Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Also compatible with 12-50mm f3.5-6.3 M.Zuiko
According to Olympus' web page and product details, their version of this hood also fits the 12-50mm lens.

As with other JJC hoods made for Olympus and Panasonic lenses, they are dimensionally identical to the original product but a fraction of the price. If you were to pay the manufacturer's prices for the hoods to fit 3 or 4 of your lenses, you will have...
Published on 20 Jun 2012 by Andy_atGC

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and cheerful!
Fitted ok after shaving off some of the bayonet with a scalpel. Not as well made as the Olympus hood for the 45mm f1.8.
Published on 29 Nov 2012 by Ian H


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Also compatible with 12-50mm f3.5-6.3 M.Zuiko, 20 Jun 2012
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JJC replacement Olympus LH-55B Lens Hood for Olympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 9-18mm 1:4.0-5.6 (Electronics)
According to Olympus' web page and product details, their version of this hood also fits the 12-50mm lens.

As with other JJC hoods made for Olympus and Panasonic lenses, they are dimensionally identical to the original product but a fraction of the price. If you were to pay the manufacturer's prices for the hoods to fit 3 or 4 of your lenses, you will have spent the equivalent of the price of another lens! Unless you are one who firmly believes that the manufacturer's branding adds something and is therefore worth paying a higher price to receive, then you are welcome to do so. For some items, I would agree but if a £10 hood looks and works identically as one costing £50, why pay more?

It was normal some years ago for lens manufacturers to provide optimally-designed hoods with most of their lenses; it now appears that few will. The hoods cannot cost a fortune to design and produce and would probably add far less to the cost of a new lens than would a separate product.

The JJC alternatives work well and relieve some of the annoyance of paying for the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous value, 30 Dec 2013
By 
Trev-R (Boston UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JJC replacement Olympus LH-55B Lens Hood for Olympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 9-18mm 1:4.0-5.6 (Electronics)
At only 1/3 of the price of the Olympus equivalent this hood offers fabulous value.

In use it does the job as you would expect. It fits nice and tight and you can be confident it won't fall off.

As Olympus don't supply this lens with a hood and one is necessary this is a no brainer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect replacment for the expensive official hood, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JJC replacement Olympus LH-55B Lens Hood for Olympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 9-18mm 1:4.0-5.6 (Electronics)
After purchasing the Olympus OM-D EM5 with 12-50mm lens. I wanted a hood to stop that nasty sun glare.

I was not willing to part with £50+ to get the official one from Olympus, Why can't they just supply the hood as standard with all their lenses?

The JJC hood is a great product and fits on the lens snuggly with a reassuring "Click" when in place. It looks great on the camera and suits the square lines of the EM5 well.

My only negative comment is that it does not fit on the lens in reverse for compactness when storing in a bag. I have to take it off and store it in a spare compartment. Which is not ideal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value for money lens hood., 7 Jun 2014
By 
PhilR (North Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JJC replacement Olympus LH-55B Lens Hood for Olympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 9-18mm 1:4.0-5.6 (Electronics)
For some reason, i found difficult to find an original Olympus lens hood for this lens and most of the independent copies were available only from overseas. Since I needed the item double-quick to take on holiday, I was relived to find the JJC model available, since I have bought their products in the past. It arrived in time and works very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Hoody!, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JJC replacement Olympus LH-55B Lens Hood for Olympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 9-18mm 1:4.0-5.6 (Electronics)
This is a well fitting lens hood on my 12-50mm lens. I feel that as well as it's shading function, it also protects my lens from knocks and impacts. I have left it on all the time since I got it, because it is so neat. I can recommend this lens hood as being good value and fit for purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cheaper alternative, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JJC replacement Olympus LH-55B Lens Hood for Olympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 9-18mm 1:4.0-5.6 (Electronics)
After reading many things about the use of lens hoods I looked into one/s for either of the 2 m43 lens I have...found an 'official' version and couldn't justify the cost for something that may/may not be useful.

After a bit searching I found this nice alternative, much better price...have noticed a slight difference in photos but haven't had much of a chance to go venturing afar since purchasing it (sods law). Doesn't have the 'official' logo/branding on it but still a solid construction, should also provide a bit of protection to the front of the lens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JJC replacement Olympus LH-55B Lens Hood for Olympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 9-18mm 1:4.0-5.6 (Electronics)
just as good as the olympus hood and much cheaper. fitted perfectly and feels very robust. Recommended over the olympus hood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JJC replacement Olympus LH-55B Lens Hood for Olympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 9-18mm 1:4.0-5.6 (Electronics)
Directs the light into the camera and works exceptionally well on auto focus to just shoot at anything interesting.
Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value alternative to the Olympus Lens Hood, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JJC replacement Olympus LH-55B Lens Hood for Olympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 9-18mm 1:4.0-5.6 (Electronics)
As a alternative to the over priced Olympus Lens Hood the JJC Lens Hood is a 'no brainer'. Well made and visually attractive it attaches to and detaches from the Olympus 9-18mm lens very smoothly with no need to force.

Unlike many lens hoods it cannot be reversed on the lens for storage, but this is not really an issue as the hood is very shallow and can remain on the lens in storage in a camera bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As good as Olympus, 31 July 2013
By 
Mr. A. M. Porter (Aberdeen UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JJC replacement Olympus LH-55B Lens Hood for Olympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 9-18mm 1:4.0-5.6 (Electronics)
The hood looks as good as the Olympus one and fits well. Although a shallow hood it offers some protection to the front of the lens, and it is possible to rotate a polarising filter without removing the hood. It is also a fraction of the price of the Olympus hood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews