Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swashbuckling whiteknuckle ride cross with Indiana Jones style adventure.
I downloaded this today, via the Iphone, and haven't been able to put it down yet. The author seems to capture a Indiana Jones crossed with Lord of The Rings style. Right from the beginning of the book, it's action, action, action which will keep you clinging to your iphone and wanting more. It is well written and the author has a real talent for writing of a fast...
Published on 11 Mar 2011 by Sean Potter

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Cannot get into it
I love all kinds of fiction and am partial to a bit of vampire fantasy on a rainy day....but I just CANNOT get into this book. I've picked it back up and had a go a couple of times and I'm at chapter 10 and it's just not getting me hooked. I can see other people have loved it....but, although I thought the concept seemed good early on, there's something about the writing...
Published 10 months ago by Galning


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swashbuckling whiteknuckle ride cross with Indiana Jones style adventure., 11 Mar 2011
This review is from: Doorways (A Book of Vampires, Werewolves & Black Magic) (The Doorways Trilogy 1) (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded this today, via the Iphone, and haven't been able to put it down yet. The author seems to capture a Indiana Jones crossed with Lord of The Rings style. Right from the beginning of the book, it's action, action, action which will keep you clinging to your iphone and wanting more. It is well written and the author has a real talent for writing of a fast action rollercaster of a book. I can't wait to get my hands on the remaining three books.

Please hurry and add these to the kindle store!

It is worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lets go to the beach looking for doorways !!!!, 27 Jun 2012
By 
Louise Kemp - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doorways (A Book of Vampires, Werewolves & Black Magic) (The Doorways Trilogy 1) (Kindle Edition)
Sixteen year old Zach Black and his sister Anna are sent to live with there cruel and creepy uncle Fandel in Cornwall. Walking along the beach one day Zach discovers a doorway which transports him into another world filled with vampires, zombies, ghosts and werewolves. With his sister in danger Zach makes new alias, werewolf William Weaver and vampire Neanna Cera as they set off on an adventure of discovery and excitement !!
If you have ever read any of Tim's work before you will not be surprised to know that this is another amazing read. The alternate world gave me a real Tim Burton esq feel and the characters are so well described it's as if your there watching the story instead of reading it!! I particularly loved the cruel creepy Uncle Fandel and couldn't help but see the image of the child catcher from Chitty Chitty Bang Bang every time he popped up. (lollipops children, creepy!!)
One of the overall things I loved about the book was I was able to share it with my son and reading is a big deal in our house, I'm 36yrs old and he is 9yrs old and we both loved it. We can't wait for the next book, but until then I would recommend any of Tim's work if your looking for an amazing read :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastical new world!!, 17 May 2012
By 
Jenn Green (Bath, Pennsylvania) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doorways (A Book of Vampires, Werewolves & Black Magic) (The Doorways Trilogy 1) (Kindle Edition)
For anyone who has ever read ANY of Tim O'Rourkes books, nothing Im about to tell you will come as a surprise.
Once again Mr. O'Rourke has delivered a story that will sink its "fangs" into you & wont let go till long after your finished reading.
Doorways is a Fantastical new world that would give Narnia a run for its money. Its filled with everything I have come to expect from O'Rourke. A non-stop action-packed adventure full of blood & gore (maybe not as much as usual, but still some ewwww gross moments), Villians that put Hannibal Lector to shame, Mythological creatures so descriptive you can almost see them, with twists & turns around every corner.
Another excellent read. You definitely want to follow this Author. His books will keep you up at nite on the edge of your seat trying to figure out what will happen next (but you never will-believe me, Ive tried LMAO) and BTW, I totally wanna be Neanna Cera when I grow up (I'd even settle on being her "Reflection") =]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books ever!!!!!!!, 12 May 2012
This review is from: Doorways (A Book of Vampires, Werewolves & Black Magic) (The Doorways Trilogy 1) (Kindle Edition)
Simply one of the most amazing books ever written. Adventure on every page and non stop action. This is a must read for all ages. I can't wait until bok two - league of doorways!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ENJOYABLE READ - BUT, 13 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doorways (A Book of Vampires, Werewolves & Black Magic) (The Doorways Trilogy 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is the first Tim O'Rourke book that I have read and have been impressed by the imagination of a strong story line.
Doorways into another world, a world of Vampires, Warewolves and Black Magic. but written with humour, a little horror that can make you gag, exciting chases and battles where you are drawn in and end up cheering on the good guys.

BUT the ending was a real cliff hanger and where is book two I can't find it, OOOH what a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars zachary black, 15 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doorways (A Book of Vampires, Werewolves & Black Magic) (The Doorways Trilogy 1) (Kindle Edition)
i really enjoyed this book it will appeal to adults and teenagers alike, great imagination. i look forward to reading black hill farm by the same athor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable!!!!, 13 Mar 2011
This review is from: Doorways (A Book of Vampires, Werewolves & Black Magic) (The Doorways Trilogy 1) (Kindle Edition)
I've gotta say it; this book is incredible. Tim O'Rourke's imgination is a gift and his stories are amazing. This one grabs you by the hand and yanks you into a world of stunning fast-paced advanture from the very first chapter. Hold on tight beecause the action, fun, excitement and drama never quit. Endra feels real, Zach seems like a friend and the whole thing feels like it's the beginning of something big. Can't wait to get my hands on the next two books to see where this leads and what happens to Zach. Come on Tim, upload 'em now!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Magic!, 18 Sep 2014
This review is from: Doorways (A Book of Vampires, Werewolves & Black Magic) (The Doorways Trilogy 1) (Kindle Edition)
Pure Magic! These two words sum up this book completely.

Zach and his sister are orphaned and have been sent to live with their strange and evil uncle. His poor sister is ill, however, one of Zach’s favourite ways to escape their unhappy life is to run along the beach. One day he discovers, in the sand, a door. Well, what 16 year old boy could resist opening it? When he does, he finds himself in an alternative world called Endra.

As soon as he steps through the door, he meets William who’s a Werewolf, and a beautiful Vampire called Neanna, who tell him that he’s a Peacekeeper, and they have been waiting for him…

The author, Tim O’Rourke, has an amazing imagination, the story is magical and contains every creature imaginable, from vampires, witches, sorcerers, werewolves and some unimaginable ones too.

This is a great adventure for young adults, or even adults, who are young at heart. For me it is comparable to The Lord of The Rings and The Chronicles of Narnia. If you love fantasy, adventure and pure escapism, combined with a good story, then this is the book for you. I can’t wait to read the continuation of their adventures in book 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fly away from reality and fidn a new world!!, 11 April 2013
This review is from: Doorways (A Book of Vampires, Werewolves & Black Magic) (The Doorways Trilogy 1) (Kindle Edition)
This one was the first book by this author I had a hard time getting into. Probably because my working year began and I started waking up at 5.30am and coming back home at 9pm and this makes it hard to focus. But, I finally got the hang of the routine again and was able to read it during commuting. The book is a wonderful young adult novel about this boy, Zachary, whom I swear I've met somewhere, and friends he makes upon discovering an alternate world. Think of doors, mirrors and adventures when thinking about this book. Wolves, vampires, witches, sorcerers, Queens and so many other fantastic creatures make this book entertaining from cover to cover.
The author has the ability to take me away to different worlds and let me be part of his MC's adventures (MC: Main Character), so reading his books becomes a desired relief from reality. In this one, he took me to Endra to save this world and by default, ours. Traveling from door to door, seeing people's reflections and of course making new friends and foes.
This book is perfect for the adventurous teen or the stressed adult, and the other way round too. It's relaxing to be taken away so swiftly and led into such great adventures. I'd say you need to read this... soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doorways (A Book of Vampires, Werewolves & Black Magic) (The Doorways Trilogy 1) (Kindle Edition)
A good read. With action from the beginning. A great author who makes the story come alive. A New world you can loose yourself in...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews