Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Beautician and the laughable plot!
You may remember Fran Drescher from a series called THE NANNY. Fran played a beautician cum housekeeper who fell in love with the boss. Well here's a film of amazing similarity only this time with Timothy Dalton in tow taking a second place to Fran's outlandish character.
Whilst you could describe this as a run of the mill love story, both Fran and Timothy add a...
Published on 19 Jan 2005 by Jason Jesson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny!
If you like comedies with a drop of romance, you won't be disappointed. Some would say it's a bad remake of The Sound of Music, only Fran Drescher's character is not a nun, but a no-nonsense beautician. Watch your ears when she speaks, though!
A good, funny movie, with a predictable end. For lonely Saturday nights or P.J. parites with old friends.
Published on 18 Feb 2004 by Mojca Zizmond


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Beautician and the laughable plot!, 19 Jan 2005
By 
Jason Jesson "Jason J" (Yorkshire, United Kingdom.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
You may remember Fran Drescher from a series called THE NANNY. Fran played a beautician cum housekeeper who fell in love with the boss. Well here's a film of amazing similarity only this time with Timothy Dalton in tow taking a second place to Fran's outlandish character.
Whilst you could describe this as a run of the mill love story, both Fran and Timothy add a certain sparkle, that sort of sparkle that ensures you enjoy the plot and of course, the one liners and all telling facial expressions from the talented Ms Drescher.
A complete joy and pleasure to watch, well acted and I won't tell you about the ending - you'll just have to buy the DVD!!
Overall, a perfect film for unwinding and having a laugh with friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "One and two is plenty!", 15 Jun 2007
By 
AMG - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I first discovered this film on BBC 2.
It's a Romantic comedy, which I would describe as The Sound of Music meets The King and I {the film was
apparently was nearly called The King and Oy!} with a dash of Evita {Dreschers' balcony moment, hilarious!}

It's set in the land of Slovetzia, ruled by president Boris Pochenko {Timothy Dalton.} Joy Miller {Fran Drescher} is recruited to teach Pochenkos' children science, but chemistry of another sort occurs between her & Pochenko, and she gives his heart a makeover!

My Favourite line in the film is from Drescher and Daltons 2 character scene - "You're smart, you're charming, you're sexy!"
and my favourite part of the film is Joys' utz massage {very funny!}

The special features on this DVD consist of a commentary by Fran Drescher {Joy Miller} who tells us things like:
the scene with the chicken was REAL! how she felt like Bridget Bardo
and Audrey Hepburn and how the film got its moneys worth out of their fake staircase {if you watch the film, you'll see how well they did!}

Pure fun female escapism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny!, 18 Feb 2004
By 
Mojca Zizmond (Slovenia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you like comedies with a drop of romance, you won't be disappointed. Some would say it's a bad remake of The Sound of Music, only Fran Drescher's character is not a nun, but a no-nonsense beautician. Watch your ears when she speaks, though!
A good, funny movie, with a predictable end. For lonely Saturday nights or P.J. parites with old friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is it the worst film I've ever seen... or the best?, 1 Aug 2005
Let us get one thing straight- this film is not to be taken seriously. Those who do will think it the most pointless waste of time, talent, money and hairspray ever created. However, if you are spending an afternoon with a group of girl friends and a big lot of chips 'n' dip, it is pure genius.
The story has been described variedly by my friends as "Stalin meets Janice from 'Friends'", "Sound of music if they'd been pro-nazi", and "You can change any man, even an evil dictator". Basically, a sweet and hapless New York beautician (with appauling dress sense) finds herself employed as a governess to the children of Stalin-esque dictator Timothy Dalton, who is very growly and relies greatly on the Cult of Personality. At first they clash quite dramatically, most notably over the relationship his eldest daughter has with a young revolutionary. After a while though, the contept turns to desire, the snide remarks to flirty comments, and the whole thing goes through the motions of your average romantic comedy.
What sets it apart from most other Rom-Coms is the amazing (and rediculous) setting. I mean, it's all very well having two people in the opposites attract scenario, but when ones a tyrannical dictator it pushes the boundaries of sanity. In here, to me, lies it's genius. It could be seen as a encapsulation of the east-west culture shock. Or it could be seen as a laugh.
I would highly recommend this film. In a world of bland romantic slush, this somehow is sublimely rediculous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its so terrible and cliched its funny., 23 Feb 2014
By 
Kerrypickle "KLE" (South Glos England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beautician and the Beast (1997) (DVD)
Think the sound of music scenario with terrible accents!
Fortunately no singing.
Dodgy unqualified for purpose teacher meets Dictator and his family.
Add megalomaniac Prime Minister determined to keep country pure and you have the sound of music but to my warped sense of humour much more amusing.
It almost certainly wont be to many peoples taste, but in the wee small hours its harmless entertainment and I enjoyed it again and expect it to be on my list of go to watches, (Strictly Ballroom, Jumping Jack Flash, among others) for late night viewing when you need something "mindless" to make you smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great product, 21 Aug 2011
By 
Ms. Suzanne Dolan (Wirral. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beautician and the Beast (1997) (DVD)
i really loved this film but that was inevitable as i am a fran drescher fan. a good old romantic tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent entertainment, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beautician and the Beast (1997) (DVD)
Love this film and watch it over and over again it's very funny excellent entertainment for all the family excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beautician and the Beast (1997) (DVD)
If you love Timothy Dalton and the story of Beauty and the Beast then these two together is FANTASTIC a must see film. Just brilliant and sooooo funny. Timothy is sooo handsome and can do comedy brilliantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautician and the beast, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A film that if you see a fan of Fran drescher you will enjoy, sitting on sofa with a hot chocolate and just chilling out too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 29 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was bought for me to watch as i saw on tv and i wanted to be able to watch again.
Was really good to watch with family and to have to watch whenever we choose is good to.
Have recommended to friends and family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Beautician and the Beast (1997)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews