Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars36
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

According to Olympus' web page and product details, their version of this hood also fits the 12-50mm lens.

As with other JJC hoods made for Olympus and Panasonic lenses, they are dimensionally identical to the original product but a fraction of the price. If you were to pay the manufacturer's prices for the hoods to fit 3 or 4 of your lenses, you will have spent the equivalent of the price of another lens! Unless you are one who firmly believes that the manufacturer's branding adds something and is therefore worth paying a higher price to receive, then you are welcome to do so. For some items, I would agree but if a £10 hood looks and works identically as one costing £50, why pay more?

It was normal some years ago for lens manufacturers to provide optimally-designed hoods with most of their lenses; it now appears that few will. The hoods cannot cost a fortune to design and produce and would probably add far less to the cost of a new lens than would a separate product.

The JJC alternatives work well and relieve some of the annoyance of paying for the original.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 30 December 2013
At only 1/3 of the price of the Olympus equivalent this hood offers fabulous value.

In use it does the job as you would expect. It fits nice and tight and you can be confident it won't fall off.

As Olympus don't supply this lens with a hood and one is necessary this is a no brainer.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2014
After purchasing the Olympus OM-D EM5 with 12-50mm lens. I wanted a hood to stop that nasty sun glare.

I was not willing to part with £50+ to get the official one from Olympus, Why can't they just supply the hood as standard with all their lenses?

The JJC hood is a great product and fits on the lens snuggly with a reassuring "Click" when in place. It looks great on the camera and suits the square lines of the EM5 well.

My only negative comment is that it does not fit on the lens in reverse for compactness when storing in a bag. I have to take it off and store it in a spare compartment. Which is not ideal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Plastic construction means it is very light but perhaps not as robust as an all metal hood.

Easy to fit.

Feels well made.

Compares well to branded hoods.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
After reading many things about the use of lens hoods I looked into one/s for either of the 2 m43 lens I have...found an 'official' version and couldn't justify the cost for something that may/may not be useful.

After a bit searching I found this nice alternative, much better price...have noticed a slight difference in photos but haven't had much of a chance to go venturing afar since purchasing it (sods law). Doesn't have the 'official' logo/branding on it but still a solid construction, should also provide a bit of protection to the front of the lens.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
As a alternative to the over priced Olympus Lens Hood the JJC Lens Hood is a 'no brainer'. Well made and visually attractive it attaches to and detaches from the Olympus 9-18mm lens very smoothly with no need to force.

Unlike many lens hoods it cannot be reversed on the lens for storage, but this is not really an issue as the hood is very shallow and can remain on the lens in storage in a camera bag.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
As I mentioned above this lens hood is a great replacement for the Olympus original lens hood. I don't use filters on my lens and prefer to use lens hoods for protection, and this does exactly what the original does. It's about time Olympus started taking note of what it's customers think and paying attention to customers opinions. Include a lens hood with your lenses. A simple but effective purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
For some reason, i found difficult to find an original Olympus lens hood for this lens and most of the independent copies were available only from overseas. Since I needed the item double-quick to take on holiday, I was relived to find the JJC model available, since I have bought their products in the past. It arrived in time and works very well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
This is a well fitting lens hood on my 12-50mm lens. I feel that as well as it's shading function, it also protects my lens from knocks and impacts. I have left it on all the time since I got it, because it is so neat. I can recommend this lens hood as being good value and fit for purpose.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2012
Made as a replacement lens hood to fit the Olympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 9-18m, it also fits the Olympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 12-50mm lens.
Beautiful quality lens hood that's as good as the Olympus original which costs three times the price of this one.
A highly recommended item.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)