Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Western Digital drives have a good reputation and have never left me down yet
I wanted a large fast but green 3TB hard drives for my Hornettek Enterprise 4X (Quad Bay Enclosure) and this seemed like the most affordable option in the long run. Arrived very quickly and well packaged. Should hopefully last several years. I monitor all my PC's drives health using Acronis Drive Monitor (Free Tool) just incase. My 1TB PC internal Seagate SATA drive...
Published 12 months ago by Mr. B. Stewart

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Failed after a couple of weeks
I usually buy Seagate drives after having problems with Western Digital in the past. I thought I'd give them another shot but this failed after a couple of weeks and I had to send it back to Amazon. Disappointing. They need to improve their quality control.
Published 5 months ago by Mr. M. D. F. Patterson


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Western Digital drives have a good reputation and have never left me down yet, 7 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Caviar 3TB SATA 6 GB/s 64MB Cache 3.5 inch OEM Internal Hard Drive Green (Personal Computers)
I wanted a large fast but green 3TB hard drives for my Hornettek Enterprise 4X (Quad Bay Enclosure) and this seemed like the most affordable option in the long run. Arrived very quickly and well packaged. Should hopefully last several years. I monitor all my PC's drives health using Acronis Drive Monitor (Free Tool) just incase. My 1TB PC internal Seagate SATA drive which is only 2 years old is showing a problem. However the 5 year old Seagate main drive SATA HD doesn't. Everyone has different experiences but i still believe that if one brand is good for you then stick with them. I highly recommend this drive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 91 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loads of storage, but it is a tad slow and not always 32-bit OS or boot drive friendly, 21 Nov 2011
By 
Keith_Joseph (West Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: WD Caviar 3TB SATA 6 GB/s 64MB Cache 3.5 inch OEM Internal Hard Drive Green (Personal Computers)
This is a 'new' advanced format hard drive that is designed [optimised] for 64-bit Windows Vista, Windows 7/8, and Mac OS X [Leopard 10.5, Snow Leopard 10.6 and above, but Boot Camp not supported]. Most Western Digital Advanced Format Drives can be used with XP if you put a hard drive jumper across pins 7/8 before formatting and partitioning [if you fail to do that or have multiple partitions under XP, you will have to use WDs 'Align utility' as well]. You also might get negotiation problems installing 6Gb/s SATA3 or 3Gb/s SATA2 hard drives on older 1.5 Gb/s SATA motherboards (a jumper on the hard drive pins 5/6 should rectify this).

However generally, if XP, Vista or Windows 7 is installed as the 32-bit version on your PC, it will not be able to format or recognise the full capacity of a 3Tb hard drive, either as an internal drive or as an external USB2 one. This is due to the 2.19 Tb limit with 32-bit operating systems. However owing to a hardware fix, this 3Tb drive can be used as a secondary drive with 32-bit Vista & Windows 7 [not XP] systems provided you used the PCI express [PCIe 1x] HighPoint RocketRAID 62X Serial ATA card that Western Digital were supplying with this hard drive [the hard drive has to be attached directly to this PCIe card]. This SATA PCIe card is sometimes called a 'host bus adaptor'[HBA card]. Also 32-bit and 64-bit OS's (including XP) can recognise this 3Tb drive if it's connected as an external drive via USB2 provided there is a special SATA-to-USB bridge chip inside the enclosure that takes care of these addressing issues, so to be safe with really old SATA PCs I'd buy this 3Tb drive within the Western Digital My Book Essential USB2/3 enclosure or get the Seagate 3Tb equivalent. I guess the drive would a bit slow via an external USB2 enclosure if you used it for large file transfers, although if the desktop Windows PC was fitted with a USB3 PCI/PCIe card the faster USB3 external drive interface could be used. However, this 3Tb drive will work fine as is (no HBA card needed), with any of the above OS (32 or 64 bit), if the drive is installed as a NAS network drive.

Also bad news if you want to use this 3Tb Green Caviar as the primary boot drive, you'll need 64-bit Windows Vista/7 AND a motherboard with a Unified Extensible Firmware Interface (UEFI) BIOS. Motherboards equipped with UEFI BIOSes have only just become mainstream. Older motherboards that lack UEFI BIOSes will not be able to boot off the drive, even if it's connected to the HighPoint HBA card (you won't ever be able to boot from this drive with 32-bit Windows or 64-bit XP). Mind you the WD Green drives are fairly lethargic so few would want to boot off it anyway. Fortunately if you use this 3Tb drive as a secondary storage drive and boot from another smaller one, a UEFI BIOS is not required, although you must check whether your motherboard BIOS & SATA supports 3Tb & GPT formatting for 64-bit Windows Vista/7 otherwise you may need the HBA card again (XP won't work at all, that's external USB or NAS only). This hard drive is listed as an OEM version of the 3Tb Green drive so it will no doubt come as just the hard drive, without the HighPoint PCIe card, screws or a SATA cable. Originally WD only shipped this drive with the HBA card, but that's no longer the case now more motherboards support it. Relatively new non-UEFI motherboards will probably support this 3Tb drive directly as secondary SATA storage, for example my ASUS P5P43TD Pro (from ~2010) recognised this 3Tb drive perfectly via it's external eSATA port and after setting it to GPT and formatting it in Windows 7 64-bit I got 2.7Gb of useable storage without needing the HBA card. However both my work's 2011 powerful Dell Precision Windows 7 64-bit Xeon workstations with 64Gb system RAM didn't work with this drive only seeing 746gb of the 3Tb, so knowing whether your older PC will recognise the full 3Tb can be a bit hit & miss - the PC motherboard BIOS must support GPT as well as the older MBR hard drive system (which was limited to 2.2Tb). Seagate support a translational software fix to enable their 3Tb drive to work with MBR motherboards i.e. Seagate DiscWizard Software, but I don't know if I'd trust a software driver patch for crucial data and WD don't support one anyway. So things may get complicated when upgrading older pre 2010 PCs, but it's always fine in a 'My Book Essential' external USB2/3 or for network NAS storage (and that's how I often use the drive, for secondary storage at home and overnight backup at work).

So, what's the hard drive like to use? Well apparently the 4Kb sector/head parking hardware problems early WD Green drives had have now been resolved. This 3Tb drive comes with a large 64Mb cache, to speed up the inherent slowness of the drive resulting from its laudable green low power ambitions [5,400 spin speed and low power/noise operation]. Essentially this 3Tb hard drive is in the middle of pack regarding reading files [beating some older 7,200 rpm drives]. Unfortunately it is a little lethargic at writing files, enough to make it far less desirable as a system boot drive - no problem really, get a noisier 7,200 rpm 1Tb WD Black drive or ideally a 256Gb/512Gb SSD for that. This 3Tb drive is however perfect as a secondary hard drive, so for its Green credentials, quiet efficient operation, and massive storage capacity: 4*. WD Green drives only have a 2 year warranty though (was 3 years), compared to the faster WD Black's 5 year one (although the Blacks higher price is likely to cover the cost of failure replacement rather than an indication of inherent superior reliability). There's also the WD Red drives for 24/7 server & Raid use. Warranty returns are really easy via Western Digital, although that only covers a new hard drive not lost data. Perhaps this Green drive is beginning to a look a bit slow and dated now though, as the new Seagate 4TB/8GB Serial 3.5 inch Solid State Hybrid Drive offer noticeably superior read/write speeds for storage with their 8Gb SSD cache, albeit at an extra £8 per Tb premium (and the 1 or 2Tb Seagate SSHDs are perfect as Windows system drives).

Note that around 5% of all new hard drives fail in the first year after manufacture, more than in the 2nd and 3rd years (failure being due to manufacturing faults and misshandling at the warehouse/during delivery). PCPro say around 25% of all hard drives fail in the 4th year, when in continual use. Anything spinning at 5,000+ rpm is going to fail sometime, and if we are unlucky it will fail sooner rather than later, so don't trust all your crucial data to one new hard drive - or to one PC (lightning strikes can wipe out all the internal/external hard drives in one go or if the PCs stolen all the hard drives are likely to go with it).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great drive from WD, 22 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Caviar 3TB SATA 6 GB/s 64MB Cache 3.5 inch OEM Internal Hard Drive Green (Personal Computers)
I purchased on of these in 2011 to replace a collection of smaller drives. The drive is great, and has never given a single problem.
Same as every other WD drive I have had, and why I always buy WD drives.

As for the drive, I like the fact that it powers down and only spins up when you try to access something on it. This may be a problem for some users, but I think the power/heat saving is worth the 2 seconds, and the speed is great once it's up.

My machine is silent, using a case built for being unheard, a zero db video card, slow speed ultra quiet fans. So if this was noisy I would hear it, and I don't. I hear it spin up when accessed (not loud, audible), but then is settles to very quiet.

And the transfer speeds are excellent, even with my quite old PC. Considering I have a SSD and much older Blue drive, there is no noticeable speed drop for this being a 'green' drive.

There has been comments in other reviews about WD OEM drives having 1 year warranty and being 'out of region'.
The out of region was easily FIXED by updating the country on my WD account, so that is not an issue with the drives.
As for the OEM/1yr, according to the WD support site, drives with model number ending EZRX have a 2 year (component) or 3 year (Retail) warranty (check under support - Warranty Policy).
My WD30EZRX purchased as OEM from Amazon in 2011 had the 3 years, so I don't think this is an issue. But either way, you can check the warranty before you remove the drive from the sealed static bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love them..., 15 Mar 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Caviar 3TB SATA 6 GB/s 64MB Cache 3.5 inch OEM Internal Hard Drive Green (Personal Computers)
i have had Western Digital My Book drives for what seems forever now & fearing they MIGHT start playing up & loose data in the process i decided to buy the superlative NewerTech Guardian Maximus Raid1 FW800 enclosure without drives & ordered 2 of these here to install in it
unfortunately one was DOA but immediately after i contacted Avides/sent the defective back, i got a new one, inserted it in my FW800 Raid 1 enclosure & the NewerTech copied everything to the new drive &....life is good again !
they are quiet, they take loads of stuff & all things being equal + a little luck , i'm sure they will keep on going on strong for a long time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars storage, 20 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: WD Caviar 3TB SATA 6 GB/s 64MB Cache 3.5 inch OEM Internal Hard Drive Green (Personal Computers)
excellent sata 3tb drive. very competatively priced works very well in my hot-swap docking station and is very quiet would recomment to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice drive with good response times, 1 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Caviar 3TB SATA 6 GB/s 64MB Cache 3.5 inch OEM Internal Hard Drive Green (Personal Computers)
I have bought WD drives previously and have been happy with their reliability and performance. Whilst it is early days, so far I have not been disappointed with the pair of these which I purchased. I have experienced no issues as a direct result of the drives and the unit is keeping them working well.

On this occasion I have bought a pair of these 3TB drives to work in a dual drive NAS drive unit. A little over the top for the performance, but the price was very good and slightly better than the 3 GB/s option at the time. For the past few days I've been copying content to them, whilst also streaming some content from them. In preparation for these drives, I had updated the firmware on the NAS drive unit so that it can support 3TB drives before installation. You may also wish to confirm that you are using the latest firmware/BIOS/SATA drivers for you system as some older systems may have issues with the larger capacity these drives offer.

As with all SATA drives, it was a simple case of plugging them in, initialising, partitioning and formatting them. They were ready to use within an hour of arrival, but I know that formatting them for use on a PC would have taken a lot longer using the standard method (i.e. not quick format).

I have set them up using a RAID 0 configuration. This should ensure faultless HD Video streaming over my LAN, which will be their primary use. Whilst this configuration offers no data redundancy, the data isn't highly valuable. Any loss would be an inconvenience though. The unit does offer other RAID options which would support automatic data backup.

I intend to get a larger unit at a later date and would happily use these (or similar drives) if all works well in the mean time. In my case such a larger unit will make use of a better RAID system, meaning that there should be less chance of data loss. I already have my eyes on such a unit, but I will need to save up some money for everything first.

For reference, the NAS drive unit I am using is the Netgear ReadyNAS Ultra 2 (Diskless) RNDU2000.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a cheap, standard drive of (still) very ..., 31 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Caviar 3TB SATA 6 GB/s 64MB Cache 3.5 inch OEM Internal Hard Drive Green (Personal Computers)
This is a cheap, standard drive of (still) very high capacity. Not suitable for NAS (go for WD Red), but it doesn't claim to be .I have found them to be I have several of these drives (2 and 3 TB) and find them to be both reliable and quiet.

I believe (but may be proven wrong) they have 3 (667GB) and 4 (750GB) platters respectively. Essentially the more platters, the more data can be stored, but also the risk of a mechanical fault increases. WD Green 4TB drives have 4 (1TB) platters.

As it is a drive over about 2.19TB you will not "see" the drive under Windows 7 until you initialise the drive. Right-clicking of "My Computer" and selecting "Manage", then clicking on "Disc Management", then select the drive and chooses "initialize" you should choose "GTP".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is absolutely idle and falls into the perfect range of 25°C to 40°C, 22 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought 5 of these for archiving video. I mount them through a hotswap bay and they work flawlessly.

Idle temp is around 28°C, with full load 35°C (in a case with one 120mm fan intake and one 120mm fan out-take). Obviously, this is absolutely idle and falls into the perfect range of 25°C to 40°C.

I've had them running a few weeks now, interchanging them and as I've come to expect with WD Green, they are excellent performers for the purpose of archiving or running in a system where they are not frequently accessed. Some people report they have issues with them, but I suspect they aren't using them for their purpose. If people are looking to use these drives frequently, I would protect the drive from wear by using WDIDLE3...

I use WDIDLE3.EXE to reduce the excessive LLC count which occurs with all WD Green drives. By default the drive goes into an idle state after 8 seconds, which is fantastic for the environment, but not for the life of the drive. I changed it to 300 seconds, which is the max you can do without disabling it all together (not recommended). A couple of things to bare in mind when considering WDIDLE3.. make sure that before you run it you change the hard disk mode in your BIOS to IDE and not AHCI (you can change it back after). Also disconnect any non- WD Green drives (or any WD Green drives you don't want to change the idle time for).

All in all a perfect drive for my needs at an exceptionally low price at the time of the review (£74.99 for 3TB Version)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This hard drive is quiet, low power consumption, runs cool and high data transfer capacity, 11 Aug 2014
By 
Sussman "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: WD Caviar 3TB SATA 6 GB/s 64MB Cache 3.5 inch OEM Internal Hard Drive Green (Personal Computers)
This is an inexpensive internal hard drive, quiet, low power consumption, runs cool, high data transfer capacity, easily good enough data rate for archived files and music. For a small PC build the Western Digital Caviar Green 3TB ,or higher, drive could be very useful in a dual-drive computer, with one slot filled by a solid state drive (SSD) and the other by the 3TB hard drive. The SSD could be used as a boot and application drive to increase boot-up and load times, and the hard disk drive could be used as the mass storage device. However, these Green drives are NOT recommended RAID - here is the blurb from WD themselves:

'Desktop drives are not recommended for use in RAID environments, please consider using WD Red hard drives for desktop RAID environments or WD datacenter hard drives for rackmount or large RAID configurations.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BE WARNED, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Caviar 3TB SATA 6 GB/s 64MB Cache 3.5 inch OEM Internal Hard Drive Green (Personal Computers)
guys, this item works really well and is one of the top 3 HDDs at the size..
my warning is: if you`d encounter the problem where windows would see only 746gb instead of 2.78tb - UPDATE YOUR RST drivers :D Rapid Storage Technology (intel) or analogue if you`re using AMD processor/chipset.
also, keep in mind that you have to be running x64bit OS or you`ll never see the full capacity.
enjoy, I know I do :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews