Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A riveting read
New Year's Eve is generally a time of hope and celebration, a chance to say farewell to the old and welcome in the new. In The Dawning we're introduced to the Haywood family where there's little chance of hope or celebration. Over the course of one night each member faces the truth of their situation, with a dawning realisation that nothing is as they would like it to...
Published on 23 Jan 2011 by Miss Pamela McIlroy

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't get into
I like most genres of literature and downloaded this book based on other readers reviews, however I am sorry to say that I just couldn't get into it. I couldn't see where the story was going and it didn't grap me enough to continue. I will re-try at a later date as plently of readers have enjoyed it and maybe second time, it will click and become an enjoyable read.
Published on 6 Aug 2012 by LLHBOOKWORM


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A riveting read, 23 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Dawning (Paperback)
New Year's Eve is generally a time of hope and celebration, a chance to say farewell to the old and welcome in the new. In The Dawning we're introduced to the Haywood family where there's little chance of hope or celebration. Over the course of one night each member faces the truth of their situation, with a dawning realisation that nothing is as they would like it to be.

The mother Stella is battling severe depression, the father Philip is entertaining fantasies of freedom, their eleven-year-old son Zachary (Zac) is busy avoiding the vicious school bully, while their teenage daughter Nicola can't quite believe how lucky she is to have a friend like Christine. Throughout this entire night baby Mia is an ever present after thought in the background.

The opening page describes a house in the Peak District that offers an illusion of warmth from the outside only to reveal an inner core that's a pressure cooker of tension. Zac feels `caught between two worlds' and rushes outside into the dark garden in search of relief.

"The air zips right up into the top of his nose and crackles there like tinfoil. The garden is freezing. Even the shadows look cold; the bushes are shivering, bristling as though with secrets."

The garden is full of secrets, and fear, as is the house. At first this scenario feels familiar, and then Taylor delivers a chilling shock that will knock the breath out of you, and then the shocks keep coming.

The writing is taut, visual and evocative as each member of the family falls apart. Some find an inner strength they hadn't realised they possessed; others are helped by unexpected sources, others sink even lower into a pit of self-inflicted misery. This book reels you in with each revelation and even though you instinctively know that it's going to get worse for the family you are compelled to read on, as it puts your emotions through a wringer and squeezes out every last drop of hope and horror. I was so riveted by this book that I read it in one sitting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another cracking novel from Megan Taylor, 5 Mar 2010
By 
Fiona Robyn (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dawning (Paperback)
I much enjoyed Megan Taylor's novel 'How We Were Lost', and I wasn't disappointed by 'The Dawning'.

The author has an amazing ability to take us into her character's world - we can feel the gravel under their feet, and smell the frost in the air. As the story unfolded, I was gripped. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A captivating read, 27 Feb 2010
By 
Annie Try (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dawning (Paperback)
Pick up 'The Dawning' and you will probably be unable to put it down until you have followed a family through one incident-filled night. The tension is tight, the description vivid and the tales of each family member are all equally enthralling. Then, just as you think the night has finally resolved, there is one more discovery . . .
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An indulgent read, 18 Feb 2010
This review is from: The Dawning (Paperback)
The Dawning by Megan Taylor is an indulgent and very focused read. The story unravels over the space of about 12 hours from New Years eve onwards.

One family's secrets overflow from the first page and they sweep the reader along. Unfolding with perfect symmetry, the plot is as unsettling as the approach of a summer thunderstorm and as irresistible as the warm summer rain that follows.

I stayed up late reading this and would then wake during the night thinking about it. It's a great novel and one which I will read again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Family in Crisis, 26 Jan 2010
By 
Rowland Nelken (Nottingham, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dawning (Paperback)
'The Dawning' follows the fortunes (and misfortunes) of one family during the course of a New Year's Eve in the Peak District. From the POV of some outsiders, the new Deputy Head, with his wife and children, settled in an attractive old house in a picture postcard setting, appear to be comfortable and content, even smugly so.

The separate internal worlds of mother, father, son and daughter are beautifully described and each one is convincing. This reader certainly could relate to them all, even as the tale reached 'East Enders' heights in its melodrama.

This is not the place to spill the beans on the plot's resolution. A story that encompasses post natal depression, schoolboy bullying, adolescent insecurity and a career crisis, in barely 200 swiftly moving pages, cannot be too highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Dawning, 28 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dawning (Kindle Edition)
A story about a family on New Years Eve, Mum, Dad, teenage son & daughter & baby. Each chapter from the point of view of a different member of the family, all the usual hopes & fears & worries & traumas & problems of family life! One of those stories where you can see where its going, you can guess what's going to happen & you really hope it won't but of course there's nothing you can do to stop it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dawning by Megan Taylor, 25 May 2010
By 
J. Evans (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dawning (Paperback)
A brilliant book, that keeps you on the edge of your seat from start to finish. The whole story takes place over one New Year's Eve night, and describes the thoughts and actions of the four members of the Haywood family in fascinating detail.
The writing is extraordinary, full of amazing images that resonate and remain long after you've finished reading it. And you'll never guess the end....See also, by Megan Taylor, another great story How We Were Lost
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down, 8 April 2010
By 
This review is from: The Dawning (Paperback)
I love Megan Taylor's descriptions, she brings the world around her characters - and the characters themselves - vividly to life (the 'cocoa-and-biscuits' smell of a tiny baby). What I wasn't expecting was the level of tension she creates in The Dawning. I found myself rooting for each member of the family in turn, praying they'd cope with what she throws at them, terrified they wouldn't. I couldn't get to sleep until I'd got to the last page - and then! Another event finishes off the tale with an unexpected bang.

This is an author whose writing goes from strength to strength. Can't wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and haunting, 11 Mar 2010
This review is from: The Dawning (Paperback)
Megan Taylor's `The Dawning' is a story about a family, the Haywoods, on the verge of a collective breakdown. The newborn, Mia, forms the lynchpin to the story. Her arrival is both a catalyst for familial anxiety but also its ultimate comfort and salvation.

The story is told from the point of view of all family members (except Mia's) over the period of one New Year's Eve. The family moves through various stages of crisis against a brooding Peak District setting. Taylor's great strength lies in her beautifully wrought physical descriptions. She renders both festively decorated interiors and icily remote landscapes into both magical and grotesque places that say as much about the Haywoods' fears and flaws and traumas as the events themselves.

A powerful and haunting piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't get into, 6 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dawning (Kindle Edition)
I like most genres of literature and downloaded this book based on other readers reviews, however I am sorry to say that I just couldn't get into it. I couldn't see where the story was going and it didn't grap me enough to continue. I will re-try at a later date as plently of readers have enjoyed it and maybe second time, it will click and become an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dawning
The Dawning by Megan Taylor
3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews