Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars26
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 March 2004
Deanna Durbin's characterisations are as sweet and innocent as the childhood memories I have of Saturday TV matinee screenings of her movies. The Deanna Durbin Collection of five Black and White movies provide a good mix of Durbin playing the role of young teenager ('Mad About Music', '100 Men and A Girl', 'Three Smart Girls') through to Durbin's flirtation with Film Noir ('Christmas Holiday').
I feel Durbin is at her best playing younger roles as her age-defying looks and her quintessential wholesomeness fit perfectly within the 1930's American musical film genre. Her films were produced as 'feel good' escapism and they work wonderfully on that level. Sit down with milk and cookies and invite any member of your family, from toddler to granny to join you as Durbin's films are truly universal. Regardless of her youth, Durbin's singing voice is substantial with a classical twist, yet bright,breezy and truly life affirming as in 'I Love to Whistle' in Mad About Music (...try cycling to work one day and singing this song as you go to promote Road Radiance instead of Road Rage...). Yet the purity of her voice is quite moving at times as when singing 'Alleluia' in 100 Men and a Girl.
Perhaps reserve the curiously named 'Christmas Holiday' for adults and those who appreciate a slightly subverted form of Film Noir. I found this film perhaps too much of a departure for Durbin. I could never truly equate Deanna Durbin or Gene Kelly with the darker side of New Orleans nightlife and jealous obsession but perhaps I am biased as I love a happy ending.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2003
All five films are classic master-pieces! Miss Durbin is a musical genius and a joy to watch. Each of the films showcases here many tallents both at acting and singing. Filmed beautifully in black and white they stand timeless and forever enchanting. If you like to laugh, cry and feel satisfied after a film then buy these video's!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
Just great! there was nothing I dislike about the product it was like watching Deanna Durbin on TV when I was young, Could not ask for more all very enjoyable to watch. I laugh and cried and it never failed my exceptions of a good movie.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2009
i thoroughly enjoyed revisiting these series of films, time had not dimmed their entertainment value, what a wonderful trip to the more elegant and simple past. Deana Durbin maintained her position as an unsurpassed classical singer who thrived in a more racy present, The innocence and pure magic of her performances were breathtaking.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
A wonderful selection of Deanna Durbin DVD's and an absolute joy to seeing and hearing her singing. Excellent storylines which enhance the DVD's even more. A well worth purchase and one you will never tire of watching or even giving as a present.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
A Xmas present that was very well received by a fan of Deanna Durbin films also of a good quality would recommend for a fan
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
What a pity the pitch perfect operatic nightingale retired when she did. Another 20 years and a few more hundred songs would have been so welcome. Now sadly missed and never to be seen again. What a lovely legacy of songs as they should be sung and comic acting of the most sublime and endearing quality.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
The dvd arrived on time and I am extremely happy with my purchase, my Dad was really delighted with his gift and he couldn't wait to watch it. I may well buy another dvd from the series. Thanks so much
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2003
This collection of Deannas finest films are worth the wait! Deanna is talented, beautiful and soooo good!!! Deanna shines when she's singing, but not as bright as her previous co-star Judy Garland. Her films are not well-known nowadays, but they will be now! Her films in this collection are absolutly fantastic. Buy it! You will not be disapointed!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
bought as a gift for my mother (shes 90 years old) and she was thrilled has watched all the dvds and really enjoyed them, item arrived on time thanks
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)