Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More consistent than the debut., 12 May 2013
This review is from: Diary Of A Madman (Audio CD)
First, it's a shame there are no bonus tracks. I have a few 12" singles of the time and only one of the B sides has appeared on CD as far as I'm aware (on Blizzard of Ozz). Anniversary opportunity missed.
However, as good as the debut is, this I think is a more consistent and better balanced album than its predecessor. Where the first album kills the mood with slow songs (Goodbye to Romance, Mother Earth), this does not let up from the superb opening to the last note.
The highlights for me have always been the opening duo of tracks (Over.....and Flying) but the rest are no slouch's either.
After this album, the standards started to slip - I remember at the time thinking what a superb band The Ozz had put together and you can still get a feel of that on this. Never bettered in my opinion (although "Black Rain" is pretty good).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gets better with age, 5 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I brought this album on vinyl, when it came out 30 years ago, and figured it was about time i updated. This album just keeps sounding better the more i listen to it. The bonus disc features 11 live tracks Showing just how well Ozzy and Randy Rhoads worked together. A brilliant album, that any diehard Ozzy fan would be glad to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Brum Rock, 28 Oct 2006
By 
Michael Seymour "ozzman" (Birmingham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diary of a Madman (Audio CD)
After the slightly dissapointing (at the time) Blizzard of ozz, he comes back from the dead with a classic rock album to wage war on dio and the band that called themselves sabbath! (Heaven and Hell won the first war), the title track stands out on its own, as true ozz inspired lyrics and atmospher build up...Just buy the album.....you will love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ozzy Osbourne - Diary Of A Madman, 2 Aug 2011
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diary Of A Madman (Audio CD)
Ozzy Osbourne's second studio album was released one year after his debut in 1981. Diary Of A Madman has since gone on to become a classic album and Ozzy himself has named it his favourite.

The album is the second of only two studio albums with Randy Rhodes on board as the guitarist before his untimely death in a plane accident. As you are likely already aware, Randy's inventive style of guitar playing is legendary.

Diary Of A Madman contains the classic tracks `Over The Mountain,' and `Flying High Again,' although the whole album is strong and of a pretty consistent quality. The album is beyond strong guitar-wise, the warm analogue production sounds fantastic and the general quality of songwriting is top class.

This 2011 remastered edition of the album does not come with either linear notes or a DVD, nor does it contain the bonus disc found in the Legacy Edition.

What this version does feature however, are the original performances. This is not the version where Mike Bordin and Rob Trujillo were made to overdub the original rhythm section out of the mix, but rather a new version that reinstates the original musician's work, remastered to the highest quality.

Overall; Diary Of A Madman, the last studio effort to feature Randy on guitar, is a superb album by Ozzy Osbourne and this 2011 remastered edition is a no-frills fantastic sounding version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Randy Rhoads at his best......., 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you haven't heard how stunning Randy Rhoads guitar playing then dear god in heaven where have you been?
Diary Of A Madman and especially this version with a bonus live cd, stands as testement to what a tragic loss he was to any one with a modicum of desire to shred on their axe. It fair to say Randy was at least a threat to Eddie Van Halen's crown as "best guitar slinger" in the 80's. For me he was better than Van Halen, but that's just my opinion.....
BUY this cd, the remix back to a more honest sound aswell. Since for who knows what reason, the original bass and drums were wiped and replaced in some personal/contractual bus up in the Osbourne camp. Utterly ludicrous carry on.
Still, this is back to the original and for 10 quid, the studio album and bonus live album represent an absolute gem of a buy. Only gripe is the lack of live versions of trax from Diary Of A Madman........ Otherwise perfection......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ozzy !, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diary Of A Madman (Audio CD)
What can you say?
Ozzy wailing banshee like voice and and guitarist Randy Rhoades is on fire, just as I remember, had it on vinyl for years, but wanted it on CD so I could stick on my MP3 and USB stick in the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody brilliant, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diary Of A Madman (Audio CD)
a completely nonobjective review: Bloody brilliant, big Ozzy fan, really good fun, like everything else, keep it up Mr Ozzy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diary Of A Madman (Audio CD)
Super album, all time great and a welcome addition to my collection.
Really recommend to any hard rock fan from any era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get thisversion of the CD, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great value 2 CD, this the version to buy. The Production on the studio CD is back to it's original best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars diary, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diary Of A Madman (MP3 Download)
diary of a madman is an album i like. ozzy osbourne at his best takes me back a year or two
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Diary Of A Madman
Diary Of A Madman by Ozzy Osbourne (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews