stars as I want to like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not good, 28 Jan 2012
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Alice: Madness Returns (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Pros firstly
The game is styled within an inch of its life and as a result it looks beautiful
Interesting story line
The character of Alice is very likable
The game does support the xbox gaming controller which is a plus
Erm that's about it.

Cons
The graphics fall down on some of the most basic points. While the huge landscapes and characters are brilliantly done the smaller details have fallen by the wayside eg. A spiked floor with the spikes moving up and down through the floor and the spikes and the holes don't even match up.

The combat is very repetitive. Dodge, hit, dodge, hit. Repeat until done
The 'puzzles' or more correctly, the obstacle courses which comprise most of the game get very dull and frustrating very quickly. The main problem is no variation in the obstacles.

The aiming system which you are encouraged to use is terrible. Luckily its not necessary but if you want to use ranged weapons quickly then its pretty essential. The targeter keeps moving from one enemy to the next and if you try and focus on just one enemy then it flicks backwards and forwards between the two. This was very annoying.

The interesting levels were cut very short. The Card Bridge for example was very fun but took only about 20mins to complete
The game is also only 12hours long

When you install the game you are forced to install EA Download Manager as well. This then needs to update but once you agree to the update it tries to install Origin as well. Erm hello EA. No one wants spyware on their computer! If you cancel the installation then the manager keeps complaining about not being up to date.

In all its a very average game weighed down by bad gameplay mechanics and the standard DRM that EA feels compelled to smother all their products with now days. Don't bother unless its less than 5 and you are very bored
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed this, but ......, 1 July 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Alice: Madness Returns (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
OK, I'll start with the positives. Graphically stunning. The levels are truly nightmarish in their depiction. A level where Alice jumps around on playing cards way up in the clouds is not for anyone nervous about heights. The storyline is engrossing, and the London sequences show us some truly grotesque characters. The foes you face are varied, and you have some pretty impressive weapons, especially when upgraded. Replayability factor is high. There is a lot to do and find, and you're unlikely to achieve it all in one playthrough. For example, you may find yourself with more than one path ahead. One of those may lead you to a collectible object or a side-game, while the other advances you through the level. Take the second option and a door closes behind you. With no way back, you'd have to play again to find out where the other path would have taken you and to do/collect what you missed the first time round. As a general warning, this game is NOT for children. Paedophilia and prostitution are recurrent themes, and the f-word is used on a number of occasions although none of this is unrealistic for 19th century London. There are a few niggles. There is no manual save function. The game autosaves at checkpoints, and as far as I can see you can only ever go back to your last save. If you die by falling off a ledge or by contacting some hazardous object, you are returned to the game somewhere nearby. If you die in combat however, you go back to the last checkpoint with everything to do again and there is an annoying 'do you want to continue?' screen (all that is missing is 'please insert another coin'). Some of the platform-jumping sequences are very difficult and frustrating, and seem to go on forever. The auto-targeting feature is problematic; using the Tab key to switch targets rarely seems to work. Another minor niggle is that although the London dialogue is obviously British-voiced, the subtitles use American spelling. I suppose I should be grateful they didn't set it in New York. On the whole, definitely worth buying. I've played through it twice, both on 'easy', and I'll play it again (probably still on easy).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good game but EA and Spicy Horse let it down a bit, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alice: Madness Returns (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Oh wow ... What a game. If you played the original American McGee`s Alice, you`ve got to play this one.

As you`d expect, the graphics are so much more fluid and, after levelling them up, the weaponary is a lot stronger although the controls are a little different so you`ll have to get used to them but once mastered, you`ll really enjoy it.

In the normal gameplay, Alice gets a new dress after each level completed which gives you the option of swapping around but (unless you fiddle with the .inf files) you won`t get the total of six until you`ve finished the game at which point, you can re-play it with a full wardrobe and in case anyone`s wondering, stripey tights are the order of the day except for the water dress which sees her barefoot.

There is a downside to this version though and that is the bugs. No, not the caterpillar or even the flying beetles that drop something suspiciously explosive on her head but the game bugs and if you find something not working as it should do and then `Google` it, you`ll find that a lot of people in a lot of forums have the same gripe but if you`re confident enough to mess about with the .inf files, there are plenty of guys out there with solutions to whatever difficulty you come across ... It`s just a shame that EA and Spicy Horse haven`t cottoned on to it and patched the game accordingly.

The concept of the game is brilliant and for the money it`s worth giving it a go even if you hadn`t been captivated by the original version as long as you`re aware that it`s sometimes a bit buggy although most problems can be solved with some in-depth researching. For the male population out there the answer is yes, you can get quite a few other dresses for Alice but you`ll have to work out how for yourselves ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alice Brilliance Returns., 4 Jan 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Alice: Madness Returns (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
When me and my boyfriend first sat down to play this game, the eery violin music really got us excited.

The graphics are amazing and the colours are astonishing. Not only is the design of the game great, the story is also really good. The fact that the game is long also gives us something to aim for and know that we still have loads left so we don't have to worry about playing too much all at once.

The controls are easy to change and work aswell.

All aspects of this game are brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars immersive game, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alice: Madness Returns (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
its a good game but it could be perfect with more harder puzzle and enigma. The strory is interesting and its such a pleasure to enter the mind of Alice liddell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but repetitive, 1 Aug 2012
By 
R. L. Araujo "Bex" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Alice: Madness Returns (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I've been looking for an interesting quirky game with a lead female for a while now and had hoped I would find this in Alice, however this game has many flaws that continually chip away at the enjoyment. The game starts beautifully some gorgeous graphics and top class voice acting allows you to get into the game and Alice herself right away although I would have liked to have some sort of over view of the previous game. The game starts to go downhill though once Alice is in wonderland. This is because although the first few levels are beautiful they are so repetitive and tedious one simply loses the will to follow the story, the fighting mechanics are difficult to get a hold of as are the jumping mechanics, I have spent hours upon hours trying to make the same jump because instead of floating Alice simply falls to her death. The storyline itself becomes a little lost as well and the only bits I really enjoy are those out of wonderland. As it stands I have been unable to complete Alice as it is not the game I had wanted and I have no desire to do the same levels again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa852a198)

This product

Alice: Madness Returns (PC DVD)
Alice: Madness Returns (PC DVD) by Electronic Arts (Windows Vista / XP)
6.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews