Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars15
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£10.19
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 June 2009
In late October 1965, The Kinks went back into the studio on the back of ever increasing infamy due to continuing onstage feuding between siblings, riots in auditoriums at Kink shows and of course the well documented issues with the border authorities of the United States, so to call their latest release The Kink Kontroversy was amusing but also putting the band's issues mildly. Produced by the ever present and approaching godlike genius, Shel Talmy, the album was the beginning of a six year golden period for The Kinks but at the same time marked the end of an era.

The Kink Kontroversy was released in November 1965 on Reprise, it was really the last of the hard edged R&B albums that The Kinks produced, ultimately marking the end of Dave Davies' influence over the group, tipping the balance over in favour of Brother Ray. But here with this LP the razor sharp guitar style of Dave is still in place, nowhere more so than on the opening track, a thumping version of Sleepy John Estes' Milk Cow Blues, marvellously gritty and brutal, this is a fine opener with the brothers Davies sharing vocal duties.

But by track two, the more retrospective side of The Kinks begins to emerge from the savagery of the opener, Ring The Bells is a gorgeous little song, the same can be said of track five also, I Am Free is a beautiful song with both brothers using lovely Kink styled harmonies to give a wonderful depth and feeling to this number.

Track six is one of the singles recorded during 1965, Till The End of The Day has one of those Dave Davies thunder chords which littered all the hits for The Kinks during their early years, a marvellous song which delivers what you would expect it to effortlessly. The B-Side to this single can also be found on this LP, Where Have All The Good Times Gone is just fabulous, seriously. Not a single but certainly sharing similar values to these two songs is What's In Store For Me with Dave on vocal duties, adding to the wealth of quality to be had on this LP.

My favourite song on this album has to be track number ten, Its Too Late is a relatively simple song, but has all the elements that made The Kinks the band they were, bitchy and resentful lyrics, a glorious progressive guitar, a reserved rhythm section and a cheeky piano bit, brilliant, brilliant, brilliant, man I love this band!

Like with all the great Kink albums, this has been reissued in recent years to include other memorable moments from the year of its initial release, and 1965 was a good year for The Kinks, especially with the creation of cracking songs like Sittin' On My Sofa and of course the tremendous Dedicated Follower of Fashion.

True to form, with all Kink albums from 1965 to 1971, this release is a little Bobby Dazzler, a stunning creation with limited if any flaws. With The Kink Kontroversy we have the backdrop of a band struggling with itself and with the authorities, going into the studio and coming out the other side with an album which shows a band on the up and freeing up room for itself so it can prosper and develop further in later years.

This moment was where it all began.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2011
If you are a fan of the Kinks and wondering whether it is worth to spend your money on these reissues or not, then I can tell you that it IS worth it - even if you already own the old CDs. This release is so much better sounding than previous releases, even if it is in mono (no stereo version exists). The remastering job is excellent. I don't care so much about the bonus tracks, although they are great, too, as well as the booklet. But the main reason for me is the full sound. Finally this issue is not disturbing anymore and you can rediscover the albums with their great Davies-compositions!
By this album you could really experience his songwriting skills, which would develop further on the successor 'Face To Face'. There are many good songs and hidden gems on this record, e.g. 'Where Have All The Good Times Gone', 'The World Keeps Going Round', 'Ring The Bells' or 'I Am On An Island'. This IS great stuff and its quality easily compares with Beatles and Stones.
22 comments|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2006
The Kinks Kontroversy marks the end of the first hard rocking era of the Kinks; the follow-up album would be produced by Ray Davies himself.

The album is mostly songs in the well-known Kinks-style. All songs except one are selfpenned, and though it is a mixture of rockers and and softer songs, this is probably on of the most hard sounding Kinks albums, which of course has a lot to do with Shel Talmy`s production style.

Apart from Estes`"Milk Cow Blues", which I find unnecessary and pretty uninteresting, there are not weak songs here. The single "Till the End of the Day" which was the first Kinks single I bought back in the 60`s, is another "You Really Got Me"- rip off; but it`s the best of them all. The B-side "I`m on an Island" is another highlight.

There are several indications of the more sophisticated songwriting that was to come. Songs like "Dedicated Follower of Fashion" (bonus-track) and "Where Have All Good Times Gone" show that Ray Davies had already developed as a songwiter both lyrically and musically. The great ballad "Ring the Bells" also shows Davies softer side.

My favourites are "Till the End of the Day", "Ring the Bells", "I`m On an Island", "I Am Free" and "You Can`t Win".
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2011
The Kink Kontroversy is the third album by the Kinks and like the transition the Beatles made in 1966 from the Hard Day's Night and Help era to the Rubber Soul/Revolver and then Sgt Pepper, the Kontroversy can be seen as the last of the first batch of Kinks albums.

This album saw the end of that early 60s sound and the move toward a more thoughtful, better produced, less loud sound of the late 60s.

While the album contains the old style song like: "I'm on an island", "ring the bells", "Gotta get the first plane", it also holds the new direction of the Kinks, with "Where have all the Good Times Gone" covered by Bowie later and "Dedicated Follower of Fashion".

This is an important album in the Kinks' evolution, and it ranks an equal with the early Beatles or Stones

Bernard Kennedy
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Like many fans of this great British band - I've watched the release of 6 Kinks 'Deluxe Editions' since the beginning of 2011 with a certain amount of skepticism. Haven't these albums been done to death already and isn't this just more monetary milking of it?

But then many fans began to rave about the great new remastered sound on these doubles so I took the plunge - and they were right. These Deluxe Editions for THE KINKS are probably the best we're ever going to get audiowise and they’ve been presented with a fantastic eye to detail - even managing three Previously Unreleased performances on this particular twofer. Here are the not so Kontroversial details...

UK released 28 March 2011 in the UK (April 2011 in the USA) - "The Kink Kontroversy: Deluxe Edition" by THE KINKS is a 2CD Reissue/Remaster on Universal/Sanctuary 275 628-5 (Barcode 602527562858) and plays out as follows:

Disc 1 (30:14 minutes):
1. Milk Cow Blues
2. Ring The Bells
3. Gotta Get The First Plane Home
4. When I See That Girl Of Mine
5. I Am Free
6. Till The End Of The Day
7. The World Keeps Going Round [Side 2]
8. I’m On An Island
9. Where Have All The Good Times Gone
10. It's Too Late
11. What's In Store For Me
12. You Can't Win
Tracks 1 to 12 are their 3rd LP "The Kink Kontroversy" - released 26 November 1965 in the UK on Pye Records NPL 18131 (Mono) and Pye NSPL 18131 (Export Only issue in Simulated Stereo) - and 30 March 1966 in the USA on Reprise Records R 6197 (Mono) and Reprise RS 6197 (Simulated Stereo). The MONO MIX only is used for this 2011 CD Remaster. RAY DAVIES wrote all songs except "Milk Cow Blues" by Sleepy John Estes and "I Am Free" by DAVE DAVIES.

Disc 2 (43:54 minutes):
1. Dedicated Follower Of Fashion (Mono Single)
2. Sittin' On My Sofa (Mono Single)
Tracks 1 and 2 are the non-album A&B-sides of a 7" single released 19 November 1965 in the UK on Pye 7N 15981 and 2 March 1966 in the USA on Reprise 0454
3. I'm Not Like Everybody Else (Mono Single)
Track 3 is the non-album B-side of “Sunny Afternoon” released 3 June 1966 in the UK on Pye 7N 17125 and July 1966 in the USA on Reprise 0497
4. Mr. Reporter (Outtake)
Track 4 first appeared as a Bonus on the March 1988 UK CD Reissue of "Face To Face" on Sanctuary/Essential ESM CD 479
5. Dedicated Follower Of Fashion (Alternate Take)
Track 5 first appeared as a Bonus on the March 1998 UK CD Reissue of "The Kink Kontroversy" on Sanctuary/Essential ESM CD 507
6. Time Will Tell (Outtake)
Track 6 first appeared on the October 1983 Vinyl LP "Dead End Street – The Kinks Greatest Hits" on the Bonus 10" that came with initial copies - but was withdrawn after legal action from The Kinks. First CD appearance was on the 1997 "Kollectable Kinks Kontraband" 2CD set in the Netherlands.
7. And I Will Love You (Unissued EP Track)
Track 7 appeared on the December 2008 "Picture Book" 6CD Box Set on Universal/Sanctuary 531 3049
8. I'm Not Like Everybody Else (Alternate Vocal) – PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED
9. All Night Stand (Demo)
10. Milk Cow Blues (Live)
11. Ray Talks About Songwriting [Dialogue only]
12. Never Met A Girl Like You Before (Live) - PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED
13. Wonder Where My Baby Is Tonight (Live)
Tracks 10 to 13 recorded 10 August 1965 live at the Playhouse Theatre in London – broadcast on the BBC's 'Saturday Club', 4 September 1965
14. Pete (Quaife) Talks About Records [Dialogue only]
15. Till The End Of The Day (Live)
16. A Well Respected Man (Live) - PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED
17. Where Have All The Good Times Gone (Live)
Tracks 14 to 17 recorded 13 December 1965 live at the Playhouse Theatre in London – first broadcast on the BBC's 'Saturday Club', 18 December 1965

As with all of these DELUXE EDITION reissues – there's a fact-filled picture-festooned 24-page booklet full of period details. In this case noted knowledgeable type BOB STANLEY has done the honours with some thorough liner notes (on the core album). In between the interviews you get photos of the UK LP artwork (with fay distressed look rear sleeve) along with many rare 7" single picture sleeves and EPs (Dutch, Mexican, Japanese, Spanish, French, German, Danish), US and UK trade adverts, newspaper clippings, memorabilia and snaps of the boys looking like delinquents you wouldn't want your daughter to bring home. The breakdown of the tracks is very well done too - what came from what and why. Both of the discs reflect the purple colouring of the original UK Pye Records LP label - with Side 1 pictured beneath the see-through tray of CD1 and Side 2 beneath the tray of CD2 – the "Dedicated Kinks" EP pictured on the fold-out flaps - all nice touches. My copy also comes with an outer 'Deluxe Collectors Edition' plastic slipcase which none of the other reissues I bought had? Niggles – there isn’t enough discussion on the contents of Disc 2 (the BBC stuff isn't talked about at all).

ANDREW SANDOVAL, DAN HERSCH (of Digiprep and Rhino fame) and ANDY PEARCE carried out the remasters - and the sound quality is exceptional. Comparing my single-disc 2004 version of "Milk Cow Blues" with this new 2011 MONO take and the punch is immediate - quite incredible in fact. The previous version was thinny – here the wallop is absolute - giving this raucous R&B cover a real kick in the undercarriage. I then play one of my favourite ballads of theirs – "Ring The Bell" – and I'm a remaster convert reaching for adjectives. Those high-strung Spanish strings are so clear – there is hiss – but it’s not drowning the track and if anything the whacking drums are ‘too’ clear – a complaint I’ll take any day of the week.

To the record itself – their 3rd album "The Kink Kontroversy" peaked at No. 9 in the UK LP charts – as did the hip-shaking 7" single "Till The End Of The Day" with its stunning "Where Have All The Good Times Gone" B-side. Their 2nd album "Kinda Kinks" had hit No. 3 earlier in March of 1965 in Britain – so No. 9 for the LP and the 45 was a good follow-through. The brilliant and socially aware "Dedicated Follower Of Fashion" would rightly go to No. 4 on the UK single charts in March 1966 - just as "Kontroversy" was being released as an LP in the States. Musical historians have long since viewed "The Kink Kontroversy" as a bit of a poisonous little bugger at heart – and you can certainly hear the anger and weariness of being in the limelight come sneaking through "Gotta Get The First Plane Home" and the worrying song "The World Keeps Going Round" – both sounding better than ever on this 'DE'.

Another fave rave is surely going to be "Where Have All The Good Times Gone" – a song so many have latched onto since - David Bowie on 1973's "Pin Ups" and Van Halen on 1982's "Diver Down" to name but two. Here it's sounding so fresh and alive. However you half expect Ray Davies to don a grass skirt and start rattling maracas on the Dr. No hula-hula shake of "I'm On An Island" – another witty and acidic take on the strange dynamic of relationships. "It's Too Late" sounds big but still a tad fuzzy around the edges (the doubled vocals are clearer). "What's In Store For Me" had the potential for another killer single – a choppy little groover that questions what the future will bring. I also like the Dave Davies lone contribution "I Am Free" - while the album ends on the distorted garage guitar of "You Can't Win" – Ray laying down the emotional law to another girl with dubious intentions.

The BONUS TRACKS are always a mixed bag – genius running alongside curios only uber-fans will ever play – and Disc 2 of this DE is no different. You can't go much wrong with "Dedicated Follower Of Fashion" and you could argue that the LP could have used its huge appeal and lyrical smarts. The non-album "Sittin' On My Sofa" is a genuine winner - but even better is the outtake "Mr. Reporter" a song that turns the tables on the tabloid hacks who hounded the band and their lifestyles. The Alternate Take of "Dedicated Follower Of Fashion" has wonderfully clear Bass and Guitar and frankly you can't help thinking that in any variant - it would have been a hit anyway. "Time Will Tell" is another outtake – Take 5 to be exact – and again Kinks fans will dig its fuzzed-up guitar groove. "And I Will Love You" sounds like Van Morrison's THEM complete with a weedy organ for backing. The first Previously Unreleased track is an 'Alternate Vocal' of "I'm Not Like Everybody Else" where it manages to sound like The Monkees circa 1964 getting down with their badass selves. It's a bit rough for sure but damn good too. "All Night Stand" is clearly a knackered Demo (a rough recording) but you can hear why it was included.

"...Coming to you from our London studio...this is that great British live show Top Of The Pops...and it's Blues time!" – the plummy BBC DJ announces in that so 60ts voice. Highlights include "Wonder Where My Baby Is Tonight" and Ray Davies talking about how his acetate for "I Go To Sleep" somehow made its way to Peggy Lee who recorded it (one of his heroes). The BBC recordings are superbly done – just as punchy as their LP counterparts. A hit single in the States on Reprise – "A Well Respected Man" is presented here in an unreleased live version – a more echoed take of this much-loved Kinks tune. You can kind of hear Davies losing the vocal every now and then – but it's still a great bonus.

To sum up - a superb new remaster, properly upgraded packaging and liner notes and extra tracks that actually warrant the title 'bonus'. Very nice indeed.

"...They seek him here...they seek him there..." – Ray Davies sang on the slippery "Dedicated Follower Of Fashion".

Your search is over – this is the version of "The Kink Kontroversy" to own...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
This is the Kinks on their way to becoming one of the top bands of the 1960s. Although Ray Davies had not yet reached the dizzying heights of Face to Face or The Village Green Preservation Society, he was certainly in the vicinity with songs such as I'm on an Island, Where Have all the Good Times Gone and The World Keeps Going Round. That Till the End of the Day and added inclusion of Dedicated Follower of Fashion I are also present makes this an essential buy for any Kinks fan. It's not perfect by any stretch but it is underrated and if anything, has gained stature since it's release. Recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2013
By The Kink Kontroversy Ray Davies was starting to show signs of the songwriting prowess which would make him one of Britain's most loved lyricists in subsequent years and although not quite as refined as anything on the next few albums, I'm On An Island and The World Keeps Going 'Round were small steps towards his mid/late '60s greatness. And there's still rave-ups in Milk Cow Blues and Till The End Of The Day and they're amongst the most exhilerating rockers The Kinks ever laid down. All in all, this is the best of their R 'n' B era albums.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2016
I particlarly liked 'When I SeeThat Girl of Mine' and 'I Am Free'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2015
Good songs. An example of The Kinks early work
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2015
bought for someone else.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)