Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soul Full
After reading the other reviews I wasn't going to bother, but I've been playing it all day and this record is so good. There is no filler - just music that hits your soul from beginning to end. I don't do track run downs but a couple get special mention, at least for today. It will be others tomorrow. 'Midnight in Harlem' should become a classic. I could listen to it...
Published on 9 Jun 2011 by oldandintheway

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Revelator
Disappointing really. I bought this to listen to the guitar playing, and there is some nice playing, but not that much. Certainly Derek Trucks plays a few beautiful solos, but overall I found the whole album unmemorable. To make matters worse, Susan's voice gets old fast. She is a bit too shouty in places, and lacks that real vocal quality - tone if you like - that makes...
Published on 15 Oct 2011 by Trevor A. Jordan


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Trucks Dynasty, 5 Sep 2011
By 
I've been a fan of Derek Trucks for many years. However, teamed up with his wife Susan Tedeschi, his latest album Revelator, in my opinion, is one of the very best he's produced so far. Tedeschi has a strong gospel edge to her voice and Trucks really lets it shine through never overplaying his solos. Standout tracks are the great groove opener `Come See About Me' and `Bound For Glory' where Tedeschi's gospel roots singing is wonderfully supported by some classic Hammond organ that puts the hairs up on the back of your neck, and Trucks powerhouse Gibson SG slide guitar solos. Wonderful, it's a must have album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars my thoughts, 19 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelator (Audio CD)
having heard this band on the radio i was so impressed i bought this album which doesn't dissapoint a very bluesie rocking feel good album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truck load of great songs., 9 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. D. A. Carp "Dave" (Stoke on Trent, Staffordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Liked the last one that Derek Trucks band recorded, but I love this great songs, great vibe. There is no better slide guitar player than Trucks, Tedeschi has a great voice, and the band sound fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 8 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. R. J. H. Milne "rogerm" (Worthing, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelator (Audio CD)
I heard one track from this CD on a BBC radio 2 programme and was instantly attracted. So much so that I bought it straightaway. All the tracks are in a similar vein and the sound produced is just excellent rocking blues!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another fine album from Derek Trucks - now with Susan Tedeschi, 28 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelator (Audio CD)
Torn between 4 and 5 stars for this review.

Derek Trucks has made some fine albums (check them out elsewhere on amazon) and he has a superbly fluid style with the guitar. On this album the style moves on yet again - with some delicious interplay with Susan Tedeschi and the rest of the very fine band - and it deserves to be aa huge success. File it under blues / rock / soul as you see fit - its a cracking good album.

The catch is that there is one obvious area for improvement, which is - at the risk of starting a domestic... - the vocal range.

I have to agree with the reviewer who said that Susan Tedeschi's vocals are quite ... edgy and energetic, or even "rough". Sometimes this works (eg the opener, come see about me) and on some tracks she sings in a gentler more melodic style (shelter, midnight in harlem). But elsewhere - it grates. And it grates even more if you know DT's earlier albums, and you've heard the vocals on them (Mike Mattison is the lead singer) - very soulful and melodic. You can hear him on harmony vocals on this CD too.

So ... If anyone from TTB is reading this - please please for the next album(s), share the lead singing duties between Mike Mattison and Susan Tedeschi...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 25 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelator (Audio CD)
This is such a "Cant put down or switch off" Album.....Utterly fantastic.
I saw them perform together on the "Clapton Crossroads 2010" DVD.
I also saw them perform at the Royal Albert Hall, as they guested with BB King back in June. So I thought I should give them a listen.
The album is fantastic, with just a couple of "album fillers".You know what I mean. But the 2 band merge with 2 drummers works well. Tadeschi vocals are a mellow soulful blues which are fantastic and trucks slide guitar has an excellent phrasing quality.

Big thumbs up, fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointed, 28 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelator (Audio CD)
I am a fan of both Tedeschi and Trucks and I must admit Trucks is my favourite by far. He is a World class blues and jazz musician. This album, however, seems like a Susan Tedeschi album with Derek's backing and support so, unfortunately, it did little for me. Not what I expected from the Trucks team. There was very little new here. Sorry to the Trucks team but I hope you can give us a different album next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring!, 16 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelator (Audio CD)
After giving the album several listens in the hope that it would grow on me, it hasn't.

There are bursts of excellent guitar playing here and there, but on the whole, the songs are just bland. In fact, everything about the album is bland. Nothing really stands out.

Not a patch on Derek Truck's solo work - Songlines and/or Out of the Madness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dissapointing, 18 July 2011
This review is from: Revelator (Audio CD)
Well,I`ve been listening to this in the car for several weeks in the hope that it would improve with further listening..but I`m sorry to say it doesn`t,
Overproduction with too many musicians,and egos,results in a series of samey sounding tracks and,frankly,just a noise.Susan Tedeschi`s vocals sound strained,remarkably like Elkie Brookes,and without the soulfull feeling that marked her brilliant second album and live performances.The only redeeming feature is some great guitaring from Mr & Mrs Trucks.
I hope that the next effort will follow the example of the latest offerings from Greg Allman and Steve Miller..Keep it simple!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa73b3c30)

This product

Revelator
Revelator by Derek Trucks Band (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews