Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As shocking as this is... Better than Is This It
I know that once you've read this title, you probably think I'm not a proper Strokes fan. You can dispel that thought now - once I only talked in Strokes lyrics and I found it fairly easy... that's how dedicated I was.
However, I lost the bug in the 5 year wait for Angles, as I found so many new bands coming up. Then, when Angles was released, I stupidly listened to...
Published on 4 Mar 2012 by arcticmonkeys...

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A castrated dog of an album, but there's still life in the old dog yet...
Plagued by inter-band tension, strife and ill feeling in the recording studio, The Strokes make their audibly bedraggled return from the wilderness with their fourth album Angles. It’s a comeback LP which is quite a hit-and-miss affair, but there’s no denying there’s still some life in the old dog yet.

The herky jerky cod-reggae of...
Published 4 months ago by Luke Edwards


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As shocking as this is... Better than Is This It, 4 Mar 2012
This review is from: Angles (Audio CD)
I know that once you've read this title, you probably think I'm not a proper Strokes fan. You can dispel that thought now - once I only talked in Strokes lyrics and I found it fairly easy... that's how dedicated I was.
However, I lost the bug in the 5 year wait for Angles, as I found so many new bands coming up. Then, when Angles was released, I stupidly listened to the reviews and didn't buy it straight away.
BIG MISTAKE.
This is an amazing album. JC really perfects his song writing and vocals, and he has managed to write great parts for each instrument, not just for himself. Each song is absolute perfection, my favourite being Metabolism - when it gets to the end it is divine.
However, it's not like Is This It at all.
1) It's deeper. You have to listen to it a few times to fully appreciate it. But once you have gotten into it, you won't be able to put it off...
2) They're not anthems. Perhaps a couple are, but the Strokes have done the anthems thing and now it's time for them to experiment. And frankly, they did it great.
So please, I beg of you, buy this album and love it. God knows that I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DIFFERENT STROKES, 20 Jun 2011
By 
Bryan R. Morris (HEREFORD) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Angles (Audio CD)
After reading mixed reviews for "Angles" I was cautiously optimistic that The Strokes had come back with a bang and not a whimper.

As soon as the first minute of album opener "Machu Picchu" had played ,it was clear that one of my favourite bands had indeed made a triumphant return.

Whilst it may lack the impact of "Is This It" as a groundbreaking album,it makes up for this with a more polished and at times,experimental sound.

Stand out tracks are "You're So Right" and "Games" but I cannot not really find a track I don't like.This album will break in like a new pair of shoes after a few listens.

If you like "The Strokes" you will like the album and if you are new to the band it will probably make you buy the earlier albums.

I only hope the next album doesn't take so long to release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Album, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angles (Audio CD)
It is a nice put together piece of music from these guys. Recommended
Very nice disc cover - Escher anyone??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angles (Audio CD)
Perfect!
Very good product!
Wanted this product very much and did not got dissapointed. Good and with a good package!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A castrated dog of an album, but there's still life in the old dog yet..., 7 April 2014
This review is from: Angles (Audio CD)
Plagued by inter-band tension, strife and ill feeling in the recording studio, The Strokes make their audibly bedraggled return from the wilderness with their fourth album Angles. It’s a comeback LP which is quite a hit-and-miss affair, but there’s no denying there’s still some life in the old dog yet.

The herky jerky cod-reggae of “Machu Picchu” is a promising starting point: a very ‘80s-sounding new wave throwback which sounds like The Police sleepwalking through a gig in a bar full of rednecks whilst on a jittery paranoid comedown from amphetamines. But I defy anyone not to hear that familiar-sounding choppy guitar riff at 1:17 and not feel glad that The Strokes are officially back.

The album’s lead single “Under Cover of Darkness” is a successful merging of their Is This It-era sound with a more reflective, statesmanlike approach to songwriting. It’s fairly ambitious melodically, full of catchy fretwork and proves that Julian Casablancas clearly has his eye on vocally emulating the heartland rock of Tom Petty.

The muted palm of rhythm guitarist Albert Hammond Jr. chugs “Two Kind of Happiness” along a groove The Cars would have killed to create, but ends up sounding uncannily like a leftover from Julian Casablancas's solo album Phrazes for the Young, differentiated only by Nick Valensi’s virtuoso guitar solo. The dark and experimental “You’re So Right” relies on a dirge-y guitar riff, but is a weak song overall, and “Taken for a Fool” is essentially a Room on Fire-era outtake made to sound pretty.

The odd ‘80s synths are back out for “Games,” a passable stab at synthpop which brings to mind mullets and Sinclair ZX spectrum computers. “Call Me Back” has an almost bossa nova-esque opening riff, but aimlessly drifts along like an asylum seeker on a rubber dinghy across the English Channel, with only the promise of a xylophone to offer a bit of progression – it just feels a bit disjunctive, like two or three bits of a different puzzle which don’t quite fit together when thrown into one song.

Some critics have described “Gratisfaction” as The-Strokes-do-Thin-Lizzy, which is quite an apt comparison and I don’t think I could improve on that. Casablancas does certainly try to channel Phil Lynott, but what I will say is that, to me, “Gratisfaction” feels close in spirit to some of the filler tracks on First Impressions of Earth. “Metabolism” is another Room on Fire-esque driving rocker, let down only by Julian’s never-ending wail, like he couldn’t be bothered to find a suitable vocal melody to settle upon.

The album’s finale “Life is Simple in the Moonlight” has been played on SNL and is a pleasant little Tom Verlaine-esque 80s ballad showing a different side to The Strokes's repertoire – even if it does haphazardly resort to a cascading nod to Pavement in an instrumental interlude before its second verse – but it brings the whole album to a satisfying, if not magnificent, conclusion.

I can’t quite place what it is about Angles which didn’t quite hit the mark for me. I feel it has moments of brilliance, some of which make me pleased to be a Strokes fan, but there’s something about this album which feels scattershot. It isn’t quite as edgy as it’s trying to be, like it’s been smoothed out with sandpaper in the rehearsal process, stripped bear of its unpredictability and its ingenuity in the production process, much to the detriment of the album's overall sound.

Angles feels like its been shorn of what made The Strokes's first two albums so vibrantly original, but spruced up and polished to hide its foibles. There are reasons for this. For one thing, the band have spoken about the two-year process of making Angles, describing it as being very difficult to make, hinting that there is still bad feeling and resentment amongst some members, with Nick Valensi telling The Guardian: “I won’t do the next album like this. No way. It was awful – just awful. Working in a fractured way, not having a singer there." Clearly, Julian Casablancas's lengthy absences from the recording process means Angles wasn't exactly a band effort.

In fact, some might argue that these songs are just the product of Nick, Albert, Nikolai and Fabrizio jamming away to themselves and inviting Casablancas in to sing over the top of them without putting in hardly any musical input himself. In that sense, it’s not a bona fide Strokes album in the way Is This It was (where Julian wrote all the songs). Amazingly, music critics seem to be in unanimous agreement that Angles is the finest Strokes album since Is This It. But it isn’t. It is a product of how the band described their working process: fractured.

Basically, I get the impression that The Strokes were determined Angles would get finished, by hook or by crook, primarily because they knew it’d sell lots of copies by the shed load and make a ton of money. In the absence of Julian, they rehearsed the hell out of the songs until they became rather drab, plodding and lifeless, lacking many of the key ingredients it sorely needed, so as talented as the musicians undoubtedly are, I can’t help but feel like Angles is like a castrated dog of an album. It is a eunuch. It can still woof, but not at the same pitch as it used to, which is a great shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece, 28 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. Richard Moore (WA Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angles [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Over a long period this has had as many plays as anything else, I love the melodic genius and structure of this great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not their best - but there are a few gems, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angles (Audio CD)
This is certainly not the Strokes best album, but there are a few great tracks on here and any Strokes fan will not want to miss out.

"Machu Picchu" and "Under Cover Of Darkness" are both brilliant and get the album off to a great start.

I just don't get "You're So Right" yet (after 3 complete listens) it is just a boring repetitive drone. I don't often skip songs on an album, I like to just play the whole lot in the order it was intended to be heard - but I have skipped this one a few times.

The highlight later on is of course "Taken For A Fool". The rest of the tracks are pretty good, but overall this is is not up to the standard of "Is this it?" and "Comedown Machine".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Retro style tunes, A unique album, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angles (Audio CD)
This has the quality of being very different from previous Strokes albums, whilst also retaining something of their style. It definitely grows on you after a few listens. The equal of previous strokes albums in my mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best album since their debut, 14 Mar 2013
By 
. "eddean7" (China (but from UK)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Angles (Audio CD)
'Is This It' is hard for any band to beat. The Strokes' second and third albums are good albums, and they both have some great tracks.

'Angles' is better than albums 2 and 3 though, and if you like the Strokes then you should buy this one for sure.

Some great tracks, catchy and melodic stuff. Basically it's vintage Strokes all over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars catchy, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angles (Audio CD)
A really good CD, the songs are really catchy. It was dispatched much quicker than expected so no problems there either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Angles
Angles by The Strokes
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews