Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute stunner of an album.
What to say, where to start... the eighties influences are there, and if you close your eyes you can imagine snatches of Scritti Politi a la "cupid and psyche", level 42, Duran Duran even... but this recording has its own life and identity.
From the moment I slipped it into the player on its first spin right to the end I had a huge grin on my face. Just an amazing...
Published on 20 July 2011 by Mr. S. M. Ballinger

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Big Let Down
Agreeing with London Cowboy here. Enjoyed 1st album. Edgy indie dance music. It showed great potential. This? Bland and very disappointing. Every track seems to merge into one over produced dance-light boy band esque dirge. Where has the edgy funky side gone?? Sure this is a record label attempt to make them more commercially acceptable, but for me does not work. Sad.
Published on 8 July 2011 by Graham S. Curtis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute stunner of an album., 20 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pala (Audio CD)
What to say, where to start... the eighties influences are there, and if you close your eyes you can imagine snatches of Scritti Politi a la "cupid and psyche", level 42, Duran Duran even... but this recording has its own life and identity.
From the moment I slipped it into the player on its first spin right to the end I had a huge grin on my face. Just an amazing piece of music with beats and rhythms to really lose yourself in. For me the title track, and Blue Cassette and Hawaiian Air are the stand-outs.... but really there isn't a bad not all the way through.
Sit in the sun, open something cold and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars yes son, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pala (Audio CD)
i got this shortly after seeing friendly fires live. it's an excellent album, a bit more varied i found than their last one and overall just good. get it son.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pala (Audio CD)
Thank you for this Great CD. Thoroughly enjoyed it and is always on my IPod. I love the drumming and the mood of the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can't stop playing this album!, 20 May 2011
This review is from: Pala (Audio CD)
... and because I am no one to you this probably means nothing. But I think everyone gets an album like this maybe once a year (or twice if you're lucky). It is an absolute physical and mental joy to fall in love with the truly excellent music on Friendly Fires' second album. Just before I hit play for the first time I worried momentarily that they would not out do, or even level, with their first album but - what a watse of ten seconds. I was hooked with the first song from radio play, and then as I listened entranced to the second, third, fourth... album track I knew this was my album of the year. The rhythms and riffs automatically get your ass shaking like you're in the middle of a field surrounded by bright sunshine, loud music and other drunken dancing people. I honestly can't stop listening to it and truth be told I am in the debt of my wonderful boyfriend for putting this on pre-order and giving me the best musical surprise ever (unless he gets us big chill tickets...) Big love and enjoy y'all! Friendly fires forever!! Go shake that ass!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Friendly Fires - The album of 2011! a retro, Summery Musical MASTERPEICE!, 16 May 2011
By 
S. J. Pinder "scifihorror fan" (Cornwall,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pala (Audio CD)
Friendly Fires made their debut in 2009 with their phenomenally beautiful album self-titled. It displayed a band up and coming and with their distinctful sounds of Samba/Dance/Retro Pop and Electronic Synth it was literally an album that defined the summer of that year and many many more to come!

Pala has really set them a brand new standard. Based on the fictional tale of a fictional paradise, this album really presents a luscious visual display with their music and vocals, this sense of this Amazonian paradise fuelled with colour and sweaty musk with a few ounces of glitter to match.

Pala is a sensational album not only due to it really delivering on all angles but also it really reflects the sounds of the 1980 Synth Pop....think Madonna meets Prince meets New Wave style massive anthemic top standard Pop tunes. And the rise of Dance/Club music across that decade. It is melancholic and blissful yet also experimental with its sounds.

There is also a distinctful 90s sound, the trip Hop vibe of Bjork, the Ray Of Light meets Music Electronica of Madonna, the massive Island music uprising across that decade, maybe some Primal Scream and Moby summery styles of sonics. And even Ed Macfarlane said himself some 90s Boy Band influences there too.

This is the sound that will define the year as a whole and possibly for the rest of the decade! It is so very Friendly Fires in delivery, you can dance and you can connect with each beat, bassline, unearthly vocal of Ed! It really is hauntingly beautiful.

Live Those Days Tonight has proved to be an up and coming summer anthem on the radio, empowering and defining. Hawaiian Air is magically something wonderful , Blue Cassette is so charming and yet subtly tragically lovely, Show Me Lights is an audio masterpiece in fusion and demands listening, the title track is their slowest Dance song yet but really is a display of unique beauty, Running Away you can really command the dance floor with, Pull Me Back To Earth is a wonderful anthemic style song and there is so much more the album has to give.

Of course Pala will demand many re-listens i mean i have owned the album in 24 hours and across that time i have had several spins already to process each song as there is such variation and beauty on Pala that really requires so much reinterpretating and enjoyment!

Pala, is the epitome of an audio feast, literally taking you into the trios adventures and displays, conceptually it is phenomenal!

the songs themselves -

Live Those Days Tonight
Blue Cassette
Running Away
Hawaiian Air
Hurting
Pala
Show Me Lights
True Love
Pull Me Back To Earth
Chimes
&
Helpless

Friendly Fires are by far my favourite band out there right now alongside The Naked & Famous (who i also recommend by the way!) and FF are all set headlining and performing at summer festivals this year and have already performed at Radio 1 Big Weekend the past weekend and really brought themselves to new attention....the mainstream market!

If you love to Dance, Indie, Rock, Trance, Synth, Unearthly Vocals, Retro.....Pala has it all!

Let Ed Macfarlane, Jack Savidge and Edd Gibson enchant you forever......welcome to PARADISE 2011.

10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will be my album of the summer!, 8 Jun 2011
By 
S. J. Fowler "EarthRambler" (Newcastle upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pala (Audio CD)
Love it! Recall a description someone made that the band are like Daft Punk's indy love child...most definitely! Would recommend strongly, can't wait to see them in concert!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another great album, 8 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. W. P. Maxwell (Bourne, Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pala (Audio CD)
Yet again they have given the world some more amazing tunes.
This album is just as great as their first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect present, 22 Jan 2012
This review is from: Pala (Audio CD)
I bought this as a Christmas present for my 23 year old daughter who had only heard one track off it, Blue Cassette, but loved it. She now plays it all the time and says it's the best cd she has had for ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Friendly Fires Pala, 17 July 2011
This review is from: Pala (Audio CD)
Get's better with each listen, well worth the wait, just a shame they didn't include Kiss of Life on here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The soundtrack to summer, 29 Jun 2011
This review is from: Pala (Audio CD)
This was a must-have for me, as I love Friendly Fires anyway, however, they have surpassed my expectations with this amazing album.
I played this from start to finish in the car with my boyfriend whilst going for a drive on a beautiful summers day and it's definitely the album of the year in my opinion.
My top tracks are:
Blue Cassette,
Hawaiian Air,
Show Me Lights and
Hurting.

It's hard to find a band which stick to their style, but make every song sound fresh and individualistic.
In short, just get this album! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pala
Pala by Friendly Fires (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews