Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic patchwork handbook
This is an excellent reference book for making patchwork quilts. The first section of the book covers all the basics of quiltmaking, from preparing and cutting fabric, piecing the blocks and assembling the quilt to the quilting itself and double-fold binding. All the techniques are clearly described and well illustrated with colour photographs. The rest of the book is...
Published on 7 Jan. 2011 by I. M. Piper

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor image quality
Unfortunately, I missed my window to return this item. The book is amazing, I actually have the hardcopy, but unfortunately the images in the kindle version are extremely pixely and it is almost painful to read. I wonder how this can happen, whether the scan is just of a very low resolution. I would recommend this book but you should get the hardcopy not the kindle...
Published 14 months ago by Nadine Saupe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic patchwork handbook, 7 Jan. 2011
By 
I. M. Piper (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an excellent reference book for making patchwork quilts. The first section of the book covers all the basics of quiltmaking, from preparing and cutting fabric, piecing the blocks and assembling the quilt to the quilting itself and double-fold binding. All the techniques are clearly described and well illustrated with colour photographs. The rest of the book is made up of 12 different quilt patterns, complete with detailed instructions for constructing the blocks and fabric requirements. This book has been well received in the online quilting community, with good reason - it's clearly written, beautifully put together and well-illustrated. It's ideal for a beginner, but also as a reference for more advanced quilters - and perhaps a source of inspiration to try something new. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning and Informative, 4 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having returned to patchwork and quilting last year after a long spell of inactivity I found some of the greatest sources of Quilty information was from blogs and one of the most inspirational ones was Elizabeth Hartman's Oh, Fransson blog. So having tried out some of her free patterns in the past I was eagerly awaiting getting my hands on a copy of this book. I have to say I wasn't disappointed.

If you are new to the craft there is a useful guide to patchwork and quilting. Then the projects in the book are split into sections aimed at different skill levels: From projects to get you started, to confident beginner and intermediate. The projects are great starting points to build confidence whilst creating attracive quilts that anyone would want to own.

One of the great things about this book is the way it clearly tells you how much fabric each project requires and even gives you alternative fabric requirements if you are using different cuts of fabric or scraps. There are also suggestions on how you can make the projects look 'different' through simple changes to fabric choices. The projects are laid our clearly and explained well.

If you are an experienced quilter, preferring complicated blocks and patterns this is NOT the book for you and if you buy it expecting to get projects aimed at advanced skill level then you will be disappointed. At no point does this book claim to be aimed at the experirenced patchworker. That's not to say this book wouldn't be a welcome addition to any quilters bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as I'd hoped, 24 Jan. 2012
I agree with the previous positive reviews: this is a lovely book. It's not huge; it's not trying to be a comprehensive reference book of different techniques or a treasurehouse of pattern sources, but it covers, as it says, the basics, in an informative and attractive way. Be aware that it's an American book, and there is not a metric measurement in sight, and also (as, again, the title suggests) that it's more a book on patchwork than on quilting: while there are six pages of advice, photos and ideas on machine-quilting your projects with lines or free-motion meanderings, this is not the book for advice on hand-quilting or for templates of intricate quilting designs. Check out the author's blog at ohfransson.com, and if you enjoy her 'contemporary aesthetic' in quilts and her methodical, accessible, friendly style in writing, you'll be sure to be pleased with this book too. I notice that she has a new book coming out soon of more advanced projects (Modern Patchwork: 12 quilts to take you beyond the basics), if you're one for whom this volume feels a little elementary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great resource book, 8 April 2011
This is a lovely book for both beginner and intermediate quilters. Beginners will find the content incredibly useful for developing their skills - the instructions are so very well written and clear, and intermediate quilters will find the patterns fun.
If you are a new quilter and need a book that ticks all boxes - this is it. Great projects, lovely mix of designs, really well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars practical basics of quiltmaking, 2 May 2011
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This book does just what it says it does - it is a practical guide to patchwork. Subtitled 'New Basics for the Modern Quiltmaker' this book gives a good ground in practical skills and shows how to put a quilt together. The practical information is solidly backed up with 12 projects for every level of quilt maker. This review first appeared on Karen Platt's book review website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for modern quilters, 25 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After my sister demanded her copy of this book back, I broke down and bought my own. It has a excellent description of techniques and 12 projects ("Projects to Get You Started", "Projects for the Confident Beginner", and "Intermediate Level Projects"). The quilts in this book have a modern, contemporary look. I can't wait to try them all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor image quality, 22 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Practical Guide to Patchwork: New Basics for the Modern Quiltmaker (Kindle Edition)
Unfortunately, I missed my window to return this item. The book is amazing, I actually have the hardcopy, but unfortunately the images in the kindle version are extremely pixely and it is almost painful to read. I wonder how this can happen, whether the scan is just of a very low resolution. I would recommend this book but you should get the hardcopy not the kindle version and I hope amazon will fix this issue as I have had the same problem with several other kindle books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good starter patchwork book, 13 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written and an excellent and comprehensive resource on anything you needed to know about making a quilt. Some great patterns too.
What stops me from giving it five stars is the less than stellar (in my opinion) way shown to join the starting and ending bits of the binding- quite at odds with the rest of the sound advice given.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Practical Guide to patchwork, 20 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Practical Guide to Patchwork: New Basics for the Modern Quiltmaker (Kindle Edition)
Very informative and interesting, have not managed to get around to doing any patchwork as yet, but think through this book I should manage to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Graphic, 11 Mar. 2012
Fantastic book if you like Modern Quilting methods and outcomes. Designs result from piece and cut again methods with graphic outcomes. Inspiring use of colour. Basics are 'practical' as the title suggests but never dull. Excellent photographic illustrations. I found plenty within these covers to re-assess my working methods and fabric choices. Definitely not for the strict traditionalist. Have not made any of the projects yet but the skill levels, beginner and intermediate seem accurate. Will definitely be ordering next book which aims to be a continuation from this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews