Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I wish I could do the splits like he can!
I think this is Jean Claude Van Damme's best film based on the life of Frank Dux. It is action packed with a good storyline, the only character that irritated me was the news reporter, speaking into a dictaphone at a secret kumite - as if no-one would see her do that and chuck her out is beyond me! Other than that, I thoroughly enjoyed the film and would recommend it to...
Published on 3 Dec 2002 by Diane Parsons

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Vandammoneum galore!
The plot is thin and linear, the bad guys are well signposted and the action set pieces are well choreographed in this entertaining and much imitated Van Damme vehicle. He competes in a secret tournament and picks up pretty investigative journalist Leah Ayres along the way. Forest Whitaker is hideously miscast but he's competent and watchable so it doesn't detract from...
Published on 21 Jun 2012 by Steven


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I wish I could do the splits like he can!, 3 Dec 2002
By 
This review is from: Bloodsport [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I think this is Jean Claude Van Damme's best film based on the life of Frank Dux. It is action packed with a good storyline, the only character that irritated me was the news reporter, speaking into a dictaphone at a secret kumite - as if no-one would see her do that and chuck her out is beyond me! Other than that, I thoroughly enjoyed the film and would recommend it to all the martial arts fans out there. Watch out for the small write up at the end of the film, explaining how many fights the real Frank Dux did win in his life and the speed of his knockouts - quite amazing really!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Is My Favorite Van Damme Movie Besides Kickboxer!, 30 Nov 2004
By 
Julian Tito Sanchez (Whittier, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bloodsport [DVD] (DVD)
I want to make this brief. The fight scenes are great, and the soundtrack is right on. I remember watching this movie over and over again when I was young. I knew every word that was going to be said. Crap, for that matter I tried to duplicate the fighting scenes. I thought the story of Frank W. Dux was so great and amazing that I looked for more information on him on the internet. What I found was disturbing. Turns out he's a big fake. For one reason or another the real Frank Dux made up the kumite story along with a bunch of other crap. I read at first he didn't want to lie, but his agent or something explained how much money was involved and he just did it. He has a book out that goes into explaining how he trained elite military personnel in his "Dux-Ryu" fighting style. From what I hear that's fake too. In fact the American Ju-Jitsu "Dux-Ryu" I've read from martial arts experts is just bull crap that he made up and isn't even real. So much for those amazing world records at the end of the movie. But after all of that I still love the movie and pretend the Frank Dux really did all that sweet stuff. Great stuff, a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As flexible as Van Damme., 16 Nov 2002
This review is from: Bloodsport [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Many people who I know who have watched this film have disliked the film for its lacking in story. I agree that maybe Frank Dux (Jean Claud Van Damme) in the film needed a better excuse for entering the kumite ( a deadly anything-goes martial arts tournament ) and some of the script is quite poor.
However don't be put off! If it's highkicking, bloodspilling and high class martial arts action you're after, ( I mean you must be if you're browsing at the film by the name 'Bloodsport' ) then you will not be disappointed! Van Damme's flexibility and kicking is amazing, along with the stunning combat and the enjoyable build up to the tournament.
If that's what you're after then I highly recommened it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Vandammoneum galore!, 21 Jun 2012
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bloodsport [DVD] (DVD)
The plot is thin and linear, the bad guys are well signposted and the action set pieces are well choreographed in this entertaining and much imitated Van Damme vehicle. He competes in a secret tournament and picks up pretty investigative journalist Leah Ayres along the way. Forest Whitaker is hideously miscast but he's competent and watchable so it doesn't detract from what is essentially a glossy Karate movie. The final fight is very slick and you're all behind him as he dispatches the menacing Bolo Yeung.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well well well..., 15 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Bloodsport [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very good martial arts film, one of the ones that makes you train harder... that said its not as good as Ong Bak or Fearless but considering the era... it's superb.

The plot is pretty cheesy and the entire story of Frank Dux is FAKE..

I REPEAT.

THE KUMITE EVENT NEVER HAPPENED. FRANK DUX IS A FRAUD. IN ORDER FOR HIM TO HAVE WON AND FOUGHT AS MANY ROUNDS AS HE HAS CLAIMED THERE WOULD HAVE TO HAVE BEEN OVER 400 ENTRANTS. FUNNY THAT NOT ONE HAS COME FORWARD. EXCEPT GOOD 'OL FRANK WHOSE MADE A TIDY SUM. THIS GUY IS ABOUT AS LEGITIMATE AS ASHIDA KIM!!!

rant over.. good film. Cheap film, go ahead and buy. Just make sure you buy the first Ong Bak and Jet Li's Fearless first. :0)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Martial Arts at it's best and bloodiest, 25 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Bloodsport [DVD] (DVD)
Bloodsport is, without a doubt the bloodiest Martial Arts Film out there. The film starts of showing you some of the different fighters from around the world (Asia, Africa, North America etc)
and shows you how the training varies. The film starts off showing you Frank Dux (Van Damme) training in the Army's Gym. When he hears of a full contact event being held in Hong Kong, he does a runner on his commanders and sets of to join.
Before he joins, he goes back to his old master, who is now terminally ill. A film then takes you back twnty years or so and shows you what Frank was like before he started training in Martial Arts. He is sneaking into the house of his soon to be mentor and teacher.When he is used as a punch bag for his master's son, he threatens to quit. When his master's son is attacked at school, Frank leaps to the rescue. The son then tells him that he'll one day fight in the kumite and make his father proud. Tradedy strikes when the son is killed and Shidoshi tells Frank that he won't train himanymore, Frank manages to persuade him to carry on because he thinks he can do it. the action then comes back to the present day.
The action then sets off to Hong Kong where the kumite is about to begin. Frank meets up with a fellow american Ray Jackson (Gibb) who becomes his friend. The real action then gets underway with Dux and Jackson walking into the stadium where the kumite will take place. Frank is instructed to prove his strength by showing the dim-mak (death touch). It is then that Frank then spots the evil and vicious Chong Li (Yeung) who is the current champion and has never been defeated. After a few minutes of talking the film gets back to the stadium. After
a short speech from the grandmaster, the fight starts.
The whole tournament goes on for three days, and in those three days are some of the most bloodtirsty and violent fights that have ever been recorded on film. Many of the fighters don't even make it out of the ring alive. The action, excitement and thrill is kept all the way through the fights until the final, brutal showdown between Dux and Chong Li.
This is without a doubt the best and bloodiest action/martial arts movie I have ever seen. It did spawn a few sequels, but they are nowhere near as good as the original. A must buy for any die hard Van Damme or Martial Arts fan. This film was actually based on the real life story of Frank Dux. Who still holds a number of martial arts records that have never been broken. He also retired from full contact undefeated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Different Fighting Styles and Van DAmne...enough reasons !!!, 12 Dec 2007
This review is from: Bloodsport [DVD] (DVD)
The movie is good fun at its best. The storyline is average, the acting is okay, but I had a good time watching it, and that is what counts. As Frank Dux,Jean-Claude Van Damme , enters the Kumite, an illegal martial arts tournament. The police are after him, his competition is fierce and there is no mercy where he is heading. Each fighter has his own style of fighting. This is what makes this movie the most interesting. Being a martial arts film, this is probably one of the most famous ones, and for Jean-Claude Van Damme, his best movie. Well recommended if you are a fan of the genre, other wise you might be disappointed. This is Jean-Claude at his best!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome family watching, 10 Mar 2008
By 
Ms. J. Leonard "wessiejessie" (cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
ok so it might not be a typical family watching film, but i grew up watching this film with my dad and it never bothered me or gave me nightmares or anything. It has now become an absolute favourite of mine and i make my fiance watch it over and over again when we rent it constantly from the video shop. I have to buy it...this film and of course kickboxer, another family favourite. The music throughout these films are awesome. Such feel good films and who doesnt love to watch jean claude van damme in that leotard. haha.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jean-Claude Van Damme in top form!, 11 Jan 2008
By 
Mr. D. Boss (Hitchin, Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bloodsport [DVD] (DVD)
I am a firm favourite of Jean-Claude Van Damme and his films. This was no exception. Frank Dux (Van Damme) is trained in the martial arts and enters an illegal fighting competition called the Kumite. There he must battle his way to be the top fighter.
This film shows many different fighting techniques by different people and it is good entertainment, but only if you like that kind of thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best, 6 May 2011
This review is from: Bloodsport [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
one of the best van damme film full of action or if you like violence this is one for you amazing price and super fast delivery its all in English so don't worry about that great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bloodsport [DVD] [1987]
Bloodsport [DVD] [1987] by Jean-Claude Van Damme (DVD)
£6.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews