Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blood Pressures
The mixed reviews this album's got kind of put me off a bit to begin with but now I've bought it I'm glad I did. It's not quite up to the level of Midnight Boom but the stand out tracks are so good they would fit on that album easy. Nail in My Coffin thumps it out something fearsome and Baby Says has been in my head for days. The opening bars of Damned If She Do are...
Published on 21 July 2011 by Adele Dylan

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what i had hoped for
The Kills are one of those bands that i have liked since their first album and have enjoyed their progression over time. Midnight Boom was a great album and quite different to No Wow before it, but Blood Pressures to me is maybe a step too far.
By that i mean the production, the songwriting and the delivery have all moved to a place i personally don't enjoy so much...
Published on 26 April 2011 by Souldier


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blood Pressures, 21 July 2011
This review is from: Blood Pressures (MP3 Download)
The mixed reviews this album's got kind of put me off a bit to begin with but now I've bought it I'm glad I did. It's not quite up to the level of Midnight Boom but the stand out tracks are so good they would fit on that album easy. Nail in My Coffin thumps it out something fearsome and Baby Says has been in my head for days. The opening bars of Damned If She Do are pure Exile era Stones - I don't have a higher compliment available than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "BLOOD PRESSURES" CONTAINS SOME OF THE KILLS BEST MATERIAL, 4 April 2011
By 
nin/ja77 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Pressures (Audio CD)
The Kills return with their fourth album "Blood Pressures" which is the follow up to 2008's "Midnight Boom". So whats happened in the three years since "Midnight Boom"? Well Alison Mosshart spent the last couple of years singing and touring with The Dead Weather(jack white) and Jamie Hince has spent most of his time with Fiancée supermodel Kate Moss! There was even some doubt a while back if we would get another Kills record as Alison seemed happy enough to continue with The Dead Weather(not that the dead weather have broken up), but thankfully we have got another record as "Blood Pressures" features some of The Kills best work to date!

Where as last record "Midnight Boom" saw The Kills adopt a much more pop friendly sound than its two predecessors "Keep You On The Mean Side" and "No Wow", "Blood Pressures" is a lot darker, dirtier and heavier! That was evident when we first got to hear new single "Satellite" which is one of the heaviest tracks The Kills have ever done, the guitars are gritty, the chorus is big and bluesy. It was now clear that Alison's time in The Dead Weather is probably responsible for this new sound. The Kills set their intentions early on the album with opener "Future Starts Slow" which has a big drum sound(it starts out like the yeah yeah yeahs track "Mystery Girl" just heavier) and a shared vocal between Mosshart and Hince, It does not sound like a track done by two people and a drum machine, Hince's guitar playing sounds great also.

Track three "Heart Is A Beating drum" is one of the stand out tracks on the album that has a great blues riff and features a ping pong sound in the background that is also heard in "Nail In My Coffin" which is a song that wouldn't have been out of place on "Midnight Boom" and features loads of "oh oh oh oh oh's". Jamie goes it alone on the subdued "Wild charms" which works as more of an intro into "DNA" which is again grittier and heavier than The Kills ever were before. The ballad "The Last Goodbye" sung brilliantly with passion by Mosshart is a wonderful song that will probably see a lot of camera phone action.

The album finishes with "Pots And pans" a song that wouldn't have been out of place on the last Dead Weather album. "Blood Pressures" shows real progress on The Kills part, especially on Mosshart's(this is her fourth full record since 2008) part as she sounds like her time away with The Dead Weather has taught her everything doesn't have to be minimal. This is really a great album by The Kills their most ambitious to date and on this form you can only see them evolve more!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely great., 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Pressures (Audio CD)
Saw The Kills in November last year and the c.d is perfect as heard most of the tracks. A well played c.d.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great Kills, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Pressures (Audio CD)
I really enjoy this CD. The Kills are great and I recommend it to everybody who likes this kind of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Pressures (MP3 Download)
Not as strong as Midnight Boom or No Wow but still plenty to keep you listening, especially 'Future starts slow' and 'You don't own the road'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what i had hoped for, 26 April 2011
This review is from: Blood Pressures (Audio CD)
The Kills are one of those bands that i have liked since their first album and have enjoyed their progression over time. Midnight Boom was a great album and quite different to No Wow before it, but Blood Pressures to me is maybe a step too far.
By that i mean the production, the songwriting and the delivery have all moved to a place i personally don't enjoy so much. They have always felt wound up tight, ready to explode, but always just simmering instead of doing the rock cliche big ejaculation. On Blood Pressures however it feels they have become more 'normal'. they just sound like an OK rock band to me, nothing as different and full of character as before. The drum machine concept now feels redundant with the beats sounding more just like a very mechanical rock drummer rather than a cool, interesting collection of lo-fi loops. Alison's voice seems sweeter and the emotional engagement feels lacking to me. The opening track has had a few plays in my car, but after listening through the whole album 3 times i much prefer to go back to their earlier work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pressure Is On!!!, 9 April 2011
By 
Steven T. Jarvis "Skarekrow" (Thanet, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Pressures (Audio CD)
I have enjoyed The Kills since I first heard them two years ago, since which time I have purchased their back catalogue. Having said that, I was astounded by this, their album, not because it is as good as I would have expected it to be, but because it is so very much better than I could have hoped. It is a more complete and compelling opus than its predecessors; not one single track is anything less than beautifully crafted treasure to behold.

Specific songs stick in my mind: The Heart Is A Beating Drum and The Last Goodbye; vocally more interesting and capable than so many of their peers, this album is The Kills at their very best; it's stylish, intense, vital and dynamic - and it shows that The Kills have a talent that isn't stuck in a groove but lends itself, very capably, to different styles and musical influences.

I loved this album and, so far, it is one of my favourite albums of 2011.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully Wicked Voodoo, 4 April 2011
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blood Pressures (Audio CD)
Sometimes The Kills come on so dirty you feel as though you shouldn't
really be listening. The very best kind of illicit musical pleasure!

Having Ms Mosshart and Mr Hince back with a new recording is reason to
rejoice. Their fourth album 'Blood Pressures' shows no sign of slowing
down or slacking. This fine duo still possess the same elemental power
which has been uniquely their own since their 2003 debut 'Keep Mean
On Your Side', which is to say that they remain monumentally mean!

Mr Hince plays guitar like a demon. Rough and raw and raunchy; the
grinding chords and spiky accents conjure billowing clouds of edgy
sonic mayhem, full of shadows and things that scratch and bite!
Ms Mosshart's bruised and battered voice has never sounded better
either. Listen to her gloriously downbeat performance on 'The Last
Goodbye'; the effortless pathos she generates is extraordinarily moving.
Or there again, on 'Nail In My Coffin' she puts out like a true soul diva,
cranking up the energy against Hince's maelstrom of ragged bluesy
fire and fury until the rug is ripped to shreds under our feet!

The dark arts have rarely been better served! Opening track 'Future
Starts Slow' makes so much out of so little. This is the true magic
of The Kills. The stripped-down elemental arrangement really does
make the blood course just a little more quickly through our veins.
So too the deliciously grungy 'Damned If She Do'. With its unison vocals
and rattling snare it oozes a ghastly but hugely seductive animal energy.

Heck it's all good but 'Satellite' has got to be heard to be believed!
The staggering, stuttering riff chokes and splutters along like a
strange wounded creature half flesh and bone, half machine, its entrails
dragging behind it in the dust. A tormented and tumescent voodoo anthem!

The Kills mean business and 'Blood Pressures'
is their hottest calling card yet!

Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow Pressure, 28 Oct 2011
This review is from: Blood Pressures (Audio CD)
Really fallen in love with 'Blood Pressures', their 4th album. Took a few listens to appreciate it, and now is one of the most played CD's in my library.

Favourite tracks are:
Future Starts Slow
DNA
Baby Says
and The Last Goodbye

Appreciate this album so much more than their first 'No Wow'.

Recommended. Can't wait to see them next month in Amsterdam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To kill for, 5 July 2011
By 
SMcQ (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blood Pressures (Audio CD)
Alison Mosshart returns to the day job alongside Jamie Hince as The Kills reconvene once more. It's all here, Hince's raggedy guitar-playing mixed with invention and classicism that channels Keef. Mosshart's voice and stagecraft sharpened by a two-album stint fronting the Dead Weather. A tour de force then. Most definitely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blood Pressures
Blood Pressures by The Kills
Buy MP3 Album£6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews