Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars50
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£4.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 31 January 2012
This for me has always been Ozzy's solo masterpiece. The album has it all: superb, ambitious songwriting, timeless production, musical light and shade (operatic solos, classical arpeggios and country twangs alongside ear-splitting metal) plus some of Ozzy's career-best vocals. I got it on original release and it was years before I heard the background to Ozzy's finest hour: Main songwriter and bassist Bob Daisley was sacked just as the album was finished, along with drummer Lee Kerslake. Neither was mentioned on the album sleeve, instead new recruits Rudy Sarzo and Tommy Aldridge were credited and pictured. Daisley was never paid valuable production or performance fees and to cap it all, the remastered 2002 CDs removed all traces of Daisley's superb bass playing (his Believer and Tonight intros are gorgeous) as well as Kerslake's perfectly pitched drumming - his crime being to side with Daisley in their dispute.

Needless to say, the 2002 remasters were a travesty and Ozzy's vandalism of his own career-best was scorned by all of his non-reality show fans. This clearly wounded Oz and the low-point of his otherwise great autobiography was, for me, his shabby attempt to excuse his treatment of his band mates, which he'd previously blamed on Sharon. The news of this re-remastered edition (ie restoring the original bass and drums) had me thinking there must have been some kind of reconciliation. Maybe now, we'd have the full mea culpa alongside some words of rapprochement with Ozzy's best collaborator outside Sabbath. No such luck sadly: there are no photos of Daisley or Kerslake, no 'making of' story, no discussion of the feuds, bad behaviour or lessons learned. Daisley and Kerslake have apparently not even been consulted over this release, so presumably they still won't get paid for their contribution. 'Glories overdue' as Daisley aptly put it in 'You Can't Kill Rock and Roll'

Politics aside, how does this 2011 remaster sound? Utterly superb is the answer. If anything, Daisley's original bass is more prominent, which makes the whole album sound less dated and 80s. I've listened to this release on a variety of stereos and it sounds as exciting and vibrant as it did back in 1981. Ozzy's vocals, Randy's searing and chilling lead licks, Bob and Lee's perfectly matched rhythm backing and the array of non-metal contributions (country slide and classical guitar, Johnny Cook's uncredited keyboards, the Orffian-chorus in the title track) all sound crystal clear. As do the odd timing fluff, which is a testament to its gloriously analogue heritage.

A great and long overdue restoration of a classic then. The Legacy edition Diary Of A Madman (Legacy Edition) adds a disc of live tracks that largely overlap Tribute, albeit with poorer sound. I hope one day Ozzy will be man enough to right some of his (or Sharon's) past wrongs. In the meantime, just stick this on and revisit Ozzy's glorious post-Sabbath peak.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 9 April 2015
Be careful which version you apply a review too. Amazon seems to lump all of the reviews of this album together despite some clearly talking about different versions.

It seems that there is:

1. The original version (from 1980ish) which said it had Tommy Aldridge and Rudy Sarzo playing on it but in fact it was Lee Kerslake and Bob Daisley.
2. A reissue in 2003 which had the drum and bass parts re-recorded with members of Ozzy's live band of the time.

3. A remaster in 2011 which is the original remastered (so Kerslake and Daisley, even though it doesn't say that on the liner notes).

I bought this a few weeks ago not knowing all of this "back story", and the version that I got appears to be the 2011 remaster (at least it says 2011 on it). So on that basis, I am assuming that this is the original recording (that I bought on vinyl when it came out ) remastered. And, on that basis my review is simple: it is a stunning re-mastering job. Dare I say it (given the confusion surrounding the versions of this album) it sounds very different from that original vinyl release!
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 10 June 2014
If you haven't heard how stunning Randy Rhoads guitar playing then dear god in heaven where have you been?
Diary Of A Madman and especially this version with a bonus live cd, stands as testement to what a tragic loss he was to any one with a modicum of desire to shred on their axe. It fair to say Randy was at least a threat to Eddie Van Halen's crown as "best guitar slinger" in the 80's. For me he was better than Van Halen, but that's just my opinion.....
BUY this cd, the remix back to a more honest sound aswell. Since for who knows what reason, the original bass and drums were wiped and replaced in some personal/contractual bus up in the Osbourne camp. Utterly ludicrous carry on.
Still, this is back to the original and for 10 quid, the studio album and bonus live album represent an absolute gem of a buy. Only gripe is the lack of live versions of trax from Diary Of A Madman........ Otherwise perfection......
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 21 November 2000
It is unquestionable that Ozzy Osbourne is the as Mick Mars puts it "The Godfather of modern metal". But one cannot deny that in unison with his voice to be placed at such high a status he has been aided some of the best guitarists around. In Sabbath he had the Riff Master Tony Iommi and in this his first (and my opinion best incarnation of his solo band) he has Randy Rhoads. The solo in the middle of "Over The Mountain" is unparalleled (did you ever see Zakk Wylde play it?) and the mixture of classical and true heavy virtues present in the title track is sorely missed in the glam metal days of Jake E Lee and Rudy Sarzo. Throw in a fuzz bass led "Believer" and truly underrated tracks such as "S.A.T.O" and "Little Dolls" and you hace an album which perhaps even rivals "Blizzard..." Well perhaps...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 12 May 2013
First, it's a shame there are no bonus tracks. I have a few 12" singles of the time and only one of the B sides has appeared on CD as far as I'm aware (on Blizzard of Ozz). Anniversary opportunity missed.
However, as good as the debut is, this I think is a more consistent and better balanced album than its predecessor. Where the first album kills the mood with slow songs (Goodbye to Romance, Mother Earth), this does not let up from the superb opening to the last note.
The highlights for me have always been the opening duo of tracks (Over.....and Flying) but the rest are no slouch's either.
After this album, the standards started to slip - I remember at the time thinking what a superb band The Ozz had put together and you can still get a feel of that on this. Never bettered in my opinion (although "Black Rain" is pretty good).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 16 April 2000
For me, possibly Ozzy's finest record until "No more tears". Randy Rhoads is just excellent. Flying High Again, You Can't Kill Rock n Roll, Tonight, and the title track (where the classical influence shines through)are just awesome, showing just how good Ozzy and Randy were together. The partnership is sadly missed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2011
Ozzy said himself that Diary of a Madman is his favorite album, and I have to agree with him.
Hot on the adrenaline of the success that was Blizzard of Ozz, they rushed back to the studio to record a second album.
But the material on the album itself feels anything but rushed..

The album grabs you as soon as you press play with the energetic track 'Over the Mountain', which boasts some great rhythm playing aside from an awesome solo and some great riffs.
The second track, Flying High Again, is mainly memorable for its lyrics and still makes a regular appearance on Ozzy's setlists.
Next, You Can't Kill Rock and Roll, demonstrates that metal isn't just about heavy riffing. The song feels almost sensual and is a true masterpiece. If you're a rock 'n roll fan, sing along and you'll know what I mean. Perhaps this song went on for too long, but that's a personal preference.
The fourth track, Believer, has a great bass intro and generally a great bass line. The cracking solo is clearly based on the intermediate solo of Mr Crowley, but with a refreshing touch to it.
The fifth song, Little Dolls, does not really stand out in my opinion, but this is only because the rest of the album is just so damn good. The main riff is very powerful though.
Then, 'Tonight', is another slow-tempo, with great guitar guitar work.. excellent to daydream with!
The last two track: S.A.T.O and Diary of a Madman are unlike anything you'll ever hear on any other Ozzy record. Quite what inspired them (other than Randy taking classical guitar lessons at the time) I don't know, but they're so brilliant you'll have to hear them for yourself!

All in all an extremely high quality album which firmly established that the original line-up of the Blizzard of Ozz band is just out of this world.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 10 June 2011
ok, here goes...
first and foremost, this is ozzy's greatest album and though it maybe 30 years old, it still totally stands up as his finest effort. a great band with one of the greatest rock guitarists ever. this album IS the original recordings remastered not the spiteful (sharon ordered) re-recordings of 2002.
the bonus live concert is worth paying for alone as it really is fantastic. this could be re-released every year and will probably always make my album of the year.
i love ozzy but a steady decline ensued after this (although i love the jake e lee era too)mind you, how do you top this???
blizzard of ozz, diary and tribute... god bless you randy rhoads....
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 16 October 2007
This is by far superior to the previous Blizzard LP in terms of sound, production and strength of songwriting. There are only 8 tracks, of which Little Dolls is a definate filler and whose inclusion we could have done without, and Believer is only bearable for the guitar solo - but the remainder are musical gold.

However, this only gets 1 star because of the removal of Kerslake and Daisley. I guess the guitar parts would be replaced by a modern "name" if it meant earning some extra $$$$ ??
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 10 December 2004
More polished than blizard of ozz. This is when his career was starting to take off, big production, new band members. Some outstanding tracks, tonight! ozzy at his best, you can't kill rock n roll, then sato (of which he dosent like), If you want ozzy and randy at there rawest listen to blizzard, then step into this c.d all good stuff!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Blizzard Of Ozz [Expanded Edition]
Blizzard Of Ozz [Expanded Edition] by Ozzy Osbourne (Audio CD - 2011)

Bark At The Moon
Bark At The Moon by Ozzy Osbourne (Audio CD - 2002)

The Ultimate Sin
The Ultimate Sin by Ozzy Osbourne (Audio CD - 1995)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.