Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mad? Vindictive more like. But still epically good
This for me has always been Ozzy's solo masterpiece. The album has it all: superb, ambitious songwriting, timeless production, musical light and shade (operatic solos, classical arpeggios and country twangs alongside ear-splitting metal) plus some of Ozzy's career-best vocals. I got it on original release and it was years before I heard the background to Ozzy's finest...
Published on 7 Jun. 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
67 of 67 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars RE-RECORDED not Re-mastered - AVOID !
The second album from Ozzy after his departure from Black Sabbath, 'Diary of A Madman' continues in much the same vein as 'Blizzard of Ozz' with incredible guitar from the late Randy Rhoads, powerhouse drumming from Lee Kerslake and some inspired playing from Bob Daisley (who wrote much of the material with Randy and Lee). With another strong set of songs this...
Published on 7 Nov. 2003 by ronster500


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Appalling Treatment!, 13 April 2010
By 
Rock fan (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Diary of a Madman (Audio CD)
Many, many thanks to everyone who has highlighted the situation regarding the re-recording of the drums and bass. I've been a rock fan for many years, but had no idea that this had happened. I certainly won't be buying this butchered version of a terrific album as a result and would urge others to do likewise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moved to tears, 20 Oct. 2013
By 
Alan Frehley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diary Of A Madman (Audio CD)
The perfection of Randy Rhoads playing will never be bettered. I thank God for the brief time he had and the legacy he left. This album is perfection personified. The bonus live disc, whilst fantastic, falls short of the excellent Tribute CD, but its still an essential collection.
The ONLY small gripe I have is the album cover which is pretty ropey. The songs, however, are just amazing, with Randys' solo on 'SATO' and jumping straight into the neo-classical acoustic intro of 'Diary of a madman' moving me emotionally as its THAT good. I must give credit to Max Norman who co-produced the album.
Its been widely accepted that this was a rush-recording with demos of Randy's playing left on instead of re-recording them.....just imagine how this epic could have been bettered!
Get past the pantomime that is Ozzy Osbourne this past decade, get past the continual money-grabbing issues that is Sharon, and play this album. You won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Randy Rhoads at his absolute best, 21 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Diary of a Madman (Audio CD)
It is unquestionable that Ozzy Osbourne is the as Mick Mars puts it "The Godfather of modern metal". But one cannot deny that in unison with his voice to be placed at such high a status he has been aided some of the best guitarists around. In Sabbath he had the Riff Master Tony Iommi and in this his first (and my opinion best incarnation of his solo band) he has Randy Rhoads. The solo in the middle of "Over The Mountain" is unparalleled (did you ever see Zakk Wylde play it?) and the mixture of classical and true heavy virtues present in the title track is sorely missed in the glam metal days of Jake E Lee and Rudy Sarzo. Throw in a fuzz bass led "Believer" and truly underrated tracks such as "S.A.T.O" and "Little Dolls" and you hace an album which perhaps even rivals "Blizzard..." Well perhaps...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Album, 16 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Diary of a Madman (Audio CD)
For me, possibly Ozzy's finest record until "No more tears". Randy Rhoads is just excellent. Flying High Again, You Can't Kill Rock n Roll, Tonight, and the title track (where the classical influence shines through)are just awesome, showing just how good Ozzy and Randy were together. The partnership is sadly missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once upon a time, Ozzy made great solo albums...., 29 July 2010
By 
Gary Locke - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diary of a Madman (Audio CD)
Ok, the re recording of the bass and drum tracks as a response to a legal dispute with the original players
on this album was a pretty damn low trick. That said a delux reissue is on the horizon with the original tracks
restored, together with unreleased bonus material. Could Ozzy be feeling a degree of guilt and trying to make amends
for this doctored version of the original album? Quite possibly, or its a marketing ploy by his Mrs.

After 3 or 4 listens I cannot notice anything vastly different from the original, it sounds great to me?
The songs are top draw and the arrangements full of imagination. Ozzy sounds so much better on this than on
'Bark at the moon' and Randy Rhodes guitaring is nothing short of majestic. The only filler for me is 'Tonight',
the proverbial power ballad but its not cheesey like 'So tired' off BATM. 'Little Dolls' wouldn't sound out of place
on Sabbaths 'Vol 4', 'Over the Mountain' is a powerful opening track and the closing 'Diary of a Madman' is intricate,
ambitious and inspiring. What a wonderful album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blizzard's Best, 16 Oct. 2007
This review is from: Diary of a Madman (Audio CD)
This is by far superior to the previous Blizzard LP in terms of sound, production and strength of songwriting. There are only 8 tracks, of which Little Dolls is a definate filler and whose inclusion we could have done without, and Believer is only bearable for the guitar solo - but the remainder are musical gold.

However, this only gets 1 star because of the removal of Kerslake and Daisley. I guess the guitar parts would be replaced by a modern "name" if it meant earning some extra $$$$ ??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diary of a madman, 10 Dec. 2004
This review is from: Diary of a Madman (Audio CD)
More polished than blizard of ozz. This is when his career was starting to take off, big production, new band members. Some outstanding tracks, tonight! ozzy at his best, you can't kill rock n roll, then sato (of which he dosent like), If you want ozzy and randy at there rawest listen to blizzard, then step into this c.d all good stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Ozzy album ever probably, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diary of a Madman (Audio CD)
I can't really say too much about this album.
It speaks for itself.
It is just so ******** great.
It is ageless, timeless and sounds amazing. Played loud it just does what you want it to do.
This album blew my mind when it first came out and it still does all these years later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More consistent than the debut., 12 May 2013
This review is from: Diary Of A Madman (Audio CD)
First, it's a shame there are no bonus tracks. I have a few 12" singles of the time and only one of the B sides has appeared on CD as far as I'm aware (on Blizzard of Ozz). Anniversary opportunity missed.
However, as good as the debut is, this I think is a more consistent and better balanced album than its predecessor. Where the first album kills the mood with slow songs (Goodbye to Romance, Mother Earth), this does not let up from the superb opening to the last note.
The highlights for me have always been the opening duo of tracks (Over.....and Flying) but the rest are no slouch's either.
After this album, the standards started to slip - I remember at the time thinking what a superb band The Ozz had put together and you can still get a feel of that on this. Never bettered in my opinion (although "Black Rain" is pretty good).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gets better with age, 5 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I brought this album on vinyl, when it came out 30 years ago, and figured it was about time i updated. This album just keeps sounding better the more i listen to it. The bonus disc features 11 live tracks Showing just how well Ozzy and Randy Rhoads worked together. A brilliant album, that any diehard Ozzy fan would be glad to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Diary Of A Madman
Diary Of A Madman by Ozzy Osbourne (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews