Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where's Fidelity?
This collection seems to do what it says except that I cannot find my favourite poem Fidelity anywhere, hence only 4 stars. Has anyone managed to find it? I'll upgrade to 5 stars if I happen across it but the alphabetical index of poems goes from Fellow Men to Figs, and I've searched all the other poem indexes without success.

Update 25/11/12 New update...
Published 20 months ago by David Smith

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The White Peacock and The Trespassers
I have never read any of Lawrence books. I find them very decriptinve and I have read his first novel and am now reading his second. but I do find them rather drawn out and slow. Will carry on and see what the others are like.
Published 15 months ago by Mr M Bruce


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where's Fidelity?, 6 Aug 2012
By 
David Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delphi Complete Works of D.H. Lawrence (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
This collection seems to do what it says except that I cannot find my favourite poem Fidelity anywhere, hence only 4 stars. Has anyone managed to find it? I'll upgrade to 5 stars if I happen across it but the alphabetical index of poems goes from Fellow Men to Figs, and I've searched all the other poem indexes without success.

Update 25/11/12 New update includes Fidelity and additional collections. Well done Delphi, now 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Kindle ebook, 8 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delphi Complete Works of D.H. Lawrence (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
Studied Sons and Lovers by D H Lawence at school, many many years ago. Always wanted to read more Lawrence but never got round to it! So When I came across this Delphi Classics edition for the Kindle it fitted the bill, exactly. Contains everything you would want, even a couple of biographies! For under two quid! Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots to read, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delphi Complete Works of D.H. Lawrence (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
This is an excellent package of DHLawrence works. He is such a sensitive thoughtful writer and as a man has a great perception of women.
It will take ages to get though all the works, but I shall get there in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Delphi Classics series provides excellent value for money, 17 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delphi Complete Works of D.H. Lawrence (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
The Delphi Classics are, without doubt, the best collections of classic works on a Kindle that I have seen, and absolutely fantastic value for money. Even though the majority of the works included here are available in the public domain, the care that is put into formatting, and the extra value that is added with illustrations and appropriate companion works (biographies etc.) make the price that asked for them seem almost trivial by comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute bargain!, 13 April 2014
By 
Craig (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delphi Complete Works of D.H. Lawrence (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
D. H. Lawrence was way ahead of his time and I look forward to ploughing my way through this collection. I have read four of his novels so far but haven't touched on his poetry yet. I love the way he writes, even though it is a little tedious at times. Now I have his full works on my kindle instead of taking up so much shelf space. Thank you Delphi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Value for money, 26 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delphi Complete Works of D.H. Lawrence (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
As always with amazon very good value for this complete works. Keep up the good deals. The only way to read is a Kindle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Difficult, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delphi Complete Works of D.H. Lawrence (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
I wanted it for the short stories & the Lady Chatterley (prequel to "Lady Chatterley's Lover") but couldn't find it as the short stories weren't listed in the index.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Full Monty, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delphi Complete Works of D.H. Lawrence (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
Had a lot of D.H.'s books but saw this as the perfect scenario to finally obtain everything he ever wrote in one full opportunity. Excellent and at 1.92 brilliant value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A walk back in time., 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delphi Complete Works of D.H. Lawrence (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
Have always been a fan of 'L' and to really this man's genius, you have to read him more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great deal of D.H. Lawrence, 30 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delphi Complete Works of D.H. Lawrence (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
I have read lots of D.H. Lawrence in the past and wanted the full spectre to dip in and out of. It begins with his early work 'The White Peacock', although not his best works, his novels are presented in chronological order, which enables the reader to observe progress of style and thinking. It is true to say that Lawrence isn't everyone's cup of tea, or pint of beer, his later work offers a good glass of wine though!

His imagery never fails to move me. It may appear a little dated now after 'Fifty shades of Grey' (which I consider to overstate the obvious) If you want to bring a little of your own imagination and consider life as it was in the early 20th century this works is a good start.

I particularly wanted to dip in and out of his poetry. Lawrence was a prolific writer and if you had enough room to have a library full of literary works, you would want this collection in it.

His later novels centre around families usually from different social classes, which was always a controversial topic for Lawrence. He present highs and lows of relationships in a language rich and voluptuous. I consider 'The Rainbow' to be his finest work. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb514396c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews