Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Real comfort TV
'Rosemary and Thyme' is one of my very favourite dramas, despite the fact that, at 23, I'm probably not the intended target market! It's incredibly heart-warming - I find that watching an episode has a calming, almost therapeutic effect on me. The locations are stunning - from picturesque, quintessentially English villages, to beautiful stately homes, to gorgeous villas...
Published on 14 Sep 2007 by Veronica Marwood

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Watch out that yours is in the correct language
I think I`ll really enjoy the series when I have the English version. I certainly will not attempt to watch the German version,
which I was sent from amazon as a Birthday gift.
Watch out that yours is in the correct language!
Published on 7 Sep 2010 by Camilla Rose


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

76 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Real comfort TV, 14 Sep 2007
This review is from: Rosemary And Thyme [DVD] (DVD)
'Rosemary and Thyme' is one of my very favourite dramas, despite the fact that, at 23, I'm probably not the intended target market! It's incredibly heart-warming - I find that watching an episode has a calming, almost therapeutic effect on me. The locations are stunning - from picturesque, quintessentially English villages, to beautiful stately homes, to gorgeous villas in France and Italy. The gardens featured are a wonder to behold, and Felicity Kendal and Pam Ferris are excellent in the title roles, with numerous guest stars providing solid backup. The plots are largely predictable, and you do have to suspend your disbelief regarding the fact that the two gardeners seem to encounter murder and skulduggery everywhere they go, but that's hardly the point - this is a series that's intended to be comforting, homely and light-hearted, and it certainly delivers on that promise.

This box set is also great value for money - series 2 and 3 retail at around £35 each, so if you're a fan of the series, you're much better off buying this complete collection than shelling out more for the individual sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Subtitles, 23 Dec 2011
By 
Liesi Pug (São Paulo - Brazil) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rosemary & Thyme: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I like the series, the flowers, the actresses. It's very enjoyable. And there are subtitles. I hope this information helps people, like me, that needs subtiles to fully understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poison, bludgeoning, knifings...all in a day's work of gardening for Rosemary Boxer and Laura Thyme, 24 Jan 2008
By 
C. O. DeRiemer (San Antonio, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rosemary And Thyme [DVD] (DVD)
Rosemary & Thyme is a pleasant British mystery series with two middle-aged gardeners, one an ex-policeman (Laura Thyme played by Pam Ferris) and one a former botany lecturer (Rosemary Boxer played by Felicity Kendal), who have set up their own business as garden consultants. And as they design and plant, weed and hoe, they seem to come across bodies as easily as they come across caterpillars. These are well-mannered ladies in well-mannered mysteries...the comforting cozie.

Cozies are to mysteries what tea and crumpets are to blood pudding...there's a very different taste involved. It's wise to remember, however, that the tea can be poisoned even more easily than the pudding. Cozies usually feature village or small town settings, good manners, gossip and indiscreet goings-on, a self-appointed detective or detectives who are of a certain age and usually female, often self-conscious puns for titles...and murder. Rosemary & Thyme fit the formula in satisfying style.

The programs were shot on location in some of England's great parks and private gardens. There are first-rate, quality visuals. And I'm happy to report that Rosemary and Laura definitely won't refuse a glass or two of wine in the evening, or at lunch for that matter.

Rosemary & Thyme is a well-produced series. Kendal and Ferris are fine actresses, quite happy to play their age (actually, they play about 10 to 15 years younger than their age and are convincing). Kendal is small, quick and sounds a little like Joan Greenwood. Ferris carries a few extra pounds, and can be determined.

The DVD transfers for the programs are excellent, which means we get to see all those gardens, parks and corpses in crisp, colorful glory. The three sets of programs, issued separately, are now together in this complete DVD set. If you're fans of Rosemary and Laura, it's a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's to be said?, 13 Aug 2011
By 
A. W. Wilson - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rosemary & Thyme: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I presume most people will buy this because they know the series and love it. You can't be disapointed with this. All the episodes, beautifully presented. Marvellous quality. Two stars who, apparently, got on well, and it shows. Excellent locations. Sometimes silly, but always enjoyable, plots. It's a bit expensive, but I wanted it, partly because I hate the way ITV thrash the living daylights out of any series by repeating day in day out (Poirot/Midsummer Murders etc), and I want these in pristine condition, no commercials, for when I want to see them. This box set is a great bargain. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Entertaining, 8 July 2011
By 
J. D. White "Jdawg" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rosemary & Thyme: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Rosemary and Thyme, for me, is like an Amateur Midsomer Murders, but equally as entertaining and just as silly.
This boxset contains every episode, which is actually short of 20 but means the quality is consistently excellent
throughout. Felicity Kendal and Pam Ferris play their roles effortlessly and with great chemistry. And the extras
on the DVD are amazing! If, like me, you're a geek when it comes to all the behind the scenes action!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Parsley sage..., 26 Aug 2011
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rosemary & Thyme: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Most mystery series have big tough longtime cops or lovably eccentric oddballs as their detectives.

So it's a bit refreshing to see a pair of utterly ordinary detectives in the light mystery series "Rosemary and Thyme" -- one a cop-turned-housewife, and one a feisty horticulturist. You won't find any mind-blowing mysteries, just solid whodunnits and likable characters... and plants. Lots and lots of beautiful plants.

Laura Thyme (Pam Ferris) has just been dumped by her husband of 27 years, for a "twenty-three-year-old tart!" When visiting an old pal, she encounters plant pathologist Rosemary Boxer (Felicity Kendal) who is promptly fired by her slimy boss. The two wronged women team together to solve a bizarre mystery involving poisonous plants, a car wreck, and a serial killer.

After that, Rosemary and Laura go into business together, treating sick lawns and creating picturesque gardens. But like any good detectives, they keep bumping into sinister crimes, both of the past and present: a spa matriarch is strangled at her desk, skeletons are uncovered in a murdered pop star's garden, and a man is killed in a graveyard... with an arrow.

Things don't improve much in the following seasons -- Rosemary and Laura end up dealing with wrecked romantic gardens, Parisian theft and murder, school pranks gone wrong, Italian restaurants, ferocious competition at a garden show, murder at a vineyard, sabotaged plays and tennis camps.... and even an abandoned baby that may have something to do with a murder.

"Rosemary and Thyme" is notable more for its cozy, cottagey feel than for its intricate mysteries -- but then again, they don't try to be complex or twisty. Instead, the stories focus on our likable horticulturists, and the lovely gardens they create or restore... and the entertaining dialogue ("You've broken the bloody window!" Rosemary yells at a sniper) makes this even more fun.

There's a pleasantly old-fashioned flavour to the series -- lots of vine-draped cottages, manorhouses, luxurious resorts, vineyards and herbal skills. Sure, there's laptops, TV shows, drug dealers and myriad cell phones. But those are just the trappings on an ordinary little mystery series, where the plant sicknesses often have something to do with the murders.

Of course, the leads make or break a series like this. Fortunately, Kendal and Ferris have excellent chemistry. Laura and Rosemary are an entertaining pair, with just the right mix of similarities and differences. Laura is a sensible ex-cop/housewife who is still dealing with her family tensions, while Laura is a cultured academic ("more a bookworm than an earthworm") with a rough streak.

Plant lovers and mystery buffs should enjoy the cozy, vine-covered mysteries of "Rosemary and Thyme." It's just fun and pleasant, all the way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money!, 18 Aug 2011
By 
S. A. Bollongino "Bookaholic" (Berlin, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rosemary & Thyme: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This box set is quite expensive but well worth the money because the quality of the series and the DVD production are both brilliant and it's excellent TV drama with some fun episodes.

Treat yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Girls, Garden Club Is Meeting at My House for a While, 19 Feb 2012
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rosemary & Thyme: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
"Rosemary & Thyme: The Complete Collection," comes to us a 9-volume value-packed box set collectors' edition, featuring all 22 episodes of series 1-3 of the hit British mystery series. Like a lot of top British mysteries, this one that aired in the United Kingdom from 2003 to 2005, and was syndicated nationally on public television stations in the U.S., was actually made for, and shown by, Britain's ITV stations. It fits squarely in the classic British cozy school of mystery-writing, while combining beautiful garden locations with somewhat thin puzzlers (each episode is only 40+ minutes long). And it bears the hallmarks of the best British TV: wonderful location shooting; two talented, experienced stars that exhibit great chemistry together; eccentric characters; strong supporting players.

The package stars two able, popular comic TV actresses, both women of a certain age: Felicity Kendal, best known for Good Neighbors: Complete Series 1-3 , as Rosemary Boxer; and Pam Ferris, Harry Potter and The Prisoner of Azkaban , as Laura Thyme. Rosemary and Laura meet by chance, and discover that each is into gardening: Rosemary knows her plants, has been a tutor at a university of horticulture until fired by political infighting at the uni. Laura is an ex-policewoman whose husband has left her for a younger model; she must leave her home and garden and is drifting. So they set up as freelance gardeners. Back to the casting front, I also noted Antony Andrews, Oliver Ford Davies, Phyllida Law, Michael Maloney, Margaret Tyzack, and Julian Wadham in the credits. Locations featured a seemingly endless parade of countryside manor houses, hotels and pubs; a Surrey vineyard; and some of London's greenest private squares and public gardens; also the French Riviera, Italy's Ligurian Coast, and Malaga, Spain. Peculiarly enough, for an entertainment seemingly aimed squarely at an older, female audience, the show was largely, if not entirely, written and directed by men. Though you'd be surprised -- or perhaps not -- at how often the villain is a woman, generally comely, and young, as well. (Real Agatha Christie touches, to be sure.) The evocative title music is based on the old English air "Scarborough Fair;" it was performed by John Williams.

Things do seem to take place in a kind of Camelot,where the sun always shines, and it never is wintry (characters even discuss Christmas in shirtsleeves). But an astonishing number of people get themselves killed in each episode. It's tempting to say the presence of these two gardeners is downright lethal. You'd almost wonder why anybody ever calls them, though I don't recall that any of their actual clients gets slain. Still, they're violence-free, blood-free murders, and each episode entertains. All in all, you'd have to say it was more a relaxing hot cocoa than a martini night of entertainment, but most of our lives have plenty of room for that. Mine sure does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 18 Jan 2012
This review is from: Rosemary & Thyme: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Was a little worried when other reviewers said there were duplicate discs, pleased to say mine where all complete with no duplication. Well worth the money paid, especially as it came with English subtitles which, when you are deaf, is an added bonus enabling one to follow the story line instead of having to guess what is said. It is lovely to have clean, slightly humorous stories with two excellent actors, wish we could have some more like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful viewing, 2 Jan 2012
By 
R. Adams "rick1138" (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rosemary & Thyme: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Perfect to pop on for a gentle afternoon's viewing. It's great to have all the episodes ever made in one slimline boxset. I was gutted when the previous boxset was deleted, and delighted when this was released at an excellent price.

PS- I've seen the reviews that say there's an authoring error. I purchased mine on the 3rd November around the time of those reviews but my discs are fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rosemary & Thyme: The Complete Series [DVD]
£26.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews