Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing german take on a tired sub genre
Zombie fans have been overun with zombie IQ level films and books of late few really shine.

Just recently however there have been a couple of good films, both are foreign language. One is the French The Horde and the other is this one - Siege of the Dead - or its German name Rammbock. As a British resident of Berlin I found it refreshing, interesting and pretty...
Published on 1 Nov 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but a very misleading cover!
For a rather short film (just over an hour) with a rather low budget it's not too shabby. The "dead" act like the infected from 28 days later, rather than zombies and are repelled with bright light but do love the taste of flesh! The action takes place in and around an apartment block and a courtyard so don't be mislead by the cover. I liked the film but found the main...
Published on 11 Jan 2011 by godzilla78


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing german take on a tired sub genre, 1 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Siege of the Dead [DVD] (DVD)
Zombie fans have been overun with zombie IQ level films and books of late few really shine.

Just recently however there have been a couple of good films, both are foreign language. One is the French The Horde and the other is this one - Siege of the Dead - or its German name Rammbock. As a British resident of Berlin I found it refreshing, interesting and pretty gripping - it's a nice change from the bog standard Amrican films. The lead character here in the film is trying to give his keys back to his ex girlfriend and hoping for a reconciliation when the whole zombie thing kicks off - he's a bit wet but comes through in the film. There are plenty of interesting characters. It is in German with subtitles. That's fine with me. The story was good and even a little romantic for the lead guy. It was well filmed and the story was fine without annoying bits or stupidity/incredulous bits that spoil some films. The infected attacks have a good pace. The director is talented, there#s plenty to muse about, the music good and I enjoyed it. It's a quiet little piece (at least compared to the frantic and zombie filled recently released French film The Horde) that I found very rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprised !!, 30 Dec 2010
This review is from: Siege of the Dead [DVD] (DVD)
Was expecting a cheap budget on this one, and it is, but that doesn't give us a cheap feel. Actors unknown to me, which I think adds to the realism, do a fair job of helping create the atmosphere I like in a zombie/rage virus movie. Not quite sure about the cover ???? There are no massed zombie hordes and don't remember the attack copter !! Probably sold them a few more copies, but this one should sell on it's own merits. Centered around a small group survivors trapped in their flats overlooking the courtyard of their Berlin apartment block. And the courtyards full of rage virus victims who, as usual, are just so miffed off they all wanna eat you, and that includes a hungry policeman so you know it's bad !. I won't say too much, but we have a young hero plumber, a strange tattooed man, a tragic love story, and the angry & hungry ones to keep you interested. Not much over an hour long, it manages to bring back the feeling of the closed, small world, nightmare that Romero portrayed so well in his first movies. Not a blockbuster, but if you enjoy a good storyline, realistic characters, and don't rely on a splatterfest to regard a horror movie as good, then you should certainly give this a go. German with sub-titles by the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing!, 27 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Siege of the Dead [DVD] (DVD)
I viewed this film last night and was pleasantly surprised. The film is only around 59 minutes, but is well formed and very engaging. I have over 200 living dead/zombie movies (yes addicted) and even Romero's last effort disappointed me. This one is well worth the watch. There's very little in the way of gore, but concentrates instead on characters and their survival; just how it should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SHORT BUT SWEET, 9 Sep 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rammbock: Berlin Undead [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The movie defaults to German. I had to set up the English language. I also did the English subtitles which didn't match the spoken language. Apparently two different people did the translating without consultation.

Michael arrives in Berlin to see his gf or ex-gf Gabi. In her apartment he finds an infected Toj Johnson type fellow who attacks. He manages to save himself along with a young man named Harper. They are in contact with other people locked in their apartments via shouting out the windows, which is not good because it attracts Olympic sprinting zombies. From the radio broadcast we find out that this is a rabies style virus and adrenaline causes the virus to go to the brain and make one a zombie. If bit, stay calm and take a sedative. (I can see NORML launching a campaign now.) The movie is about their survival and what one will do to survive.

Michael is torn between the microcosm of finding his gf and saving her forks from harm and the macrocosm of the enormity of the situation. It examines the spectrum of human emotions and what we would do when faced with a full blown viral zombie infection.

This movie also needlessly deals with "where do we go to the bathroom" issue. Clearly this is the German mind at work, attempting to place realism in a zombie flick.

The ending was unexpected which is why I liked this movie. Kudos.

No f-bombs, no nudity, no sex. The blood was minimal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice film...in a zombie way., 30 Jun 2011
This review is from: Siege of the Dead [DVD] (DVD)
I watched Rammbock last night and like the last reviewer was also pleasantly surprised, as a big zombie fan, you tend to wade through a lot of average or just plain bad films...I put this on with an almost sigh of `go on then'.

At just over an hour I was impressed at how the film managed to bring the necessary elements that keeps one interested and entertained; I think this was achieved by having two main characters who were both very likable (rather than attitude filled). Only after did I notice the lack of any real gore, but realised that it did not take away from a good amount of tension used at the right moments.

The only negative thing I would say - maybe not even negative, just observational thing...for a mass zombie outbreak these guys take it in their stride, personally id spend 3 days locked in a cupboard holding myself in tears; then again maybe they have seen all the bad zombie films I have and just sighed `come on then'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film, 11 Nov 2010
This review is from: Siege of the Dead [DVD] (DVD)
Sat and watched this film the other night and was impressed. It has a good story which brings the various characters to life, and although being subtitled, draws you in. On the front it says 'Romero would be proud', and to be honest I think he would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cracking zombie tale, 10 April 2011
This review is from: Siege of the Dead [DVD] (DVD)
This is German film Rammbock which is a witty, inventive tale about a motley group of characters trying to survive the zombie apocalypse in Berlin. It is a movie that has the spirit of NotLD, has picked up ideas from REC and 28 Days Later and has a dash of Sundance artiness !
Most recommended for fans of the genre.
The only negative comment is the DVD cover is rather misleading, you will not find exploding US cop cars here nor Apache gun ships! Also, you won't see a cast of hundreds of zombies (for that see recent French film The Horde)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but a very misleading cover!, 11 Jan 2011
By 
godzilla78 (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Siege of the Dead [DVD] (DVD)
For a rather short film (just over an hour) with a rather low budget it's not too shabby. The "dead" act like the infected from 28 days later, rather than zombies and are repelled with bright light but do love the taste of flesh! The action takes place in and around an apartment block and a courtyard so don't be mislead by the cover. I liked the film but found the main character to be a complete pain in the arse. The guy is a complete plank and its hard to sympathise with him though the other main characters (or should I say, character) were fine. In the middle of a zombie-esque apocalypse he is completely smitten with his girlfriend and worries about her whereabouts which is plausible but he still comes across as rather stupid and pathetic. However this is a nice change from the hard as nails lead you expect in this type of film. Stupid choices are made left, right and centre whilst the ending was rather stupid in some ways - just like the main man. Still, it was slightly different from the usual run of the mill zombie film and deserves credit for this. Some people should be warned that the film is in German which posed no problems for me as I don't mind subtitles but folk do seem to moan a lot about having to read subtitles these days (look at reviews for "la horde" for instance) but it ain't rocket science!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Germanys 28 days later, 11 Dec 2010
This review is from: Siege of the Dead [DVD] (DVD)
A great zombie film in the same vein as 28 days later. Some fantastic (if quirky)characters, tightly plotted and beautifully tense.
Its a story driven film with some simple but effect dynamics.
By far the best zombie film I've seen since 28 days later (and I've seen a lot!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well worth it, 6 Dec 2010
By 
M J. Tucker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Siege of the Dead [DVD] (DVD)
This is a true zombie film it's opening scene makes you think you are watching a volkswagon advert, i wont spoli it or give too many deatils just to say a group of people in a set of flats surrounding a courtyard are trapped by the dead rising and biting in Berlin. it has all the usual suspects in a zombie flick the old zombie woman, the slimy creep who you cant trust, no weapons and no food what do you do? people are picked off one by one, and dispite the blurb on the case saying this has astonishing special effects you should read it as astonishing (nearly no)special effects, also the box has explosions and police cars in flames helicoptors shooting missiles onto the dead, all that must be from a different film as there are none in this film, but it is an excellent film done on a budget, what is true on the case is the quote that Romero would be proud, i think he would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rammbock: Berlin Undead [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£2.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews